One-Liner Wednesday: Beer

“I need a beer more than I need pomp and circumstance.”

Eight beer samplers lined up on a table

I’m not much of a drinker.

But I like to talk a good story.

Last week was crazy busy…and my boss wasn’t even around. By Friday, I felt good about what I had accomplished; however, the stress of it all had my shoulders pinned to both ears. Facebook friends noted that I required a foam roller and a beer. The foam roller and I had a date Friday evening, but the beer was nowhere to be found. (For more information on foam rollers see Dan Antion’s hilarious post of today.)

Earlier that day, I had an email exchange with three friends from work. We are located in different offices, so don’t see each other except for training and meetings. Plans were being finalized to take a Friday off and meet in Green Bay at Titletown Brewery for lunch, suds and general shenanigans. The four of us love shenanigans, but I’m already salivating over a cold brew.

One of the four hooligans friends, Sandra the Queen, was unsure at first if she could be there (something about taking a family member to the airport, family is more important, yadda, yadda). Then she proclaimed she was working half a day and would meet us at noon, although I had suggested 11:30 am to beat the lunch crowd.

I proclaimed I would still arrive at 11:30 instead of noon, because, after all…I need beer more than I need pomp and circumstance (from the Queen).

Que music…

 

Land of Hope and Glory, Mother of the Free,
How shall we extol thee, who are born of thee?
Wider still and wider shall thy bounds be set;
God, who made thee mighty, make thee mightier yet,
God, who made thee mighty, make thee mightier yet.

 

Did you know…

The music to which the words of the refrain “Land of Hope and Glory” below are set is the “trio” theme from Edward Elgar’s “Pomp and Circumstance March #1.” The words were fitted to the melody on the suggestion of King Edward VII who told Elgar he thought the melody would make a great song. When Elgar was requested to write a work for the King’s coronation, he worked the suggestion into his Coronation Ode, for which he asked the poet and essayist A.C. Benson to write the words. The last section of the Ode uses the march’s melody.

But let’s get back to beer…

It will be another nine days before shenanigans begin and we are able to imbibe as a group of royal friends. If it’s a nice day, we may head over to the tap room and sit outside in the sun, overlooking the Fox River, a Johnny Blood Red or CTRL ‘ALT’ DELETE in hand.

There will be no music of the king.

No tiaras for a princess.

None of the pompous attitude that comes from a queen.

No.

There will only be friends eating, laughing, enjoying a beer, and having a good time.


This1linerwedsbadgewes rambling, drunken post comes to you via royal friends, a day off and BEER. It’s also being brought to you by Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

29 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Beer

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You bet, Judy. I honestly can hardly wait. A good snorting laugh with friends is long overdue. And so is the beer.

  1. Help! I’ve fallen into a sharing/linking/crediting wormhole – so I will just say this: which came first, the chicken or the foam roller?

    [copy and pasted from Dan’s. Because I want to give credit due where it’s due, but don’t know who started what! And there is no “cc” option on comments!]

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I knew that it would drag my special blogging friends in. I’m just surprised that you beat Dan.

      Oh, wait a minute…I guess bartenders are the first to arrive 😉

  2. Ally Bean says:

    I like beer, too. Better than other alcoholic beverages, and much more than pomp and circumstances. Shenanigans are always on my To Do List– and when friends ask, I’m there. Your Friday sounds like perfection to me. And now I’m off to learn about foam rollers…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      These days, I stick with beer and brandy old fashioned’s, depending on the establishment. There’s one place in Appleton known for their selection of beer, but they also make the best old fashioned. It’s a difficult decision when I go there.

      • Ally Bean says:

        I’ve never had a brandy old fashioned, only the bourbon kind. Must look into this drink the next time I’m out. Sounds yummy.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        It’s delicious if you get a good one! I’ve tried bourbon and I was not sold on it. I think I’m taking after my mom. She was a lifelong brandy aficionado.

      • dweezer19 says:

        I recently had a Mexican Old Fashioned made with tequila and tequila soaked cherries. Old Fashioned means “liquor with a shot of liquor”. 😉

      • dweezer19 says:

        I recently made some Bourbon soaked cherries. They really do make an Old Fashioned good.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    “for lunch, suds and general shenanigans” – There aren’t enough shenanigans around here. I hope I can make it ti Titletown Brewery at some point. I’ll even nod in respect to the various memorabilia. Thanks for the shout, and enjoy the good times!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There has to be a reason for you to come to Green Bay at some point. IT conference? Meet-up with the bro? Beer? You’re welcome, Dan, and I will!

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        As we start to greet warmer weather, spending more time with good friends sounds like a great formula for good times.

  4. joey says:

    I did NOT know that! Interesting tidbit!
    I like beer and friends. Great combo! Beer + Friends = Laughing 😀 Even you and I can do that math!

  5. LindaGHill says:

    I had no idea there were words to “Pomp and Circumstance” – but now I have the tune stuck in my head. Thanks, Mary! 😉 😀

Leave a Reply

