Creative Inspiration

I bought a new book on Saturday.

My good sense told me that I already have enough books that are either half read or never read and I shouldn’t waste my money.

But then that horned guy made me do it. He stuck his pitchfork in me until I reached in my wallet and handed over the loot.

That’s my excuse. Good sense rolled her eyeballs and laughed.

But I digress. I bought a new book on Saturday. It’s a creativity journal entitled “Do One Thing Every Day That Inspires You.”Β The journal piqued my interest with pages like this one:

Oh, I think I can help you out, Mr. Wall. Where are my colored pencils?

And this page:

The opposite page asks me to doodle sadness. Should I doodle sadness on a sad day or happy day?

There are creative writing challenges as well.

“The moment you wake up, fill this page with free writing.”

(I’ll save this one for a morning that doesn’t begin at 5:30 a.m., thankyouverymuch.)

“Just before you go to sleep, fill this page with free writing.”

(This might be a good Friday night project, using Linda G. Hill’s SoCS prompt.)

IΒ will get back to what the Sphinx is thinking later.

Until then, I’ll have to think of a response for,

“List the tools you need for your creative work,”

and

“Describe your ideal writing room,”

and

“Write a poem about your best moment.”

Write a poem? Hmmm…wonder if I have the talent for that one.

Even though you happen to see a post here once or twice a week, it doesn’t necessarily mean that the writing came from inspiration. Posts can come from a place of “I have to, I should, or I need to keep up with all of my blogging buddies.”

I can do better than have to, should or need. But that takes inspiration and that noun isn’t always at my beck and call. Sometimes inspiration needs a swift kick in the backside or a fire under same.

That is why the devil made me buy the journal. Good sense hasn’t been overly inspiring of late and I’d like to change her mojo, one inspiring challenge at a time. I believe it will be well worth the investment as long as I use the investment.

Right?

Before I go, I want to leave you with a challenge, dear readers. This is an easy one.

I checked off five and added an “other.” Can you guess what they are? What are your talents?

Props to anyone who can wiggle their ears, raise one eyebrow, and write an inspired post at the same time.

25 responses to Creative Inspiration

  1. I love stuff like that. It’s good for you. Must have been an angel on your shoulder telling you to buy it. πŸ™‚

    I have a similar thing sitting ready for the new year. An “Every Day Matters” diary. Can’t wait to start it. πŸ™‚

  2. dweezer19 says:

    I bought my son a book like this once. While he was staying at his brother’s house a mouse Crawled into his suitcase and peed all over it. He was inspired to get a new suitcase. πŸ˜• I love books like this!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh boy, I hope my book doesn’t come across a mouse or anything else that can pee on it. Gibbs might chew on the corners, but that would give it the well-worn “I use this book” feel. πŸ˜‰

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I think that’s a great idea. I look forward to seeing some of the results. And just for you:

    Inspiration aside, I can only do four
    Perhaps if I lied, I could claim a few more
    But if ever I happened to be in your gaze
    You’d test me and force me to wiggle or raise
    And after I tried, you would show me the door

    And, lest I forget – GoPackGo (tonight)

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    Oh dear. These kinds of journals actually paralyze me. I look at them with longing, wishing that the challenges reached into some untouched part of me and made it speak.

    Please, please, please share your creations! That should keep your inspirational feet to the proverbial fire πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, I will share at some point. Perhaps I need to make this into a weekly share since I’m seeking inspiration for posts. I found with books or a challenge like this, I have to let go of my inhibitions and perfectionism. The latter especially so because I tend to compare to others or think “it’s not good enough.” I forget that it’s not about being perfect or better than the next guy, it’s only a personal journey with no grades or rating scale. Kind of like yoga.

  5. 10 minutes. Don’t think. AT ALL. Doodle, write, kiss the page with red lipstick. Whatever moves you. Nobody else has to see it (I don’t post all my stuff though I would on a private page for close friends.)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Right Katie! As I have been looking at some of the pages, I realize I cannot obsess or think about what I’m going to do with each challenge. That’s not the point of creativity.

  6. joey says:

    Haha! I can raise one eyebrow, flare my nostrils, and make a fish face πŸ™‚
    For future fun, I recommend Wreck This Journal. Much whimsy!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      My girlfriend can also raise one eyebrow. I am jealous of you both because I find that to be so cool. Then again, I can bend the first digit of my fingers while keeping the rest totally straight. Maybe that makes up for it…

      I’ll keep the Wreck This journal in mind. Sounds like loads of fun.

      • joey says:

        It is. And cheap and there’s a new version every year.
        I can do the finger thing, too, only on the left! As a bonus, arthritis does one for me on the right, lol 😦
        The eyebrow thing is less cool for me, because again, only the left will go up like that and so the other one is sad and straighter and makes me a bit lopsided. I’m just sayin, that’s why my hair is parted on the left. πŸ˜›

  7. I can:
    Raise one eyebrow
    Roll my tongue
    Cross my eyes
    Flare my nostrils
    Make a Fish Face

    I’m currently doing all these things at the same time, so not looking my most attractive at the moment, but it’s so fulfilling. I feel like I’m accepting an award for best ugly face in the competition.

    I can also do: ‘Other’ with my face …
    I can flirt with my eyes.
    I can puff my cheeks out like a puffer fish.
    I can put my mouth (open) on the glass of the door, and BLOW so that my mouth and cheeks blow up – which apparenly is very funny, according to some folks.

    I can also, on occasions, accidentally get tooth floss stuck between two teeth (they do it for a laugh, I swear to dog) … and when this happens, I pretend I’ve swallowed a kite.

    Right … being sensible now …. Mary …fill your book. No one else is going to read it so you’re not trying to impress someone. You’re just having FUN. Draw. Write. Stick. Glue. Finger prints. Ear prints.
    Just: Have Some More Fun! πŸ˜‚ 🀣

    Sending fun vibes and squidges ~ Cobs. xxx ❀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I like the idea of using glue and fingerprints..but not together. That might be a sticky tragedy.

      So, you can roll your tongue. I want to know if you can roll your “R’s,” like when you say Rrruffles have rrridges. Or rrrotten rrrutabaga is rrreally rrripe.

      • Sadly, no. I can’t make those sounds … although I’ve tried to all throughout my life. I’m SO envious of people who can do it.

        Some things I was blessed with .. but some things it was decided I wouldn’t need. [sigh]

        Glue and fingerprints … ahh… that’s something I have LOTS of experience in! LOL. ~ C. xxx

Leave a Reply

