One-Liner Lucy

Disquieting…inducing feelings of anxiety or worry.

Ephiphany…A Christian festival.

No, not that one.

Epiphany…an illuminating discovery, realization, or disclosure.

Yes, my dear readers, this Christian cat lady has had an illuminating realization that she’s feeling anxious. And that the feeling may not go away until February, 2018.

You see, the work office is moving to a new building in January and that means plenty has to be done, from change of address notifications, updating employee information, ordering furniture, working with the IT people, getting estimates from moving companies, deciding on a new phone system and much, much more.

If that isn’t crazy enough, I’ve been tossed another major project that will create, from past experience, a lot of work and a few headaches at the same time we’re preparing for the move.

And there is also the normal, every day work that I do.

How do you like my new title? No raise, but it sounds important.

There are days when directing everything can be challenging and tiring.

Hence the face of constipation.

I try to give sound advice on the job. It costs a little more, but it’s well worth it and usually solves issues. My opinions and thoughts are free lest anyone tries to ask for their money back.

I wonder how many employees would email or call me if I charged for my time? Does a dollar a minute sound fair?

No?

How about buy one minute, get one free?

This has nothing to do with work or this post. I’m craving pumpkin pie and I don’t think it can wait until Thanksgiving.

Anyhow, getting back to work. It’s going to be a crazy three months. Busy, busy, busy. I smell overtime and lots of yoga sessions after hours.

C

I may need to kick Charlie Brown out of his chair before all is said and done.

Or drag my neighbor down to the brew pub for adult therapy.

In reality, though, I only want to get through this time without ending up on my back after missing the ball. My plan is to de-stress the rest of my life, especially around the holidays – keep extra-curricular activities to a minimum; get back to regular exercise; and forget the four-day cookie baking extravaganza in December.

The neighbors are going to be p*ssed about the cookies.

Anything to stave off epiphanies…


This post has been brought to you by beer, beer and beer. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.


The Cherished Blogfest is happening October 13-22, 2017. Hosted by Damyanti Biswas, Dan AntionCheryl PenningtonPaul RuddockPeter NenaSharukh Bamboat, Kate Powell, and yours truly, it is open to anyone with a keyboard and story about something or someone they cherish. Details are posted HERE.

(You can help share the news of The Cherished Blogfest by using #CBF17 on all social media.)

 

27 responses to One-Liner Lucy

  1. dweezer19 says:

    I wish you all the best Mary. I am in my own kind of crunch right now, trying to avoid hyperventilation, but can’t really talk about it yet. Sending up prayers for both of us! Hugs. Too bad about the cookie thing though. Hang on and don’t forget Arnold. “Talk to the hand….” 🤚🏻

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ll have to remember “talk to the hand.” Wonder how my boss will react… :-p

      Thanks for the hugs and prayers and good thoughts. I’ll send some of that back to you so you can get through your crunch with ease.

      The cookie extravaganza will have to wait until 2018. I don’t think anyone will die because of it. 🙂

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Oh yes, you’re going to have your hands full! The fur-babies are going to have to give you extra love to help you through this stressful time.
    Wait … what am I thinking? It’s all about them … THEY’RE not going to be happy either!

    Sad about the annual cookie fest though. There are always going to be casualties at times like this, but I trust you will get through this!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! Yeah, I’m not counting on the kids for extra support. They will be giving kitty glares if feeding time is late. No sympathy.

      The cookies bum me out a little, but there is relief in knowing I don’t have to stress about it either. This too shall pass. Next year will be different.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    “…working with the IT people” Oh My – Not Those Guys! This IT person has moved the company twice. I don’t envy you your task, and I relish the fact that we’re in year-2 of a 10-year lease. They can notify me of the new address when they send me my retirement check.

    Sorry to hear about the cookiefest getting canceled. Otherwise, I think you have a good handle on things. I might move the brew pub up a notch, you know, before you start kicking folks – but who am I to give advice 😉

    Good luck with everything! Get some pie!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks, Dan. I’ll need luck and pie and brew during the next few months.

      No offense to you, but our IT guys aren’t always the most helpful. In fact, I’ve been calling the help desk the non help desk of late. On the other hand, the telecomm guy has been around forever and knows his stuff. In him I can trust.

      I will be baking cookies in December 2018, knowing I’ll be retired before the next Christmas rolls around.

      • Dan Antion says:

        2018 will be my last December, too. I’ll be buying beer.

        Not all IT guys are created equal. The guy that works for me is very helpful. When he’s out, I tell people that he out and I offer to help. If he’s only out for the day, they usually say “I’ll wait” – I help pretty well, but I don’t have the best bedside manner.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I could apply that, except I have a Princess pillow and mug. It’s close in title being “The Princess of Almost Everything.” :-p

  4. joey says:

    It seems incredibly urgent that you obtain pumpkin pie at your earliest convenience.
    I’ve always been fond of Lucy, so I may have enjoyed this post more than I should. I’m not fond of your anxiety or the reasons — I’m pretty stressed just reading the list of your stressors! Do try to remember it won’t be awful every day and it won’t all be done in a day.
    I always miss it in the years I don’t bake, so I totally relate to that, but then, pardon me for saying so, there IS a kinda peace in having a clean kitchen 😉 lol And plenty of other ways to be generous and thoughful.
    Please remember to be generous and thoughtful with yourself ❤

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Aww, Joey, thanks. I will take care of myself as often as possible during this time. It’s also a good thought that it won’t be awful every day. Don’t we always tend to focus on the one bad day rather than the six good ones? Pie day will be a good one.

      Lucy is a hoot, but I only wish that she would let Charlie Brown kick the football…just once!

      • joey says:

        Lucy must balance Peanuts, Mary. She was just drawn that way 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I imagine that the cartoon was drawn several years ago. In today’s market those prices would be $5, $10 and $25.

  5. Claudia says:

    My daughter-in-law’s mother (my co-mother-in-law?) just went through that. I mean just the past few weeks. It was a nightmare. Now she’s planning on retiring after the first of the year. Ha! I know we all don’t have that option to getting over the hump, but I’m sure you will succeed with grace and humor!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m hoping there will be no nightmares. The good thing, as with your co-MIL, is that there will be an end. I’m looking forward to the new place and calmer days to come.

  6. John Holton says:

    Buy yourself an industrial-sized bottle of aspirin for the office (not ibuprofen, not naproxen, and not Tylenol). Take them three at a time when things get bad, preferably washed down with something alcoholic (Wild Turkey was my go-to). That usually worked for me.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have to skip the aspirin and go with industrial Excedrin for the tough headaches. Washed down with coffee to get that super caffeinated energy!

  7. JoAnna says:

    Four days of cookie baking is three and a half days too many in my book. Maybe you can scale back. Or just be done with it. I love the word disquieting. Wishing you many moments of peace and quiet in between. Bring on the pumpkin pie!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I found a yummy recipe for Paleo pumpkin pie that I’m dying to try. Maybe this Saturday. As for the cookies, I still may make a batch or two for Thanksgiving, but only if I have time.

      • JoAnna says:

        Only if I have time is a phrase I want to remember. That pie sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

