Red Rose

Poetry Day Six: Hero(ine), Ballad, Anaphora/Epistrophe

Have you had enough, my cringing readers, of rhyme and haiku and words you don’t understand? I urge you, come out from behind the hands that cover your angst, for today’s poem is about a hero: My boss. I’ve been yearning to write about her and today’s challenge is a perfect way to share the love, respect and admiration I have for her. I hope you enjoy.


red-rose-7The Red Rose stands as a soul of one

Honored leader of her region’s pack

Not a ruler she, but a marvelous mentor

The Red Rose stands guard at my back

 

The rose is not a rose in admiring eyes

The rose is a heroine in disguise

The rose is lack of thorns, it smells sincere

The rose never trusts excessive fear

 

The Red Rose finds upbeat joy in life

While facing trial with calm and cool

Not a prickly sort, but one who is wise

The Red Rose portrays no one’s fool

 

The rose is not a rose in admiring eyes

The rose is a heroine in disguise

The rose is lack of thorns, it smells sincere

The rose never trusts excessive fear

 

The Red Rose I honor and respect

She exudes a confidence and care

Her faith is strong, brave will is sure

The Red Rose, her kind is most rare

 

The rose is not a rose in admiring eyes

The rose is but a hero in disguise

The rose is lack of thorns, it smells sincere

The rose never trusts excessive fear

 

The Red Rose is an honest friend

My gratitude and love will never end

13 responses to Red Rose

  1. loisajay says:

    What a nice thing to say! I could say that about mine. I’d be line (because ‘lying’ doesn’t rhyme with ‘mine’)! Yes, I’ll let you handle poetry, Mary…. 🙂

  2. I don’t think I can get enough of you, ever, every time i read your work, i fall more for your writing 😀
    Nice poem Mary, I bet “red rose” is a perfect boss and a lucky one indeed to have you write her down this wonderfully 🙂
    Stay blessed

Leave a Reply

