Pile of Junk

What’s the definition of “junk,” Mr. Edison?

You know one person’s junk is another person’s treasure.

Art can be formed from junk or junk can pile up in a kitchen drawer.

Junk can live in a city dump or in the dark recesses of a basement.

Dust can be covered by junk or junk can be covered by dust.

Junk can be in the trunk or anywhere else it wants to be.

But what exactly is junk?

Is it metal or plastic? Singular or multiple? Old or new?

I’m trying not to rhyme here, but does anyone have a clue?


This post has been brought to you the junk under the bathroom sink. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

 

26 responses to Pile of Junk

  1. loisajay says:

    I don’t go to garage sales, but I LOVE estate sales. You know–better junque. ‘Morning, Mary.

  2. JoAnna says:

    I have those ingredients in abundance. With more time and fewer distractions, I could have…. wait…. creations! I’d rather create than invent.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I can’t comment on what has gathered under your bathroom sink, but *Junk* is what I just spent the last hour cleaning up in the backyard … that unwanted detritus that accumulates at this time of year. No creative potential here.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Joanne, you sell yourself short on creativity. Sometimes it only takes a good friend and hiking trails to be creative in thought. That much you have in spades. As for my bathroom junk, do you need three year old nail polish? I might have a couple bottles.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Pffft – only 3 years old? 😉

        I’m not a pack rat by any stretch of the imagination, but I am constantly astounded by the “power of accumulation”.
        I’m sure there is a scientific law in there somewhere – like gravity – that everyone knows about, but no one has been able to define.

        I’m thinking something along the line of Time + Availability of Space = Stuff to the 3rd power
        (How’s that for creative thinking? … when do I get my Nobel Prize for Physics?)

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You get 1,000 bonus points and the Physics prize for that equation. It’s so profound and true!

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        See? This is what happens when I’ve been awake all night. I’m either brain dead, or off-the-wall 🙂

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Deal … but only if it’s a kick-ass colour. Pastels need not apply 😉

        hmmm – I just had another creative idea involving leftover nail polish and some of my outdoor fence ‘art’ that needs touch up. Thanks – I think you’ve helped me find a solution to a problem I’ve been puzzling over!!

  4. joey says:

    Another man’s treasure must refer to Mr Edison. He didn’t mind stealing work, either.

    *achem*
    Okay, so having thought about this, junk is complicated. The junk in my junk drawer is actually not junk, because I’m liking it, put value on it, use it.
    In contrast, the stuffs in bins, ready to be sold and donated, that’s all junk! It’s all in the perspective.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I agree, Joey. There’s always a “junk drawer” in the kitchen, but doesn’t it hold stuff we need, like spatulas for the cookie dough bowl? Important things, not junk!

      • joey says:

        Exactly. Mine’s in the living room. Tiny screwdrivers, batteries, sticky tack —

  5. Dan Antion says:

    What my wife saves is “things that can be reused”. What I save is “stuff I might be able to use someday.” When our daughter visits, it’s all junk.

    BTW, you must have really angeredWordPress – I didn’t get an email notification of this post 😦

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t know what I did to WordPress, but it wasn’t letting me make comments to other bloggers’ posts via the notification bell. I had to go to your blog site in order to comment. So weird! Maybe I gave away too many bonus points or have too much junk under the bathroom sink.

Leave a Reply

