Thursday Doors: The Florist

It’s almost flower planting time here in Zone 4. By the time Memorial weekend arrives at the end of May, most gardeners and plant/flower lovers will have thrown their favorite flowers and vegetables into the ground or in pretty clay pots. I’m a plant/flower lover with not-so-pretty plastic pots.

It made sense for me (my car insisted) to make a slight detour on Saturday to check out a local florist’s early offerings in the Garden Center, greenhouse, and gift store. And to make note of a few interesting doors.

I lusted after wanted both the calla lily and the hanging basket of impatiens, but it’s been too cold at night to leave them outside. Instead, I kept wandering, taking photos of doors and admiring colorful flowers.

Welcome! Won’t you come inside? You know you must…

You can check out any time you’d like, but you can never leave…

Unless you live in a fairy house…

Or are those hobbit houses? I didn’t see Bilbo or any fairies, so your guess is as good as mine.

I’m going to let the gallery speak for the rest of this adventure. I hope you enjoy and have a happy planting season.

Thursday Doors is a featured event that beautifies the entire world with a plethora of colorful doors and an accompaniment of buildings and other stuff, like flowers. The Master of Thursday Doors, Norm at Norm 2.0, is waiting for you to join him and the rest of his door cult following. Simply click HERE to check out Norm’s door post of the week, then scroll down to find the blue froggie thing. If you click on that, you will find other posts to peruse and incentive to join in.

38 responses to Thursday Doors: The Florist

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    I really liked the weathered wood of the door-leading-nowhere. There is something special about walking around a garden centre … all the colours and sense of possibility. Even a brown thumb like me can get deluded into thinking that a lush beautiful garden is possible.
    It’s been too cold here too to consider having any outside planters yet. Until that May long weekend, it’s always a gamble.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m looking forward to a few more walks through other garden centers in the next few weeks to come up with a game plan or possibilities for the patio. This is a fun time of year…

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        It is a fun time, but also a wheelbarrow full of work! My sister and I were talking about that yesterday when we were contemplating all the yard work still ahead of us. I can’t really complain though since my property is about half the size of her’s.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Oh, Joanne, I LOVE yard work! Maybe that’s because I don’t have a yard or the annual duty of keeping it up. There’s something enticing about digging in dirt, pulling weeds, etc. even though it wants to kill my back. If I lived close to you, I’d be over in a heartbeat to help. Really, I would.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Joanne, I read your post for today (nice!), but my comments disappeared. It’s not you. I’ll have to come back when I can get on the laptop at home.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I checked my spam folder to make sure you hadn’t ended up in there. You weren’t, but I found several others.
        Bad spam filter! Bad!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for the beautiful photos. We haven’t stepped inside doors like that yet this year. This might be a place where you need to withdraw a certain amount of cash and leave the credit cards at home. We go for garden plants and the plans always expand once inside the door.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Dan. I know what you mean about leaving the credit card at home. When I used to shop for the former in-laws, I always bought too much…but didn’t care. It was so much fun and I miss digging in the ground. I hope to get back to that some day.

  3. Jackie says:

    It’s still too cold to put plants out. Very unusual this late in May here in Toronto.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Warmer weather is coming! I finally left for work today without the liner in my jacket or wearing gloves. I’ll send it your way, Jackie!

  4. joey says:

    Great doors post! 🙂
    I am inspired. Since your post about comments, I am slightly hesitant to write too much, but I’m gonna anyway.
    #1 I am more a plastic pot person, too. I’d love to have more clay and ceramic, but if I’m going to spend that kind of money ($20-60) on a pot that holds dirt, well, Imma hafta LOVE it. I’m hoping to go to a particular store for pots. Am hopeful. I only need 458234 more pots, right?
    #2 I am GALLED at the number of heavy expensive pots that don’t have ANY drainage holes? WhaddoIiveinaquarry?!?
    #3 TRAYS SHOULD BE COMPLIMENTARY
    #4 Last Mother’s Day, I sent my mother tons of fairy garden stuff and she had the best time playing with it all. Definitely a win for gifting.
    #5 The weather is not playing by the rules and I may as well just build a terrarium.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Joey, you always leave wonderful comments, so diatribe away!
      1) You need 458235 more pots. Go to the dollar store or Wal-Mart!
      2) I know. What is up with that? Someone is not thinking.
      3) Yes, I agree.
      4) That makes me want to go buy fairy stuff for myself.
      5) It’s warm today! A Joey kind of warm, in the 60’s, but wonderful after the icky, cold weather we had for a few days. I hope you dry up soon.

      • joey says:

        Oh thank you! That’s so nice 🙂
        I dressed for 69 and partly sunny and I should have dressed for 55 and damp cold. I yelled at the sky! Then I yelled at my weather app, lyin to me! It can’t be right, right? I was COLD. LOL Neither me nor my clothes know what’s goin on! 😛
        I came home and got into sweats and fuzzy socks. My nose is icy. I dunno, I give up!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        The weatherman just told me it’s going to be 85 degrees on Monday and Tuesday. Typical Wisconsin weather. One day it’s 55, the next day it’s 85. Go figure!

      • joey says:

        Same. Air last night, heat tonight! But I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great post! It reminds me of how much I’m looking forward to getting over to our local garden center in a few weeks too. Now we just need mother nature to co-operate a little and knock it off with all the rain 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Norm. What is up with the rain? It’s past April, we don’t need any more friggin’ showers. I’ll send today’s sun and warmth toward Canada after it winds across Indiana (for Joey). When it reaches you, blow it over to Dan.

      • jesh stg says:

        For me it is a given. But when hubby is there, he tries to distract me, because he knows what’s going to happen (I am the spender, he’s the saver, lol)

  6. daisymae2017 says:

    Planting season should be here by Memorial Day but my friend lost his whole garden one year so we’re a little bit more cautious with the planting.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s rough to lose an entire garden after the time and effort to plant. I’ve had a few scares over the years, but usually wait until I’m sure there’s no more threat of frost.

  7. Jackie says:

    I’ve slowly been working on my green thumb. I used to kill all my house plants; now I have a little garden and a bird feeder at Dave’s and I have several very alive plants in my place. But now I’m wondering how anyone can afford to do this every year. It’s addicting!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s the thing Jackie. This form of addiction is not cheap. I get among all the pretty plants and I want one of each!

Leave a Reply

