SoCS: The Big Uh-Oh Birthday

It is my birthday month

A September baby I am

I have a sneaking hunch

That I will soon be on the lam


I cannot let this one pass by

Without a celebratory note

About my age I will not lie

I’m old enough to vote


It’s a banner year, this one

Another decade older

Which deserves lots of fun

And a girl embracing bolder


A weekend in Door County is planned

For friends, shopping and wine

Where laughing is never banned

And having a view of the lake is just fine


A weekend in Chicago is next

The Star Trek Convention it will be

“Live long and prosper!” I shall text

Natasha will show me her four-fingered Vee.


After this comes four days off

Leading up to the big day

There will be no work and no boss

It shall be eat, sleep and play


One thing is absolutely true

I don’t feel this freakin’ old

No need to ask for a clue

Nine Twenty-Six is the Big Six Uh-Oh


It is my birthday month

A September baby from years ago

I plan on enjoying this one a bunch

Count on it deeply, dontcha know



Stream of Consciousness Saturday is born from the mind of author Linda G. Hill. Every Friday, Linda provides her followers with a prompt. It can be a word or words and sometimes bonus points are involved (my favorite). Linda asks us to write without editing, other than correcting spelling errors.

Just go with the flow.

Like a babbling brook, ambling stream or running river. Click HERE if this type of writing floats your boat or lights your birthday candles.

57 responses to SoCS: The Big Uh-Oh Birthday

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Judy, I absolutely plan on celebrating the entire month. I believe in stretching out a birthday as long as possible…because I can!

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    Celebrate with abandon, Party Girl!!
    … but I do like that expression – the Big Six Uh-Oh. Snub your nose at it by having a glorious month of fun πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday dear Mary,
    Happy Birthday to youuuuuu!
    Have a brilliant one. Eat, drink, be merry. For you will never be this young ever again! lol.
    Being serious… Have a wonderful birthday. I wish you everything you wish yourself.
    Sending hugs ~ Cobs. x

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Hugs back to you Cobs. Thanks for singing to me and for the birthday wishes. If any of those wishes come true, I’ll have you to thank. In the meantime, I’m ready to get started on the eating and merry part…the drinking will come later.

  3. Like Joanne, I love the Big Six Uh-Oh. I shall adopt that (if you don’t mind) for my own Uh-Oh birthday. I am happy to hear you are celebrating long and hard with all your favourite things. It seems eminently more sensible than my chosen celebration. Each to her own, I guess. πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You can certainly use Uh-Oh for your next big birthday. Or do the Scooby-Doo version and make it Ruh-Roh. Be sure to do something fun, fun, fun on that day, like eating chocolate cake while floating in a hot air balloon or spending the day at the spa or climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. You pick!

      • THE Day is three days before another significant event that requires restraint on The Day. πŸ˜‰ But I plan to make up for it afterwards….

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, make sure you celebrate afterwards. Big time. Because of finishing a marathon AND having a momentous birthday!

  4. Dan Antion says:

    Happy birthday in advance
    Of joy and celebration
    I hope these wishes will enhance
    The remaining week’s anticipation.

    You’re still a work in progress
    Sixty years in the making
    Many years of fun and happiness
    Stand ready for your taking.

    Enjoy the day(s) of MaryMent
    Enjoy the fun and laughter
    From CT these wishes being sent
    For you to live long and prosper.

  5. Herman says:

    Wishing you a wonderful Birthday, my friend. Mr. Bowie sends his regards!

  6. loisajay says:

    Another year of ‘You did it!” I love celebrating the entire month, Mary. Enjoy and have a Happy one!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      As long as I’m breathing, eating and standing upright, it’s another good year to celebrate. Thanks Lois!

  7. dweezer19 says:

    I’m right on your heels Mary. Have a great timeless weekend! Happy Birthday! πŸ’•πŸŽ‚πŸ·

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I hope to have four fabulous weekends this month, Cheryl. When it’s your turn, I wish the same for you! πŸ˜€

  8. JoAnna says:

    Star Trek! That’s my kind of convention. Maybe I’ll do one for my 70th. It will keep you young, or at least interesting. Maybe you can do a post about it when you get back (I’m being selfish.) Live long, prosper, and have a fascinating birthday!

  9. joey says:

    Wow! You’ve got some fantastic plans coming up! That’s a lot to look forward to πŸ™‚ How exciting!
    Celebrate every day ❀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I will, Joey, thanks. It starts tomorrow – bike ride on a new trail with the neighbor. There might be bridges and there might be a beer on the way home! πŸ™‚

  10. We share a birthmonth m’lady, though I had my Six Oh! Oh! already!

    :>
    MJM, born on Little St. Patrick’s Day… (That’s a hint if you can figger it out!)

  11. ghostmmnc says:

    Happy pre-birthday wishes! Enjoy many days of celebrations! Yours is the 26th? My husband’s is the 26th of this month, too! Here we’re both edging ever closer to the big 70! πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Happy pre-birthday to your husband! All of the cool kids were born on September 26th. At least that’s what I tell myself. πŸ˜‰

  12. J-Dub says:

    Door County then Chicago both sound wonderful! Two places on my bucket list to go.
    Cheers to the upcoming big 60! Enjoy, happy, happy, happy πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you! I hope you can mark those two places off your bucket list, because they will make you happy! πŸ™‚

  13. Good poem. 🎁🎁Happy Birthday to the Birthday Kitty🎁🎁. Ironic, this is my cat, Daisy Mae’s Birthday Month too.🎁🎁 Followed Linda G Hill thanks to you. Thanks for the site link.

  14. Sounds like you have some fab celebrations lined up. Enjoy! I’ve recklessly nominated you for an award. Paying forward my own nomination to those that have made me giggle/think/filled my heart. You can ignore it, accept it quietly and graciously, or throw a party and show off πŸ™‚ Either way, tis done and forgive that I’m commenting with these exact same words on my other nominations as I can’t find a better way of putting it! https://thelockwoodecho.com/2017/09/04/blogger-recognition-award/

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you so very much for the nomination. I truly appreciate your kind consideration! Unfortunately, I no longer respond to award nominations due to lack of time. The next three weeks especially are going to be difficult to post regular content. But please know this put a smile on my face today and I’m happy that you enjoy my blog and posts. Have a wonderful Monday and week!

      • Well, it was my first nomination so I absolutely had to pay it forward. Have a great birthday, build-up and all πŸ˜‰

  15. LB says:

    What a celebration you have planned! It sounds like so much fun. Enjoy every bite of food, glass of wine (or beer), and every bit of laughter and song. Happy, Happy Birthday!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I plan on as much fun as possible, Laurie, because you know it’s fodder for more blog posts! πŸ˜‹ Thanks for the happy birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

