Color of Summer Love

The past five days were filled with family, friends, food, music, laughter, visits to local brew pubs, and a walk through gardens of color. I’m still recovering from the food and brew pub portion, along with two nights sleeping on the sofa. I need a few extra days at the gym and a 10-hour nap.

In the last two weeks, I’ve been surrounded by the color of summer love with visits to West of the Lake Gardens in Manitowoc and the Green Bay Botanical Gardens.Β Β I’ve also witnessed the arrival of a gorgeous purple clematis on the patio. Since I don’t have the energy to plug together a well-written post, I thought I would share a few photos from the garden walks. Feel free to stroll at your own pace; stop and close your eyes to imagine the smell of rose and lily; gawk at the colors, the shapes, the beauty.

Trails and Flowers 053
West of the Lake Gardens had a plethora of red and white.
Trails and Flowers 061
Any ideas on the name of this flower? It’s not a rose…
GB Botanical 010
Berries that looked good enough to eat…but I didn’t.
GB Botanical 012
I waved at the sea of black-eyed daisies and purple coneflower
GB Botanical 017
Red berries on a tall tree. No, I did not write down the name and I did not eat any.
GB Botanical 018
“Won’t you come into the garden? I would like my roses to see you.” ~Richard Brinsley Sheridan~
GB Botanical 020
Black-eyed susan and oriental lily. What happened to the coneflowers?
GB Botanical 034
Not to worry. The coneflower reappeared in a new form, new color.
GB Botanical 041
I usually excel at spelling, but I had to look this one up. It’s Gaillardia (not Ghirardelli).
GB Botanical 004
The patio clematis. It may only be one, but it is beautiful.
GB Botanical 046
I’m certain I saw a Hobbit hide behind the stone wall.
GB Botanical 027
The gardens were prettier than a picture.
GB Botanical 029
Bless the seasons! Love the color of summer!
30 responses to Color of Summer Love

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I suppose I could scour the internet to figure it out, but who has that kind of time? I’m hoping a happy gardener on WordPress can help me out.

  1. M-R says:

    Glorious, Mary-Jean !!! – I adore colour, and nowhere more than in flowers.
    Thanks, mate ! πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are most welcome M-R! My only regret is that the Cat Scratch Lily wasn’t in bloom. Would have loved to see the color!

  2. They are all so beautiful. I especially like the Ghirardelli :D. I’m thinking I’ll have to hit the lawn and garden center and pick up some cone flowers. They are definitely my favorites.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The botanical garden had several shades of coneflowers, my favorite too. I saw a sunrise or sunset coneflower…not sure which, but it was a gorgeous reddish orange color.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I was thinking the same on Monday when I was at work. There are several nice places to sit and read a book or simply relax.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful photos Mary, such vibrant color, you can feel summer coming through. These views, family, fun and brew pubs – that sounds like a great time tome. You have plenty of time to recover from this, take that nap.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan! No napping, off to work I go! I had a four-day weekend that was awesome, but too short. Could have used another day to relax or smell the flowers πŸ™‚

      • bikerchick57 says:

        My boss and I agree that we need to have three-day weekends all year, although I would guess that they would eventually seem too short as well. I think retirement is the answer πŸ˜‰

  4. So lovely, botanical gardens – and with a view of the lake! *sigh* – check out Ranunculus for your mystery flower. It may be the answer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The gardens and home on the property were privately owned many years ago. How would you like to wake up to that every day? Thanks, Maggie, for the tip on Ranunculus. I’ll go check it out!

  5. joannesisco says:

    What a lovely summer walk. Thank you for taking us with you … I enjoyed it so much. Just one more reason to LOVE, LOVE, LOVE summer …. colour, flowers, gorgeous vistas, heavenly scents … wait, I think that was more than one reason πŸ˜‰

    On a side note, now I know what a coneflower is. I usually just call them pink daisies πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Pink daisies? LOL, that is funny! Coneflowers come in many colors and a few different shapes. If I had a yard, I’d be planting all of them! So probably good thing I don’t have a yard ;-p

      • joannesisco says:

        Yes, I have an appalling lack of knowledge when it comes to plants, trees and flowers. I tend to differentiate flowers simply by their colours – pink ones, yellow ones, blue ones. It’s a safe – if rather vague – identification system πŸ˜‰

  6. Thanks for the walk. I should have come out with you earlier, before I fell over. Sorry I was slow. Crutches are a pain. But, you know, slow means getting to spend more time admiring the flowers. πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There’s always the option of sitting among the flowers with coffee (or tea) and dark chocolate. No crutches needed πŸ™‚

  7. LB says:

    We really were on the same page!
    What gorgeous flowers, and I love that frame.

Leave a Reply

