Contrary, Bitter, Rebellious and Loved

Mary, Mary, quite contrary,DSCN2468

how does your garden grow?

With silver bells and cockle shells,

and pretty maids all in a row.

Yep, Mary is the name (if you didn’t pick up on that before the nursery rhyme, you might need glasses or more coffee). I was prepared to counter the “quite contrary” with a rousing debate, until I read the meaning of Mary via Behind the Name.

Usual English form of Maria, which was the Latin form of the New Testament Greek names Μαριαμ (Mariam) and Μαρια (Maria) – the spellings are interchangeable – which were from the Hebrew name מִרְיָם (Miryam). The meaning is not known for certain, but there are several theories including “sea of bitterness”, “rebelliousness”, and “wished for child”.

Sea of bitterness? Rebelliousness?

Bitter Ben would be proud to have that behind the meaning of his name. In my own case, I prefer the last line of the Mary meaning…

However (Mary) was most likely originally an Egyptian name, perhaps derived in part from mry “beloved” or mr “love”.

I like that better. Beloved and love. Not bitter. Not rebellious (although I do squeeze and manhandle produce at the grocery store) (sometimes I walk against the light) (sometimes I cut the tag off the mattress even though it tells me not to) (sometimes I don’t scoop the kitty litter every day).

And, so, I am rebellious, beloved and full of love.

DSC00730

And Biker Chick cool. (Alternate meaning in the leather-bound version of the biker’s encyclopedia)

Seriously, I love the name Mary. Save for the obvious, I share a name with Mary Queen of Scots, Mary of Woodstock, Mary Tyler Moore, Mary Todd Lincoln, Mary Martin and Mary J. Blige. (I like the name Mary J. Blige. It has a certain ring to it.)  I love the fact that mom’s middle name became mine, borne from Catholic parents who regaled me with an extremely honorable name. I am humbled and thank God they did not call me Moon Unit or Fifi Trixiebell or Pilot Inspektor or North West or Easy.

I also thank God that in another two months, the “wished for child” may be able to plant a garden. Marigolds are a must.

Click here for additional interpretations of one’s moniker.

12 responses to Contrary, Bitter, Rebellious and Loved

  1. M. R. says:

    Bloody RAPT !!!!! I’m so excited to see you, M-J ! Oh, sorry … Mary ? Nope, can’t do it. Love it, but can’t do it. Well, I can, if you really want me to …
    The you has been so much more seen in your writing over the past few months that I’m not a bit surprised she’s now arrived on our screens. And I’m thrilled to bits !!!
    Big fat hugs from your ancient mate from Downunder. Many of ’em, you clever thing.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You can always call me M-J. As for the pics, keep in mind the biker Mary pic is at least eight to ten years old and the first one is from about two years ago – the hair is shorter and a little copperish now. One thing that doesn’t change, though, is those dang big teeth! 😀

  2. litadoolan says:

    Lovely to have a classical name with such rich history! Made me realise that brand new modern names will need time to build up such stories.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.