Superstition: Weird or No?

“It’s only weird if it doesn’t work.”

Remember the Bud Light commercials and this mantra? If not, take a peek at the video.

As I wrote this post on Sunday, I had a short-sleeved Green Bay Packers #12 shirt over the top of a long-sleeved gold T-shirt. It’s been bringing the team luck the past few weeks; therefore, I continue to don the outfit so as not to cause a rip in the space/time/superstition continuum and cause the Packers to fail.

su·per·sti·tion

“A widely held but unjustified belief in supernatural causation leading to certain consequences of an action or event, or a practice based on such a belief.”

Superstitions and superstitious behavior isn’t solely relegated to football or sports. We all know it’s not safe to walk under a ladder or let a black cat cross our path lest it bring bad luck or an awful day. There are many superstitions that we either tend to give credence to or brush off as downright silly.

lucky_penny_dayWhen you spot a penny on the ground do you pick it up? Does it have to be face up before you bend over?

Do you have beginner’s luck or carry a rabbit’s foot in your pocket?

Have you ever been in fear after breaking a mirror or when the calendar page turns to Friday the 13th?

Crossed your fingers or knocked on wood for luck?

Worn the same power suit or red tie to several job interviews?

dance-twirlSqueal when you find a four leaf clover or manage to save your mother by avoiding cracks in the sidewalk?

Do you twirl around three times, stomp your right foot four times, snap your fingers and rub your stomach while whistling the theme song to Friends every day to ward off demons?

(I may or may not have made that up.)

Superstitions travel the world and through time. From List25:

“In Medieval England, expectant mothers made what they called a ‘Groaning Cheese’ which was a large wheel of cheese that matured for nine months as the unborn baby grew. When the ‘groaning time’ or time of birth came, the whole family would celebrate by eating this cheese until nothing but the outer rind was left. The newborn would then be passed through the rind on Christening day to be blessed with a long and prosperous life.”

Sounds like something that might happen in Medieval Wisconsin to the offspring of cheeseheads.

“When photography was first invented in the early 19th century, people all over the world held the unfounded belief that taking someone’s picture was akin to taking his soul. Thus if an enemy was able to obtain a photograph of you, he not only held your soul but also held a spiritual power over you.”

It’s a good thing the soul capturing superstition didn’t put an end to photography. Think of what a boring world it would be without the family photo album, photo exhibitions, Instagram, Facebook, and photo challenges on WordPress.

The current Catechism of the Catholic Church considers superstition sinful in the sense that it denotes “a perverse excess of religion”, as a demonstrated lack of trust in divine providence, and a violation of the first of the Ten Commandments. ~Wikipedia~

Okay, having been baptized and confirmed in the Catholic Church, I might be in trouble here.

In addition to wearing the gold-colored and Packer shirts on Sunday, Natasha and I engaged in sinful superstitious behavior. Three years ago, Natasha bought a green plastic flamingo and a gold plastic flamingo. Her daughter’s artist friend painted a #12 (Aaron Rodgers) on the gold flamingo and a #52 (Clay Matthews) on the green flamingo. Clay and Aaron (a/k/a Hank and Aaron), have been in attendance on our patio every football season until the Packers play their last game.

clay-and-aaron

If you watched the Packer/Cowboy playoff game on Sunday, you might know it was a close one. Very, very close. A nail biter. I almost stopped breathing due to the anxiety. Toward the end of the fourth quarter, when the Cowboys were attempting to stage a comeback win, Natasha made a comment about flamingos Clay and Aaron. I had taken them down earlier in the week due to 50 m.p.h. winds and had not put them back in their usual place. “That’s why the game is so close. You didn’t put Clay and Aaron back up.”

I almost swallowed my tongue.

On went the shoes and out to the patio I raced. Natasha followed close behind. I grabbed the frozen, metal flamingo legs and pounded them into a flower box filled with icy dirt. On went Aaron, on went Clay, and Dallas scored another touchdown. In my head, I was yelling, “You fool, you may have lost this for the team!”

“It’s only weird if it doesn’t work.”

But then, with mere seconds left, the real Aaron Rodgers threw an awesome pass and Mason Crosby kicked the winning field goal in the last three seconds.

It worked! The presence of the flamingos in their flower box home won the game.

Or was it the T-shirts?

Or maybe it was the fan at the bar with the cheesehead bra and Packer earrings…

What is your favorite superstition, dear peeps? Or daily ritual? Or OCD habit that brings you good luck? Or lucky piece of clothing? Please tell me…I want to know that I’m not alone or weird.


This post has been brought to you by flamingos, two lucky shirts, and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HERE to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

21 responses to Superstition: Weird or No?

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I love this post. Of course, I’m not superstitions. When they postponed the Steelers-KC game until 8:30, I told Faith I wasn’t going to come over. Then I thought that I should, so I did. I was wearing the Steelers shirt I’ve been wearing since the week after that stupid Dallas game in Pittsburgh. I’ll be wearing it Sunday, when I watch the game at Faith’s place. I know it has nothing to do with the outcome up in Foxboro, and I know that game is going to be the most difficult game of the season – if I thought knocking on wood would help, I’d do it.

    Go Packers – Go Steelers – Our destiny awaits in Houston.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! So, I’m not weird! There are many other sports and non-sports fans that have their “good luck” piece of attire, I’m sure. I may have gone over the edge, though with the flamingos.

      Yes, both games will be difficult, but I feel the winds of destiny blowing in the right direction. Let’s hope the winds keep blowing that way and don’t start churning like my stomach on game day.

  2. I love this post too – though I’m not a sports follower I surely appreciate your efforts to support the team!

    I wouldn’t worry about the first commandment – I’m sure I’ve seen pictures of the Big Guy wearing a jersey, too.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have a girlfriend who has a T-shirt that says, “God is a Packer fan.” She’s a pretty devout Catholic, so if that doesn’t get her into trouble, I may have nothing to fear. 😀

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    I LOVED this! You brought a huge smile to my face as I pictured the 2 of you dashing madly to replace the symbolic flamingos before it was too late! Nice save … wait, that might be a hockey term. Never mind, it worked!! 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s only weird, Joanne…

      I’m a little concerned, though, as our office is having Packer Thursday (wear your Packer stuff) instead of Packer Friday due to visitors coming in. I hope that doesn’t mess up the mojo.

  4. joey says:

    I am superstitious. I have all kinds of superstitions. Some of them are common, and some of them are odd — but not as odd as passing a baby through a rind of cheese…

    Now you’re gonna be one of those people who has your flamingos outside enduring harsh weather, aren’t you? Poor flamingos. 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      But the flamingos are green and gold Packer flamingos. They are frozen tundra flamingos. Clay and Aaron endure. They could whip a dozen pink flamingos’ backsides standing on one leg.

      • joey says:

        OH! Well then, obviously they need to stay out! Beg pardon.

        (Had no idea such flamingos existed…)

  5. LindaGHill says:

    I try so so hard not to be superstitious, but there are some things I’m sure I’ll never kick. One of them is the whole knocking on wood thing, and the other is picking up a knife I’ve dropped. I have to wait for someone else to pick it up, and then they’ll have good luck …unless I say thank you to them, then they’ll have bad luck. 😛
    Loved the commercial! It’s the first time I’ve seen it. 🙂 Thanks, Mary!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Linda! I’ve never heard about not picking up a dropped knife. Very interesting….something I’ll have to remember!

    • leendadll says:

      never heard of that knife one. i like that the luck can be changed to bad by saying thank you… lord only knows how many waiters I’ve given bad luck!

      • LindaGHill says:

        You never know. On the other hand, how much bad luck (or food) have you avoided by saying thank you? 😉

  6. leendadll says:

    I think we should immediately resume that groaning cheese tradition!!

    I’m now hooked on putting money outside on NYE so I can “bring fortune into the home in the new year.” No black cat or ladder superstitions. I try not to give an empty purse as a present, or even to charity… always gotta be at least $1 in it. I knock on wood but am not superstitious about it – just a habit (if you say the words; you do the action… and it’s usually formica)

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve not heard of putting money outside on NYE. I guess I messed that up this year. How much money is required to make it worth my while?

      • leendadll says:

        I started, more than 15 yrs ago, with just $1. I’ve upped it every years since and my income has followed. I don’t think it’s going to work this year but who knows, it’s still early.

  7. To answer your questions: no, no, no, no, no, no, no. My parents have lived all their lives on #13 and it’s been going swell. I am sure glad if I find a four-leaf clover though. And I have two figurines, some sort of Mexican cattle (or is it Peruvian?) which sis brought me from her travels, and I have them standing in such a way that their horns touch on one side. They must ALWAYS stand in this way or I go crazy. It is because they represent my amore (Capricorn) and me (Taurus) and our brainstorming. 😉

Leave a Reply

