Yeah, Why Don’t We?

I was having a conversation with girlfriend Natasha this past weekend while we were running errands, grocery shopping and sitting at the laundromat.

She asked the question,

“How come we never sit home on a Saturday and watch TV all day?”

The answer was something like,

“Well…because both of us work full time, so we only have the weekends to get our stuff done – shopping, food prep, laundry. I have church and go visit mom every Sunday and you spend time with your daughter and are active in the reserves and whatever else.” 

That tends to be how the weekends go unless something else is planned in advance. Saturday and Sunday always seem to be a flurry of things-to-do and the only time either of us watches TV all day is when we are A) not feeling well, laying prone, and that might be a stretch;  B) multitasking with food prep and laundry; or C) lazy and not giving a damn, but that might be a stretch too.

Natasha and I are not sure how or when life became so busy that we can’t hang out on a rotten-weather Saturday, in pajamas, and watch inane entertaining TV from dawn until bedtime. We both remember days of sloth and TV in years past. Why is it different today?

Perhaps it is more of a choice to stay busy or the inability to sit in one spot for more than one or two hours. As I’m writing this, I have taken an hour to catch up on the latest episode of “This is Us.” I’m debating about also catching up on “Project Runway,” but that’s a 90 minute commitment.

I don’t know if I can do it.

I have laundry to finish…

How about you, fellow readers and one-liner participants? Do you ever make a dent in the couch cushion on a day off and watch TV all day? Or do you run around like a crazy chicken? If you had to watch TV (or movies) all day, what would be your pleasure?


This post has been brought to you by all-day TV. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

24 responses to Yeah, Why Don’t We?

  1. I’m right there with you. Hubby and I have been so busy this year, since May, that we still have the last episode of Game of Thrones to watch!! I hope to remedy that this weekend. Both of us are longing for a weekend of sofa surfing!!
    I have a choice of box sets – Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Harry Potter, Star Wars. I’d start on the Friday night, after work, and keep going all weekend… the extended editions would see me through till Sunday evening. Bliss!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That sounds awesome. I’d pick Lord of the Rings. Just make sure you have enough wings, pizza and chocolate to make it through the weekend. Sustenance is important when you are couch surfing.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Weekends do seem to be a catch-up period. I think, for me, it’s because I am so reluctant to do anything after work. As I get older, work sucks more out of me. I guess I could abbreviate that and stop after two words, but…

    I tend to cram a bunch of stuff in on the weekends. I make a dent for the Twilight Zone Marathon and some nights when I get sucked into “just the right line up” of STNG episodes. If I lived where one of the games wasn’t the Patriots, I’d make a dent for football on Sunday.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! Work sucked…a lot out of me the last two days. Yeah, I get that! I always think there aren’t enough hours in the day or I could use another weekend day. But then I realize that I would just cram that time full of stuff too.

      • Dan Antion says:

        I do think a 4-3 split would be nice. I’ve been spoiling myself with 4-day weekends in October. Now a few 3-day weekends remain and then it’s back to M-F 😦

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I may have to give myself a few four-day weekends after the office move in January. It would be nice…

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    Even now that I’m retired, I rarely have days spent in a vegetative state in front of the TV … and never in my pyjamas. I’m just not a pyjamas kind of person, even when I’m sick. hmmm – I wonder what that means about me 😏

    … but when they DO happen, it’s a glorious thing! … especially if I have copious amounts of chocolate, liquorice, and popcorn on hand!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Joanne, I think you’re just one of those people that prefers to be active and doing something. I get that because I feel that way during the warmer months. In winter, though, it’s tough for me because I would rather lay on the couch in pj’s and hibernate until it warms up again. It remains to be seen once I retire, if I actually take myself up on the hibernating part.

  4. Monicle says:

    Even on days off when I say I’m going to do that, it takes me until about 2:00 p.m. to actually get there. Working at a grocery store the weekends mean nothing. The worst is not getting two days together. At 65 I have to take days of completely to rest or I get frazzled and very grouchy. That why I’m retiring; I’ve had enough.
    Why do we feel so damn guilty taking days off?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Congrats on your retirement! Soon you will have 7 days off and not feel even one pang of guilt about it. I have plenty of vacation days I can take; however, I have a hard time taking a lot of time off at once because there’s always a mess waiting for me when I get back to work. I’m hoping that in two years, I will also have 7 days off and not feel guilty.

  5. Frank Hubeny says:

    We gave up TV years ago–no more cable TV service, but I suppose we could be on the internet all day. There are Rick and Morty episodes on YouTube I haven’t seen yet and perhaps it is just as well.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      TV is like a train wreck… it’s hard to look away. Good for you in getting rid of cable and not letting TV rule your world.

  6. joey says:

    Such a valid question.
    It’s hard for me to commit to a truly lazy day. I’m more the sort who does a lot and then enjoys the evening. When I was a single Pringle, I did the errands, cleaned my car and my house on Saturday morning, and did the laundromat on Sunday, where I read.
    Now, it doesn’t matter as much. When I work though, I’ll sometimes do a lot sooner to avoid doing more later, free up a day.
    I have to tell you, though, much as I hate to admit it, on the rare days we pick up some food and binge-watch a show, it feels like heaven and the laundry and the rest of it does get done. It’s been a good six months since we did that. We should do it again, but there are a lot of things going on.
    I’ve never regretted it, just hard to let myself do it. I don’t like stuff hangin over my head. But trust me, I’m always watching the calendar for a day we can do that. I can tell you, it’ll be January before it happens again! lol

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s always the case, Joey. It feels good to have a lazy day, but there’s always a tinge of guilt or thought that “I should be doing something.” Neither allows us to truly relax. I hope you get your day in January. I’m shooting for that too, unless I actually have a day between Christmas and New Years’ that I’m not doing anything, including working. Starting this weekend, I have something happening every weekend through December 9th. Not sure how that happened…

      • joey says:

        Same. It creeps up on us, a lil here, a lil there. Before you know it, we’re booked!

  7. JoAnna says:

    I used to watch TV all the time. I miss those days, but there are more important things to do now. Is that a sign of growing up? Still, I usually watch NCIS and its followers on Tuesday nights and on Thursday, I’ve discovered The Orville for comic relief. It’s like Star Trek with a little stupid FOX humor thrown in. If I was going to watch TV all day, I’d watch old movies.

Leave a Reply

