SOCS: Questioning Levels

High or low?

Which way do you fly?

Low, under the radar, may be the way to go

Or reach for the sky, determination on high

High or low?

What persona do you create?

Low as a snake, slithering to and fro,

Or on a horse, eating self-righteous cake?

High or low?

What bar do you set?

An impassive and uninterested voice from below,

Or a motivated go-getter no one can forget?

High or low?

What hope do you bring?

A lawn of self-doubt and apathy that you mow,

Or a chorus of love and light that loudly sings?

High or low?

How do you treat life?

With the razor-sharp tongue of a hate-filled pro,

Or the respect and wonderment of a loving husband and wife?

High or low?

How do you want your sound?

Through a base guitar, nice and slow,

Or the screaming Thunderstruck of an AC/DC pound?

High or low?

Where do you want to be?

In Death Valley, the heat rising from desert shallow,

Or on top of Mt. McKinley, with all the world’s beauty to see?

High or low?

Which way shall this end? The time is nigh.

Without the bonus of a mighty fine low,

Or an addition of points because I ended with high?

Sometimes the music has to be HIGH. High enough to blow out the back speakers of an Olds Alero.


This post of varying heights of poetry is being brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday or SOCs. Click HERE to read other SOCs posts of the day and consider joining in after reading the rules. The main rule to remember is, “Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.” Not an easy task for anal perfectionists like myself, but who said life has to be easy? Just make it fun!

28 responses to SOCS: Questioning Levels

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Good questions. Nicely done. I find myself bouncing between those extremes, looking, perhaps for a nice spot in between to land. I’ll give you a few bonus points for making me think, but not too many, ‘cuz you’re making me think on a Saturday – let’s say 35 😉

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    Even without the thought-provoking words, you get top marks from me for Thunderstruck. Turn up the volume!!!

    So many great lines, impossible for me to pick just one as a favourite …. well, except for the cake. I always pick cake 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Seeing AC/DC live has always been on my bucket list. They were in Chicago a few years ago and I failed to take advantage of that. Maybe some day before Brian Johnson loses his voice or Angus is too old to wear shorts and stomp his feet.

      Cake…Mmmm…cake.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Thunderstruck was one of my favourite running songs guaranteed to pick up my pace regardless of how tired I might be.

        I’m afraid I’ve never been much of a concert-goer. My hearing is too sensitive and on those rare occasions I went, even earplugs weren’t enough.
        … but I can still enjoy 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I’m heading out to a music festival this afternoon, but I don’t think it will be quite as raucous and loud as an AC/DC concert. After the latter, I probably wouldn’t be able to hear for two days.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s pretty much how is goes Judy. One day we’re on the mountain high and the next day we fall into the well. It’s always good that there’s somebody or something to rescue us. 🙂

  3. marianallen says:

    Super! I’ll have some cake, too. Maybe my snake can scare the guy’s horse, and the horse will dodge, and the guy will drop his cake right into my cake-hole! Yum! But, srsly, well-done, you!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! I tell ya, snakes come in handy at times. I hope it’s chocolate cake. Or lemon raspberry. Or any kind of cake with butter cream frosting. 😁

  4. joey says:

    Thunderstruck is The Mister’s anthem 😀
    I loved this piece — I had answers to every one, but on this: “With the razor-sharp tongue of a hate-filled pro,
    Or the respect and wonderment of a loving husband and wife?” I thought BOTH. lol
    I thought the ending was particularly charming.

Leave a Reply

