Creepy: The Storm

It cracked louder than a dud at the Fourth of July fireworks.

I jumped.

Flowers and Ziva 013

Earlier this afternoon, I was 30 miles to the south, visiting mom.

A weather alert came over the radio as I pulled into the gas station. Bad storm. Headed southeast. Sixty-five mile an hour winds. I could see the blackness of the clouds to the north in exactly the direction I was headed. Sh*t.

Needless to say, I was a bit nervous driving home. Weather like this is creepy. One tends to look for funnel clouds when the extreme heat and humidity of the day (it was 90+) fosters the enormous black clouds. I made it to the south edge of the Fox Cities (Neenah) when I saw strikes of lightning and paper objects flying in the dark sky and my vehicle started to swerve back and forth in the wind. The edgy nervousness increased and I immediately decided to exit the highway and travel city streets. I didn’t like the feel of being on the interstate, with cars zooming and changing lanes at 70 m.p.h. All it would take is one swift wind gust…

Flowers and Ziva 014

Thankfully, I made it home before the thunder cracked and it began to pour. I avoided what would have been the head of the black clouds and the tree branch that had already fallen onto a city street. A fire truck came through at one point, which made the hair on the back of my neck stand on end. I hope no one was hurt or injured by the storm.

It continues to rain and there’s a strong cell of bad weather headed southeast.

I’m still feeling a bit creepy.

18 responses to Creepy: The Storm

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Hard to press ‘like’ Mary. I don’t like driving in that kind of weather. the weather is a big part of the problem but the drivers who don’t seem to notice the weather add to the creepy factor.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Having ridden motorcycle in nasty weather, I was glad to be in an enclosed vehicle. I felt sorry for the dude on his moped on the city street. I hope he didn’t get too wet.

      • Dan Antion says:

        I do feel bad for those guys. I rode a motorcycle in Seattle and I wore a rain suit on a lot of days.

  2. I hit Like because I like the way you wrote this – very compelling. Can’t say I like the fact you were out in that. Glad you got there okay and took sensible precautions. I’ve never understood people who don’t even slow down when the rain comes sheeting down and it’s blowing a gale. Morons.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks H. I don’t care to be out in it either and it’s funny…I usually don’t see mom on Fridays after work. Normally, I would be home or at the gym. More storms expected Saturday and Sunday afternoons with the heat, but I fully intend to be in a very safe place both days.

  3. joannesisco says:

    Glad you made it home before it got uglier.
    As much as I love a good storm, feeling exposed and worrying about funnel clouds is definitely creepy!!

  4. M-R says:

    Switching to Firefox means I no longer get that useful little thinggy that asks me if I want to comment and then takes me there. Sighh … An ex-blogger’s work is never done, it seems. [grin]
    Triffic shots, M-J !

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh yay for Firefox! Actually, I wish I would have switched to an Apple and Firefox when I got the current computer. Always regretted that. I’m having a difficult time now with hotmail or live.com, where the blogger emails go. They’ve updated it and it’s a mess, difficult to maneuver. Might be that it will get better when I upgrade to Win10. Or not. Or perhaps I’ll simply move email over to gmail. Gotta love this computer stuff, always something! Thanks for the thumbs up on the photos, M-R!

      • M-R says:

        Didn’t have a choice ! 🙂
        I have only yesterday completely done away with the Microsoft Office Suite ! I am now an Open Office person, as well as Firefox and Thunderbird. As you see, I am turning my back firmly on the computer giants – both of which I detest.

  5. Some storms are fun – full of spark and sizzle and good entertainment. But on occasion, some storms seemed designed to put us puny humans in our place – which is trembling in awe and fear. ESPECIALLY if you are caught driving in them. Glad you are OK.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I am also very glad I wasn’t out on my bicycle at the time. I would have felt punier…like an ant under a giant black boot.

  6. Judy L. Brekke says:

    Wow! I am so glad to read that you made it home safely!

  7. Glad to hear you were home safe before the worst of it arrived. I won’t go out in that kind of weather unless I absolutely have to.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pingbacks & Trackbacks