Fuel for the Musical Gas Tank

“Music has always been a matter of Energy to me, a question of Fuel.

Sentimental people call it Inspiration, but what they really mean is Fuel. I have always needed Fuel. I am a serious consumer. On some nights I still believe that a car with the gas needle on empty can run about fifty more miles if you have the right music very loud on the radio.”

~Hunter S. Thompson~


This past Saturday, I spent most of the day with two friends, at an indie music festival in the City of Appleton. Mile of Music was at Mile 6 of the festival, which means there has now been six years of original music performed by artists you probably don’t hear on mainstream radio.

Artists who are local and artists from all over the country.

My favorites from the day?

Vegabond – Who doesn’t love a good Southern Rock band?

The Sea The Sea – Magical, melodious harmonies

Motherfolk – High energy that I wish I could bottle

There are so many acts during the four days of Mile of Music that it’s hard to choose between rock, pop, country, blues, blue grass, jazz, funk, rap, the ukulele band, Brazilian samba drumming, screaming guitars and much more. I’ll be heading back again next year, trying to find new favorite acts and fueling my soul with musical energy.

 


This post has been brought to you by music, music, music. If you are wondering what “One-Liner Wednesday is all about, CLICK HERE.

Linda G. Hill is the Queen of One-Liners and rules over her kingdom of followers. Check out last Wednesday’s post and commit yourself to join the Queen’s one-liner army this week because there’s no fighting or blood, only comradery and fun with words.

15 responses to Fuel for the Musical Gas Tank

  1. Dan Antion says:

    It’s only Wednesday, but I could use a bottle of that energy. Maybe I’ll dial up some southern rock. Looks like you had a great time. Thanks for sharing a new (to me) band.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There must be something about today, Dan. Had a hard time getting up with the alarm, so there may be lots of coffee in the immediate future.

      I love to discover new bands and am simply amazed at the indie talent out there, both in voices and musicianship. The world would be a less happier place without the fuel, don’t you think?

      • Dan Antion says:

        It would be. Although, you have to talk to our daughter to hear about the danger of great country music and the Highway Patrol in Missouri. Apparently an excuse for speeding that begins with “but officer, this song is so good…” doesn’t work.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        LOL! I can relate, although I’ve never received a speeding ticket due to great music. 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I didn’t know about Hunter Thompson until I found his quote. Funny, it was a Gonzo writing challenge that got me pressed. 😃

  2. joey says:

    I love the quote, not surprised at the source.
    I heard some good southern rock last night at the fair. I didn’t STOP to listen, but I enjoyed it while I was in the area 🙂
    Music ❤

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I hear you about local bands and the quality of talent that’s out there. I’m in Mont Tremblant in Quebec right now (husband and son are racing tomorrow) and yesterday we heard 2 Quebec based bands play. Both were amazing!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m sending positive vibes to Gilles and son for tomorrow’s race. I hope they do well!

      I’ve learned that the top 20 on the radio is only a small sampling of the music in the world. It’s amazing to see that firsthand and I wish happy, successful trails to all of the indie artists out there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.