Shadowing of Spring?

Over at No Facilities this morning, Dan gave his readers the duality of a Florida sunset from a business trip and this past week’s snowpocalypse in the Northeast. The only good thing about the snow photos was pretty girl Maddie, the queen of her backyard mountain.

Given a choice, I imagine Dan would prefer to be back in Florida where there are no snowblowers to be found and the weather is a tad bit warmer.

A reply to my comments, from Dan, included, “Think spring.”

Okay, I shall. I will. I did.

In salute to a forthcoming spring (36 days and counting) and with the intent to add a late submission to the weekly photo challenge of shadow, I took a lunchtime stroll on the walking path, soaking in the smell of earthiness and warm rays, and capturing a few photos.

img_20170213_115153427

Unlike the Northeast, it’s been fairly nice in Wisconsin. Today’s high, in the upper 30’s, is about 10 degrees F above normal for this time of year. Add in blue skies and the much-needed sun, and there wasn’t much about this day that would keep me indoors during 45 minutes of free time.

img_20170213_115141678This me. Me and my shadow.

The last time I walked this path, it was covered with snow and black ice. Today, most of that had melted, with only a few wet patches. The wind was slightly bitey on the way out, but not a factor on the way back. By the time I returned to the office, I was warm and ready for a plated cold salad.

Yes, I thought of spring for Dan, for myself, for all of the robins who want to come home. It’s starting to feel and smell like it, although I know how fickle our weather can be during the waning days of winter. The meteorologistΒ is predicting a weekend where the high will be 50 F, which is waaaaay above normal. I’ll take it and try not to think or utter the “S” word for fear of a Mount Maddie in my own backyard.

23 responses to Shadowing of Spring?

  1. Dan Antion says:

    At least our 5-day run-in with Old Man Winter had some benefits. I’m not sure when we’ll be walking at lunch, but I’m vicariously enjoying yours. I do like lines, so the shadows in the winter are always interesting. Thanks for the ping πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome! I had one more photo with shadow and great lines, but my laptop decided to have a mini stroke and delete it. Or perhaps it was operator error! πŸ˜‰

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        I just checked our forecast and we’re expecting a warming trend by the weekend. Woohoo! Thank you warm west winds!! πŸ™‚

  2. joey says:

    Well that’s nice πŸ™‚
    We have unseasonably warm weather, too. This weekend’s supposed to be darn near dreamy!
    I’m glad you got out and about in the sunshine!

  3. Great images. I have never ever been in the snow, but I believe if I have ever got to visit Dan during the winter months, I need to visit you first because I can handle this much snow, not sure if I can handle the amount of snow Dan gets outside his home. By the way, you’re not cycling today?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Don’t kid yourself, Sharukh. We can just as easily get the kind of snow Dan has been digging through lately. We’ve been fortunate of late with nice weather. March is a very unpredictable month, so anything can still happen.

      No bike riding today, but this weekend I might. It’s going to be 50 F both days…Woohoo!

      • I believe I have to research more about your place before commenting. I would love to be in a place as cold as Antarctica, but considering my skinny body structure I’m not sure if I will survive it. I’m glad you are enjoying your temporary nice weather. Over here the summer is just around the corner.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        No worries about researching Sharukh…I’m just glad we’ve come to know each other through blogging. Have a great day!

  4. I swear I could smell the wet concrete and warming soil! We’ve got two or three more months of winter before I can experience that myself.

    Oh, btw, your shoelaces are undone.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh no, not again, Maggie…those darn shoelaces! I may need to perform the double knot procedure next time.

      I love the smell of spring dirt and mud. It’s so rejuvenating!

  5. Ally Bean says:

    I’m Thinking Spring like someone watching Peter Pan and clapping for Tinkerbell. Which is to say, very enthusiastically. We have above normal temps here too, so maybe my thinking is working!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know the groundhog said six more weeks of winter, but I never trust him. I’d rather go with the hope that we’ll have a very nice end to winter and a warm spring.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Enjoy your spring! We still have snow on the ground, so the springy stuff may not return again for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks