One-Liner Wednesday: Happy Heart

This certainly is true…in my humble opinion.

One can choose how their heart feels, no matter the playing field.

Are my circumstances perfect?

No.

Are anyone’s circumstances perfect?

Probably not.

As a human, I have freedom of thought and freedom to choose how I feel about my status and environment.

I can wallow in misery and defeat when life hands me lemons…or I can turn the yellow fruit into meringue pie.

I can feel sorry for myself when faced with roadblocks…or I can take the scenic drive that winds past an incredible view to an awesome bike path.

I can be angry over the things I have no control over…or I can take myself out to lunch with a good friend who makes me laugh and snort.

I can be bitter about imperfection or I can have faith that perfect is waiting for me in a heavenly world.

I can be mired in muddy negativity…or I can choose to be positive and happy every day that I live and breathe.


What about you, peeps? How do you look at life and your circumstances? How do you make your heart feel happy?


This post has been brought to you by a positive thought process and Linda G. Hill’s “One-Liner Wednesday.”Β All you need to play along every Wednesday is an awesome one-liner and follow a few rules. Birds on a wire are not required, but make sure you link back today’s post to HERE so the rest of us #1linerweds peeps can read it.

25 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Happy Heart

  1. dweezer19 says:

    This is my outlook as well Mary. The key to amy door is always within our grasp. Looking within offers the most revealing view. Happy Wednesday!

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    I like that line “One can choose how their heart feels, no matter the playing field” … and the key word in there was “choose”.

    Today the sun is shining and I choose to spend my day with a smile πŸ™‚ I hope your do too!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I absolutely have a smile, Joanne. It’s the first day this year I rode my bike to work. The sky is blue, the sun is shining and there is no rain in sight.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I hope so! I’m on vacation next week and will be exploring a new trail. I need material for the blog πŸ˜‰

  3. Dan Antion says:

    This is a great reminder, Mary. I am happy to wake up and be able to get up, each day. There is no point in dwelling on, as you say, what you can’t control. There are always ways to experience a little joy. I have to add, I don’t know why the expression ever went with “lemonade” when they could have used “meringue pie” instead. Oh life, hand me some lemons πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I just commented to Joanne that I was able to ride the bike into work today. So happy! Now, if someone would bring in lemon meringue pie, it would be a deliciously yummy day.

  4. JoAnna says:

    Great quote! Happiness of the heart is something I can strive for… or rather, relax into. For me, it’s the underlying thoughts that affect my feelings. I ask myself, is that thought helpful? What’s another way to think about it? And then of course, BREATHE.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Breathing is very important! I have a message near my work computer about breathing and letting go. It helps if I read it!

  5. I live my life, and try to get others to, in a continual golden thread of Two Choices.
    At each moment of the day you are faced with two choices:
    Get out of bed … or stay there?
    Have a coffee or a shower?
    Toast or cereals?
    Walk or car?
    Be miserable about having to work or happy that I get to spend time doing stuff and getting paid for it?

    On and on the choices go. It’s up to us to make the right choice.
    Then, after making that choice, we can’t moan about it because well … we chose it! Free will.

    Life is a series of two choices.
    GREAT post BikerC. Love it.
    It grabbed my attention and kept me reading through to the end. Fabulous read.
    Sending squidges ~ Cobs. x

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks so much for your insightful comment, Cobs. I feel blessed that I live in a country of free choice and even more so that I can happily engage free will. These are our own choices and we must take responsibility for them, but also rest easy in them.

  6. joey says:

    I actually have a recent draft about this very matter, not that I don’t go on about it from time to time. Happiness is a choice. Choosing to look for silver linings, to re-frame situations, to count blessings, is an essential part of living well.
    Stuff always happens. We don’t get to choose which bad stuff happens. We DO have choices about our reactions.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It might be time to post that draft, Joey! I’ve been working on my reactions the last couple of years, mostly on the job. I had been letting stress and other people make me a little too crazy…and it was always something I had no control over. I decided that the only person suffering was me, so I’ve been trying to breathe more and let go of those situations and people. It doesn’t always work, but I’ve felt a lot calmer in recent months. This really is a choice.

      • joey says:

        I may. I have to feel it, ya know? Like feel it’s the right time to share.
        Thanks for the encouragement.
        I’m glad it’s working for you, it’s become a BIG part of my life.

  7. I do get upset when things go wrong because I am a planning person. I plan things but I can’t predict what life plans for me. I do get frustrated easily but I’m back on track in few minutes with my plan b.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s always good to have a Plan B, Sharukh. I tend to know where you come from in regard to planning – I tend to be a perfectionist, which means I like everything to go smoothly. When it doesn’t, that’s when I have to take a deep breath (or three or four) and go with the flow…or plan B!

Leave a Reply

