That’s Christmas

“I’ve got this Christmas song in my heart
I’ve got the candles glowing in the dark
I’m hanging all the stockings by the Christmas tree
Oh, why? ‘Cause that’s Christmas to me”   
~Pentatonix~


carolersWhat is Christmas to you?

Is it a holiday? A frame of mind? A spirit of peace? A love that we all find?

What is Christmas to you?

Time with family? Parties at work? Drinks with friends? Potlucks at church?

What is Christmas to you?

Blinking lights? Bright silver balls? Merry carolers? Santa Claus?

What is Christmas to you?

The smell of ham? Grandma’s cookies? Mom’s spiked egg nog? A movie about wookies?


What is Christmas to me?

It’s the birth of a savior; the travel of three kings; a story about Mary; the hope that faith brings.

What is Christmas to me?

It’s joy and peace and love; goodwill to all; hands helping others; avoiding the mall.

What is Christmas to me?

It’s a child’s wide eyes; the wait, oh the wait!; a gift of special meaning; a pleading, “Christmas don’t be late.”

What is Christmas to me?

It’s the baking of cookies; the tradition of Christmas cards; a potluck or two or three; and two words.

Merry Christmas!

What is Christmas to me?

It’s the presence of family; a mother of ninety-six; friends I adore; meals to fix.

What is Christmas to me?

It’s the connection with God; a church family that loves; children that “believe” in miracles and their Savior from above.

What is Christmas to me?

It’s snow, sometimes; crisp winter air; a nippy nose and toes; wrapping presents with care.

What is Christmas to me?

It’s a special time, a feeling; a moment that touches a heart; a song or two that brings joy; and two words.

Happy Holidays!

What does Christmas or the holidays hold in store for you, jolly readers? What are your special memories? What does this time of year mean to you?

 

10 responses to That’s Christmas

  1. I want to give you a happy, shiny answer but I’m going to be honest. I’m married to a man who, due to certain childhood experiences, hates Christmas. It’s hard to maintain a jolly tradition when for one person, it’s something to be endured. He does what he can for the kids’ sakes but getting the tree, cooking the food and buying the presents has all been done by me over the years. But to be fair, he has had to be the one to run around and source gifts this year and he has done it willingly so I’m not actually complaining but this is what Christmas is for me.

    I think we all make Christmas what we can with what we have. I have family and that’s enough. Blessings to you M-J. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh H, I know that very well. My ex was not fond of Christmas either. I bought him a Bah Humbug pillow. I also did all of the shopping, baking, trimming the tree, etc. We used to argue about when the tree would come down (I was insistent not before New Year’s Day). So, it was tough for me as well. The difference, though, lies in what you said about family – those three wonderful boys and a husband who takes care of his wife when she can’t get out to shop. That says a lot. I’m sorry that Mr. H had childhood experiences that put a damper on Christmas. Perhaps one day, he’ll let that all go and join us in our Falala’s.

  2. joannesisco says:

    In the end, I think we all want the same things … relationships, community, connection. The food, gifts, parties etc are really just the lubricant. My heart hurts for those at this time of year who don’t have good relationships … or have lost someone special. This is a difficult time for them.

    Merry Christmas MJ and best wishes for everything that’s special to you.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      This morning, I’m thinking of a friend who is on the verge of losing her brother-in-law to illness. It’s not a merry anything for the family.

      Many Christmas blessings to you, Gilles and your boys. Have a wonderful week!

      • joannesisco says:

        I know what you mean about it not being a merry anything for some families.
        Yesterday we were at a funeral. He had lived a good and happy life, but his family was clearly rattled by the loss.

        Today I feel a little more motivated to celebrate life. It is precious.

  3. LB says:

    Hello Mary! Your description of Christmas and what it means to you, is lovely.
    I hope you and your family have had a wonderful holiday.
    Much happiness and good health to you in 201^!

Leave a Reply

