Midwest Resilience

“No matter how much falls on us, we keep plowing ahead. That’s the only way to keep the roads clear.”

~Greg Kincaid~

img_20161211_093925019

And so it is in the Midwest of the U.S. Living in Wisconsin all of my life, I’ve experienced many days of plowing ahead in my vehicle or following the path of a plow.  The white stuff is a fact of life. Here it can snow anywhere from October to April and, on rare occasion, in May. I don’t mind snow, except when my vehicle doesn’t want to move through it in obedience. Wet snow, the kind that clings to the pine trees, can be beautiful and picturesque, a snow that is worthy of an artistic rendering at the Louvre.

That being said, I do mind the bitter cold, the polar vortex cold. That is never welcome, not even by Northern hemisphere lifers like me.

Mr. Huberman asked us to show a scene depicting resilient for this week’s photo challenge. I thought of many things: the resilience of my 97-year old mom, the resilience of two cats having to suffer eight hours between feeding times, or the resilience of a bicycle that has to carry my bum around for miles on end.

What does make all Midwesterners resilient is having to face winter, having to brave the cold and plow through the snow. We don’t necessarily like all of this, but we carry on. We go to work. We go to church. We shop. We make snow angels and have snowball fights. We buy long underwear, wooly sweaters and thick socks. We make the best of it, we become resilient, because people who live in the Midwest know one thing…

After winter comes spring.

33 responses to Midwest Resilience

  1. I consider myself resilient and tough especially when it comes to winter snow. I’ve plowed through it for so many years, I won’t mention it here. 🙂 But, this year I bailed and right now I’m looking at the sun, the beach, and the surf. I consider 2017 the year I was not only resilient but smart. 🙂 Stay safe.

  2. Sue says:

    I can relate up here in Canada and I agree that having to face cold, harsh winters makes us all the more resilient.

      • Sue says:

        No offence taken. I’d like our air to stay away as well:-). As I type this tonight, it looks like we are in for another week or two of bitterly cold weather. Blech!

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    … and I can’t help but ask myself, why aren’t you somewhere warmer? Categorize me as ‘reluctantly resilient’ 😉

  4. loisajay says:

    I could never go back to living in Jersey. I am so not resilient–I am spoiled by the warmth of FL. Stay strong, Mary!

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I’ll stay “New England” resilient, Mary. I can take the seasonal swings that we get. I don’t know if I could deal with your kind of cold. I have no desire to escape to the warmth of the southern states. It’s funny, my mom moved out to Iowa to be closer to my brother. She seems ok with the cold, but she complains about the wind. Hang in there. May isn’t that far off 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You deal with the frigid cold because you have to, but I’m glad you don’t have to. It’s funny, I don’t want to live in a southern state year around, but they sure seem welcoming from about mid January until mid March. After that, it gets too hot and humid for me.

  6. joey says:

    I’ll keep my Hoosier winters, although last year’s was not my fave. Not enough snow and cold. I have friends up your way, so I know the temps get crazier oftener, and I know that wind bites more, but just the same, at least it ain’t the south 😉 lol

      • joey says:

        LOL I like 20s and 30s too 🙂 I don’t need sunny, but I despise the bitey wind. We had bitey wind on Wednesday and I was not prepared! 36 with bitey wind is just irrelevant, because bitey wind!

  7. PhilRyan says:

    And yet here in the UK a short flurry of snow grinds everything to a halt. I take my hat off to you, Mary for your fine example of resilience. And then rapidly put it back on when I realise how cold that westerly wind is. Brrrrr.

  8. Maxima says:

    I am fortunate to have friends who bring so much joy and craziness to this life. I can’t imagine what it would be like without you cheering me on. Have a great New Year’s eve celebration.

  9. I fully concede that heavy snow takes a certain attitude to endure. Well, I imagine it does, I believe you that it does. Can’t speak from personal experience of course.

    Last night I was picking up the Middle Son from work at midnight and it was 29C. We have a different sort of resilience here….. Mainly one that involves surviving on little sleep over summer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I wouldn’t like your heat either, H. Not a fan of high heat and humidity, just as I’m not a fan of the bitter cold that’s been around this past week. It doesn’t allow either of us to enjoy the outside or sleep in total comfort. I hope the temps mediate for both of us.

Leave a Reply

