Focused

img_20170218_101105

Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it. ~Greg Anderson~

I have one very focused cat.

For those of you that have been visiting my blog the past few years, you know that Gibbs likes to occasionally hang out in the shower stall.

Whether it be melting ice, a yoga mat hung over a drying rack, the shadows that dance across the white fiberglass interior, or water dripping down the drain, this is part of his domain that brings fascination and focus.

I have no idea what Gibbs saw in that drain or the droplets of water, but he sat and stared at it for what seemed like an eternity. The focus exhibited here is doggedΒ feline determination, a harmless way to stay out of trouble, and an admirable exercise in keeping tuned to the task at hand.

There are days that I covet this type of focus, the kind that allows one to complete projects without a wandering mind. Last week, while attempting to wear three hats at work, I felt both determined focus on completing many tasks and the wandering thoughts of, “Are we done yet? What’s for lunch? I need coffee. It’s so nice out, I wish I had the day off. How many times do I need to do this? Could people just leave me alone? I need another piece of chocolate.”

Take your mind off the problems for a moment, and focus on the positive possibilities. Consider how very much you are able to do. ~Ralph Marston~

I have to admit that although the work week was stressful and hectic, by Friday I had accomplished much and felt good about leaving work at a normal time.

Caught up? No, never. That would require 10-12 hour days and staring at the computer on Saturday. There’s simply too much for one person to consistently stay on top of day after day while attempting to do the work of three. That’s why I’m going to chain my co-worker to her desk when she gets back from Florida.

She can focus on her work and I will be able to focus on mine.

Meanwhile, I suspect Gibbs will be checking out the shower stall again and placing his steely gaze on either an inanimate shadow or moving liquid. If he really wants to focus on something productive, he could try sleeping past 4 a.m. or not waking up his human before the alarm goes off.

Just sayin…

20 responses to Focused

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    Gibbs, Gibbs, Gibbs …. he’s such a ‘cat’ πŸ˜‰
    I love watching a cat intently focused on something … oops, what does that say about me?

    LOVE the picture ❀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, Gibbs is such a cat when he’s not acting like a dog. :-p

      Thanks Joanne. Gibbs is so photogenic, it’s difficult to not get a good photo of him. I could hardly believe how long he stared at that drain. It’s one of those times when I really wonder what he’s thinking.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Gibbs would get along well with MiMi. She “helped” me install the shower stall in our basement, and she periodically visits the stall to check out, I don’t know, ask Gibbs. I no longer think about getting caught up. I wish I had the ability to focus, on anything, as well as our cats. Even Maddie will focus on a sound or a scent and just stand there – at 4:00am – when she’s supposed to be doing something – and sniff and listen. Fortunately, the Mrs is out with her.

    I hope your absent coworker returns this week.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That kind of animal focus remains a mystery to me. I wonder if Gibbs is just “bored” and looking at water going down the drain is better than looking out the window or pestering Ziva. I sure wish I had that kind of boredom for a day…

      If my co-worker doesn’t return on Wednesday, she will be on my short list. πŸ˜‰

  3. joey says:

    He’s a beautiful cat. I often wonder what our cats see that we don’t. If we saw what they saw, would we even be able to get anything done? Perhaps we’d sleep 16 hours a day and chase our tails?
    I relate to your lack of focus when there are too many irons in your fire at work. Sometimes this really nags me. One cannot be focused on the details when distracted, and too many irons make for distraction and unfinished or erred details only create more work later. :/

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ll inform Gibbs of your admirations. I’m up for sleeping 16 hours…but then again, I’d get nothing accomplished if I did that. I’ll save the long-term sleeping for when I’m 90 and in the nursing home. No worries then about focus other than to make it to the bathroom on time.

      • joey says:

        I’ve read older people don’t sleep as much as they do often. :/ I am concerned.

  4. dweezer19 says:

    I love it. I hope your coworker comes back at all. Florida weather has been quite lovely the past week. πŸ˜‰πŸ’•

  5. Ally Bean says:

    Cats are the best. They can go from totally focused to completely indifferent in the toggle of a switch. Hoping your co-worker returns refreshed, so that you can focus on something else.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, I hope so too, Ally. I’m in need of catching up on my own work! Gibbs was at the shower again this morning, except he was lapping up water from the door frame. Must have tasted better than the fresh water in his bowl.

  6. John Holton says:

    Is that Gibbs? He’s cute.

    We have a few cats and they like to get into cabinets and knock the stuff out, so we tie the doors shut. One of ours was intent on chewing the string off, and every time we’d see her, she’d be chewing on this piece of string. Finally, she bit through the string, and now she walks around looking kind of lost. It’s like her purpose was to chew through the string, not to get into the cabinet. I think we need to re-tie the doors so the poor kitty has something to do.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL, John! You have a chewer who needs a new hobby!

      Yes, that is Mr. Gibbs. He’s very cute and handsome and he knows it. It’s the reason why he thinks he can get away with being naughty. πŸ˜›

  7. LB says:

    It’s been a few weeks since I’ve visited, and I’m so glad I arrived to see this image. It’s a great shot, and your words are on point!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Laurie. I appreciate such positive feedback from as wonderful a photographer as you. I hope all is well in your neck of the woods!

Leave a Reply

