My People

“Take me back to my people.”

img_20161225_150047566

That was the directive mom gave me on Christmas Eve, when my brother, the girlfriend and I decided it was time to leave.

Mom usually sits in the main living room between meals, among the other residents. On December 24th, we had taken mom in her wheel chair to the front living room of the assisted living facility, where it was just the four of us and we could have a quiet, personal conversation. And warm up by the fireplace. In the main living room, the TV was turned on and there were three other residents present who probably didn’t want to listen to us yammer on and on about stuff that didn’t matter to them.

So, we escaped to talk about home, family, the weather and the status of what was being served for supper. Ninety minutes later, we were ready to head home and mom was ready to get back to her people in the other living room.

On Christmas Day, there was no such order. Instead, mom told the aide who was taking her back to her room, “Now, don’t lose me.” The aide responded with, “Don’t worry, I won’t.”

Good to know.


This post has been brought to you by teeth and Linda G. Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday. Click HEREΒ to see additional one-liners in the comment section. Feel free to play along by posting your own one-liner and linking your post to Linda’s.

1linerwedsbadgewes

25 responses to My People

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I doubt that your mother is the kind of person anyone is going to lose, or lose track of. I think she’d make her presence known.

  2. Good daughter! Taking care of Mom after all the years she took care of you. I heard once that losing your parents is losing your past. That always stayed with me. Happy 2017 and may Mom be healthy and happy in the new year.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think you are right, Judy. I feel I have already lost some of the past since dad is gone and mom only remembers bits and pieces of her life. Then again, there are all of the wonderful memories! Happy New Year and thanks for the good wishes for mom. πŸ™‚

  3. LindaGHill says:

    It’s good to hear she feels at home there with “her people.” My mom is miserable unless she’s with me. And I just can’t look after her. Thanks for sharing this, Mary. You give me hope. πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Linda. Mom either wants to “go home” or she wants to be around the other residents. The latter is a good thing because she used to sit in her room most of the day. At least she’s getting some stimulus from the goings-on in the living room. I’m so sorry your mom is miserable. I hope she can eventually find comfort and peace in her current residence.

  4. joey says:

    I often want to get back to my people without getting lost, too. That Hail Mary thing made me LOL!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Mom has everything sorted according to mom, regardless if it’s confusing to the rest of us. As long as it makes her peaceful, I’m good with it.

  5. dweezer19 says:

    So many many moments that can make us chuckle or weep. Hugs to your Mom. I sure miss my mother in law. Your Mom reminds me of her. Her soul wanted to run outside but she always asked to go back to her room within minutes of being out there.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Mom hasn’t been outside since warmer weather. She has a doctor’s appointment on Monday and I’m hoping that she doesn’t get upset when she feels the cold air.

Leave a Reply

