The Epic Snow of my Youth

When I was pre-teen, in the late 60’s, we had a couple of winters in Wisconsin with lots of snow.

Here we are in 1969.

ThrowBack 003

This was the house across the street. Do you see the snowbank at the end of the driveway? My brother and I used to dig a cave or tunnel in them and the parents let us. How safe was that? Of course, we also used to accept caramel apples when we went trick or treating at Halloween.

Nowhere near what Boston has seen this winter, but still pretty epic in the sight of a twelve year old.

The year before, 1968, was almost as snowy.

ThrowBack 005

My apologies for the not-so-clear photos. They were not the best to begin with and because dad secured these photos with Elmer’s glue, I had to take a photo of a photo rather than scanning.

But I digress.

ThrowBack 007

Dig that cool car in the garage. I believe it was a Chevy. Or maybe it was an Oldsmobile. I don’t quite remember.

I have to look at these photos every so often to confirm that we did have epic snow in my youth, that it wasn’t an exaggerated memory of a wide-eyed girl that was a little shorter, a little younger, and a tad bit happier with the abundant mounds of snow.

PS: I wish I had a photo of the rubber zip-up snow boots with the fur on top. Mom would put plastic bags around our shoes, secure them with rubber bands around the ankles, throw on the boots and send us out to makes caves in the snow.

31 responses to The Epic Snow of my Youth

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Our drifts are almost as tall now, but I miss digging snow caves. Thanks for the memory jog Mary. And cars with fins, they knew how to make them back then 🙂

  2. quarksire says:

    as i dress up here to go outside an shovel snow, i can relate to this post it, very kewl car by the way also…kewl post-it stay warm 😎 was springlike 2 days ago now dis’ again geez…….. lol 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Even though it’s cold today, I can feel spring coming Q. Hang in there, maybe you can put the shovel away in another month.

      • quarksire says:

        hehe yep waiting fer it to get real deep then i’ll fo out fer round 2 🙂 lol… whew….. right now “have shovel will travel” lol. cya….. after da’ storm lol…… 😎

  3. MTM remembers these snowfalls, too. I’ve never seen snow like that. Once, we went to Montreal for Christmas, and a blizzard started on the morning we were supposed to fly out. 1. I’d never witnessed a blizzard. 2. I’d never tried to run through foot-deep snow before. MTM took off for our overnight stop after we got stranded, and I almost fell running through the snow.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t know that I run well in a blizzard either. If you ever fall walking or running through snow, just flip onto your back and make a snow angel. No one will know the difference.

  4. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Of course in New Mexico we NEVER had these epic storms but the bags with the rubber bands, the stylish zip up boots with fur, and the most epic Chevy Impala. Man those were the best days.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The boots are a fun memory, but I seem to remember they and the plastic didn’t keep my toes too warm. Then again, I was a kid who didn’t:t care because I was having fun.

  5. We also didn’t wear seatbelts or bike helmets, slept in cots painted with lead paint and played on playgrounds covered in asphalt. It’s a miracle we’re alive really.
    Snow caves, eh? We used to bury each other in the sand. You just had to hope someone remembered to dig you out before the tide came in.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think all the unsafe practices and adventures simply made us stronger. Or it loosened a few screws and we don’t know any better :-p

  6. loisajay says:

    Your mom did that plastic bag and rubber band thing, too?! Oh, these picture brought back memories. Gosh, the unsafe things we did back then….and we survived!

  7. joannesisco says:

    I remember making tunnels in the snowbanks. I still have nightmares about enclosed spaces … those tunnels left me traumatized!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Traumatized? Oh no! I loved the tunnels, but I suppose if one caved in on me, it would be a different story.

      • joannesisco says:

        Apparently I’m rather claustrophobic …except I didn’t know that as a kid. All I knew was that I would get really panicky and not be able to breathe.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That’s not good. Do you avoid elevators and tight crowds of people? My former mother-in-law was also claustrophobic and those two places were on her “no” list.

      • joannesisco says:

        I can handle elevators .. although I do avoid them whenever possible and crowds are definitely challenging. I’m wound up pretty tightly in a crowd and have had a couple of spectacular meltdowns.
        Airplanes and cars are the worst. If you ever see a woman in a car on a frigid winter day with all the windows open … that’s me having an ‘attack’.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Wow, I am sorry you have to put up with those panicked feelings. Hope they are few and far between. And, if I do see a woman in the cold with the windows open, I’ll probably assume she’s having a hot flash from hell.

  8. LB says:

    The old photographs are great. No apologies!
    We used the plastic baggie trick when hiking in Vermont in the winter

  9. 1959 Chevrolet Impala. Wow ! In the days when fuel cost you guys nothing. And, of course, it still costs you comparatively nothing. Here we’re currently paying just under AUD1.20 a litre.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for the auto report. My ex used to know all of the old cars by their fins or taillights or body style. I could never distinguish. I’m also metric-challenged, so not sure how your gas prices compare. We’ve actually had a break from high gas prices which has been wonderful to my pocketbook.

Leave a Reply

