Extra! Extra! Hijinks in a Basket!

Cat has More Fun than a Barrel of Monkeys!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

It was reported by an unknown source that feline Gibbs, owner of Mary J Melange, took to a laundry basket for several minutes, on a recent Thursday afternoon, to extol the virtues of hijinks and having fun.

An excessive amount of rolling around and cat gurgling ensued without the benefit of human encouragement or catnip. Gibbs only used his feline ways and the fire that stoked his backside to find a good time in the basket.

At times, the feline master of the house would stick a paw out of the basket in an attack against Mary J, but the human was smart enough (this time) to keep her distance from claws that required a clipping.

On occasion, the rolling would stop for a camera pose or two.

So cute and adorable. Luring anyone who would look into a false sense of security, Gibbs waited for his chance to pounce.

Fortunately for Mary J and any other human who passed by, the rolling, attacking and fun in a laundry basket soon ended. As with most cats, when the energy burns off and the hijinks are over, it’s time for relaxation or a nap.

Gibbs was carefully extracted later when he refused to give up the laundry basket for the human. No folded shirts, cats or monkeys were harmed during the extraction, but gray cat hair had to be removed and Gibbs had to find a different place to nap.

32 responses to Extra! Extra! Hijinks in a Basket!

  1. loisajay says:

    Too funny! Parker getw a gleam in her eye when she watches me head to the laundry room with the basket. I usually ‘forget’ to put it away so she can have some fun. Cats are so weird…. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Are the cats weird or are we weird for letting them control us? A little bit of both, right? I have to be careful with the clean, warm laundry in the basket. Ziva would make a nest if I let her.

  2. Kathryne says:

    My grey loves ours, too … plus any wastebasket unlucky enough to be in the kitchen. Cute read.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Kathryne. I learned long ago to keep the kitchen wastebasket out of reach of the kitties after I cleaned up a mess once too often. 😉

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    Aww such a cute kitty. He looks just like our Paolo (RIP), and he sure loved baskets of all kinds. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Gibbs is very cute, handsome and loveable. Makes it hard for me to stay mad at him when he’s being naughty. He and my girl, Ziva, especially love boxes…even more than laundry baskets. I call them cat traps! 😀

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    I call it Silly Kitty Mode. It’s so much fun to watch and impossible to keep a straight face 😃

    What is happening with Gibbs left eye?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, he was definitely being silly. Gibbs left eye is okay at the moment. The vet examined it and said it’s a melatonin change. We’re keeping tabs on it to make sure it doesn’t turn into something else that I’m not going to mention because it’s not a good thing. Suffice it to say, I wish he had his beautiful green eye back. I hate the change.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Does that mean this change is permanent? I’ve never heard that something like this could happen. How odd.
        … and of course there’s nothing to worry about. He’s still gorgeous!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        It appears the change is permanent, it started up earlier this year. I don’t think this is a frequent occurrence, but I did have another cat years ago that developed the brown spots. The vet is only concerned if the spots become raised, which is what I don’t want to talk about. I’m thinking positive thoughts for him!

  5. joey says:

    Oh my goodness! That photo where he’s on his back and his paws are up?! SOOOO CUUUUTE! I have to say, my cats aren’t into laundry baskets. They’re into laundry though. Nice warm laundry fresh from a dryer is their favorite.
    Thanks for sharing this cuteness with us — that’s happy good stuff! 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Joey. Glad I could provide the happy stuff on a Sunday afternoon. I’m amazed I got that shot of Gibbs before he decided to move again. Sometimes I think he and Ziva both know when it’s time to pose and when it’s time to give mom a blurry shot.

  6. Dan Antion says:

    This was fun to read. But, I’m concerned, if you removed the cat hair from the basket, what will you wear tomorrow? I’m not sure I trust people who aren’t wearing a little cat hair 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Not to worry, Dan. My clothes seem to find plenty of cat hair from the bed, the carpet, the couch and thin air.

  7. I had a dish towel once that said “Cat Hair is not Dirt…It’s a Condiment”…or something close to that. With three shedders in our household, a blind eye is necessary.

    Delightful post!!

  8. marianallen says:

    Oh, I’m bouncing around, loving this post and these pictures! What a beautiful boy Gibbs is. Don’t you love it when they decide something they usually ignore is amusing? lol! ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Marian, I’m so glad you had fun with Gibbs and his basket. He was definitely having a good time when I took the photos. I often wonder what is going through their kitty minds when they act so crazy. Must be a very happy place.

  9. LB says:

    Aren’t cats so funny?! I remember mine rolling and posing and generally enjoying life in any sort of container or box. Thanks for the smiles, and the memories

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Totally funny, Laurie. Gibbs and Ziva both have paper box tops that they sleep in while I watch TV at night. They must make them feel safe and secure.

Leave a Reply

