Life, Football & Dedication

“Football is like life – it requires perseverance, self-denial, hard work, sacrifice, dedication and respect for authority.”

~Vince Lombardi~


Yes, boys and girls, it’s football season.

Stop rolling your eyes.

The football pre-season is well underway and, on September 10th, my beloved Green Bay Packers start their regular season hosting the Seattle Seahawks at Lambeau Field. The Aaron Rodgers #12 jersey is ready to go and I’m somewhat ready to suffer the anxiety that comes with wanting my team to win every.damn.time.

Right Dan Antion?

Dan is a diehard Pittsburgh Steelers fan, which happens to be my favorite AFC team…unless they are playing the Packers.

On Sunday, November 26th, 2017, beginning at 8:30 ET, the Green Bay Packers will be playing the Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field. Steelers have the home field advantage and, at this point, Dan and I have no idea how the season for our respective teams will fare. We’ve been hoping for a meeting in the Super Bowl for the last two seasons (Dan wants vengeance from the 2011 outcome), but neither team has made it that far.

We both wish Tom Brady would retire.

Anyhow, Vince was right about football and life. I’ve been ruminating about dedication and perseverance lately – that of my own when it come to regular exercise. I have seasons when I like to make excuses…

I’m tired.

I need to go buy cat food and chocolate and that’s going to take me a while.

I broke a fingernail and/oror the tendonitis in my left hand is acting up.

It’s too dark outside (winter).

It’s too nice outside (summer).

I have plantar fasciitis in my right foot so I could not possible go to the gym and work my upper body.

It’s too cold outside to go swimming in an indoor, heated pool.

I have a great idea for a blog post that needs to be written NOW.

In my defense, I did interrupt this post to attend a yin yoga class. It’s a class where there is more mat work (stretching, breathing, lying prone) and less sweating.

I need a team and a coach, 24/7, to have the dedication and perseverance of the person I would like to be. I need a Vince Lombardi to tell me to get my *bleeping* butt off the *bleeping* sofa. I need other people to egg me on, cheer me on and participate in exercise with me. I’m not good with the self-motivated, self-directed get out there and do something attitude.

Unless it’s summer and I’m on the mountain bike or hiking a cool trail. That’s a different story, no need for a team or a swearing coach.

The hardest part of dedication and perseverance in exercise is winter and cold darkness. When work is over and I’m chilled to the bone simply from watching it snow all day, the only thought on my mind is going home to a warm sweatshirt and hot cup of herbal tea. (Any other northerners with me on that?) January and February is the worst two months for wanting to do anything. I call those the hibernation months. I want to crawl under the blankets and not come out until March, when there is the hope of spring and biking weather.

It helps if the Packers are in the playoffs and make a run to the Super Bowl in early February. Really, it does. Packer wins put me in a good mood, and a good mood can make a fan feel good, and feeling good can translate into a trip to the gym. I’m not lying. Just think how my exercise habits will increase if the Packers win the Super Bowl.

This is how football is like life. Dedication and perseverance lead to good things, whether it is gridiron greatness or being mentally and physically fit.

Right Dan?

Want to make any non-monetary bets about November?

About the Super Bowl?

About how many times I’ll go to the gym between now and February 4, 2018?


This post has been brought to you by the love of football and the desire for perseverance. It has also been brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.” All you need to play along every week is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

22 responses to Life, Football & Dedication

  1. Ritu says:

    Can’t agree with you on football… or any sport! But… I’m a fellow plantars sufferer so I sympathise there!!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Ritu. The PF was almost non-existent yesterday, so decided to go for a walk at lunch. I’m paying for that dumb decision today! Oh well, I guess I will be icing the foot and taking it easy… 🙂

  2. Dan Antion says:

    ABSOLUTELY Right!

    Football season can’t start soon enough. I am willing to bet that I want 31/32s of the same outcome that you want from this season. I am willing to bet that several Sundays will be spent with absolute disregard of horrible weather conditions (I can make a pass with the snow-blower during halftime). I am willing to bet that money will be spent, adult beverages will be consumed, adult language will be spoken, tweets will be tweeted and unfortunately, there will be some sadness. Of course, I hope that on November 26th, you’re the sad one…

    Go Steelers – Go Pack!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I want the same thing for you in November, Dan. To be sad. Because that’s what football blogging buddies do for each other.

      There will absolutely be the adult refreshment, adult language, tweeting and texting (with my brother) all season. I wouldn’t have it any other way. As long as the Packers win, I’ll be good. You’ll be sad, but I’ll be good.

      Go Packers! Go Steelers!

  3. Frank Hubeny says:

    I don’t usually watch sports, but I am glad somebody does and there are a lot of people who do. I’ve been past Lambeau field with relatives who wanted to stop on our way to Door County on vacation.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Lambeau is a historic venue, whether a Packer fan or not. I’ve been at games before and you can’t beat the feeling you get inside with sixty-some thousand fellow fans. It’s great, as is Door County!

  4. joey says:

    On Sunday, November 26th, I will turn 44 🙂 I win! LOL
    Football, meh. I bet you’ll really enjoy my post today.
    As a woman who frequents in indoor heated pool, I gotta tell ya, it’s still cold! Or, you know, it is at first. Then get out to find it’s twice as cold as the water, then walk out to the car in the wind, then drive home in the snow, then you’ve earned the right to cuddle up lazy like kitteh and eat any old cheese and chocolate you want 🙂
    You COULD watch football while you’re on the treadmill. Inclines relieve plantar fasciitis…but I got ya.
    I tell ya, I was at the grocery store so long last night, I thought we may as well live there. Just take our tent, graze on the fruit… This time of year, there are even birds in Meier’s rafters… 😛

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for backing up my excuse on the shopping. It does take time, especially when I enter the expanse of Woodman’s and there are wall-to-wall people in there. Why don’t they ever stay home?

      You are right about the pool…it does feel cold at first, even in the summer. I have to tell myself “just go, Mary. By lap two, it will be okay!”

      Happy un-birthday, Joey. I’ll wish you the real happy birthday on the 26th of November. 🙂

  5. JoAnna says:

    My dad grew up in Green Bay. He did well in high school football, being over 6 feet tall and well-built, but he joined the marines instead of trying out for the Packers. Either way he was a man of perseverance. Though I’m not much of a football fan, I loved to watch Dad watch the Packers play on TV, especially when he got old and it would get him excited.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Well, I think I would have liked your dad and enjoyed watching football with him. I get excited too when I watch the game, maybe a little bit too excited. 😉

  6. John Holton says:

    I have never understood the allure of football. Baseball, I get. Here in the South college football is like a religion…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      My allure is the action, John. I love the pace of the game. I don’t get the same feeling from baseball. I like fast motorcycles and fast wide receivers…catching the awesome arcing throws from the quarterback and running for a touchdown.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s okay, Katie. It’s whatever interests you and I know you’d rather be drawing or painting rather than watching football.

Leave a Reply

