SOCs: Yard of Wishes

They wish upon a star

They could be in out in the yard

Furry beasts, hunters, finding prey

They wish upon hope

The yard, with its long, green scope

Crouching, hunching, waiting for prey

They wish for that glorious day

When they are granted a way

To sneakily catch its squeaking prey

They wish in their sleep

In their dreams so deep

To be in the grassy yard with their prey

Hunting, crouching, stalking, lurking, sneaking, jumping

They wish

They scheme

They plot

And then they give up

For food is more important

Sleep is more important

Having a soft bed is more important

Than the yard and its prey


This poem of kitty cat wishes is being brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday or SOCs. Click HERE to read other SOCs posts of the day and consider joining in after reading the rules. The main rule to remember is, “Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.” Not an easy task for anal perfectionists like myself, but who said life has to be easy? Just make it fun!

23 responses to SOCs: Yard of Wishes

  1. Cute poem – There’s gotta be bonus point for poetry, right?

    Our cats were entertained this winter by watching cat videos. I actually had to intervene at one point after Mr. Black sat for an hour with his neck craned upward, a mere 10 inches from the tube. “I think that’s enough viewing for one day, Mr. You’ll fry your eyeballs sitting like that!”

    Now, like your kitties, they sit at the window watching the real deal at the bird feeder.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve never tried using cat videos in the winter, probably because I’m afraid Gibbs or Ziva would jump at the screen. Mr. Black must be addicted to sit that long and stare at the TV. Usually kitty minds don’t concentrate on one thing for more than five minutes.

      • you make a good point – the TV screen has a few paw prints – and once I caught Oscar trying to get in behind the monitor (where the bushes are, you understand, so he could ambush the birds.)

  2. Dan Antion says:

    MiMi and MuMu are in the windows as I read this, and the words are perfect. Nicely done, Mary. I love that photo at the top.

    We had one cat, Oreo, who always tried to escape into the yard, and often succeeded. His little brother, Cookie, got out one time. He looked around and seemed to say “whoa, where’s the pillow?” and ran back in.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve been contemplating again about getting Gibbs on a leash and taking him outside to the grass since he loves being outside on the patio. But I always worry that he’s going to be too frightened. I guess I would never know unless I actually do it.

      • Dan Antion says:

        One of Faith’s cats goes out right in front of her door to eat grass. The other one ran out once and hid under a dumpster.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Our apartment door opens to the parking lot, so I only worry about cars and a scared feline and claws…

  3. Your lovely poem captures my 3 cats perfectly. Without too much anthropomorphizing, I think my elder cat (16) has never forgiven me for bringing him in the house at 10 years old, when the coyote “herd” starting sitting in my front yard…waiting for their breakfast (my cat) to confidently saunter by…

      • Yeah they are seriously BRAZEN! Sit right in my front yard!! Can’t blame the coyotes though. I live along a wide 5 mile long greenbelt that used to be surrounded by undeveloped land and now, mini McMansions are happening everywhere. The coyotes are being pushed into the people occupied neighborhoods all along the greenbelt. My cats instantly became indoor cats the first time I witnessed a neighbor’s beloved pet go by in the mouth of a coyote. YIKES!!

  4. Elise says:

    Lovely poem! Really like how well it captures a sentiment I’m sure every indoor cat feels.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Elise. As I get ready for work every morning, those two are greatly focused on their wishes, especially this time of year. Lots of birdies outside the window!

Leave a Reply

