We’re Not in Kansas Anymore

“Toto, I’ve a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”

0000-dorothyThat is the correct one-liner from the Wizard of Oz, the epic 1939 movie classic starring Judy Garland. When the general population quotes this memorable line, they don’t always get it right (myself included).

But more on that later.

Last week, I was reminiscing about the days early into my current job. It was 1992. I had left a position in the Business Office at one of our state’s correctional facilities. Although I was fond of the work I performed at the institution and many of the employees, I was not fond of my boss. He liked me and that was a good thing as he could be horrible to people he didn’t like. He’d walk the halls and openly belch and not say one “Excuse me.” It was as gross as his cat hair covered sweater and office chair. This boss would come out of his office at 4:25 and stand by the counters in the front of the office to make sure no one left five minutes (or a second) early.

Unbeknown to me, the act in that last sentence affected me into the next job.

Early into my current position, I wrapped it up for the day and walked to the front of the office. Evidently my watch was a few minutes fast because the wall clock in front was at 4:25 p.m. I sat down on a bench in the waiting area to fulfill my eight-hour obligation.

Then I heard a voice, “Mary, what are you doing?” It was another employee who had walked to the front. He was still busy working, but noticed me sitting there by myself. I answered him, “I’m waiting until 4:30 to leave.” This employee laughed. He knew where I had worked previously, a setting he had also been employed at in an earlier time. And, thus, he said to me…

“Mary, you’re not in the institution anymore. Go home.”

Home was Appleton, not Kansas, but I got his point. It’s not that I was attempting to cheat the system or my time. It was about common sense and the flexibility that came from being outside the walls.

Enough about that, though, let’s get back to movie quotes…

Did you know the exact line that Dorothy speaks to Toto in The Wizard of Oz?

Or was your version somewhat altered?

Watch this VIDEO or read the contents of the page for additional movie quotes that everyone gets wrong, whether they know it or not. Let me know if you’ve been enlightened or if you are a super duper whiz at remembering lines.


For more one-liners from the house of Linda G. Hill, visit her One-Liner Wednesday post and check out the links in the comment section.

29 responses to We’re Not in Kansas Anymore

  1. loisajay says:

    We are old school, Mary; we would never think of leaving 5 minutes early. I still watch my clock and wait until it is at least a minute past time…..just in case.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I commend you on your “old school” ways, Lois. Nowadays, some employees are not quite as dedicated to their jobs and time. I’m in a more relaxed environment at my current job, where we can flex our time…so I can leave five minutes early as long as I make it up somewhere else.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I get to work early and leave on time…just the way my father taught me 🙂

    I tend to get that quote wrong, but at least I understand why I got bonus points today 🙂

    I think, after I retire, I will spend a long time writing about bosses. My current boss is the best (and I’ve already written that) but I had some winners along the way..

    Hav a great day Mary!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Our parents were good examples, weren’t they? I hope to write about my boss next week. She’s retiring and her last day is next Tuesday. Best.Boss.Ever. I’m gonna sorely miss her.

  3. joey says:

    I’m 10-15 minutes early to work almost every day. I’ve been late twice, but no one cares, because I’ve never actually been given a time to show up. Strange, me thinks, but sometimes good, because overturned semi and chasing errant dog…not that I was asked. Not sure anyone noticed, really.
    I usually work a tad over as well, but now and again, if I have plans to pick up the girls or somethin, I turn the service on at 5 til and then start shutting down, locking up. If I can’t get out between 5 and 5:05, I may as well stay til 5:30, cause I ain’t gettin home any quicker.

    Work ethics are important!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m glad to see you are practicing good work ethics, Joey. Bravo! I think only being late twice is okay…some people make daily habits of that and eventually end up without a job.

  4. Joanne Sisco says:

    As you’ve demonstrated, a boss can make or break a job … even one that you really like. I consider myself lucky. I’ve only once had a boss I didn’t respect, nor did I like the job or the company. I left quickly.

  5. kirizar says:

    Are you feeling other-than-worldly as a result of the recent election or has something else inspired you to want to follow a yellow brick road far, far away?

      • kirizar says:

        You know how the sorority girls in horror movies never seem to hear the scary music before heading down into the creepy basement? That’s what real life foreshadowing is like! You have to be on the alert or you miss it.

      • kirizar says:

        Chewing nails is not my OCD twitch of choice. I do rapid-fire channel surfing over the 10 channels I can afford and spectacularly loathe watching. I need better addictions.

  6. sgtcookieblog says:

    On first hearing the line I thought ‘toto’ was an expletive, not realising the dog’s name until later….
    The word ‘work’ makes me come out in a rash (not so much the word but the act of) so I’ll go and have a lie down and send my best wishes that your new President isn’t the Toto he comes across as.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ummm…well…Toto is cute, sooooo…

      I’m hoping he’s not more akin to a donkey.

      Have a lie down for me too. I’m tired.

      • Phil Ryan says:

        Sorry, I accidentally posted under my first blog name but have now changed both (sgtcookieblog and Sandmanstwin) to this one… to hopefully prevent confusion in the future. (Surely the s**tty humour gave me away!)

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Well, yeah, shitty humor and the little avi of your face. Consider me unconfused about this, but never totally unconfused about anything else! 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I watched part of it last year. It’s such a classic and much like “Sound of Music,” I could watch it every year and not get tired of it.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] to Judy, if she hasn’t yet had her coffee, and to Mary (please don’t take away my bonus points), and to all the others who don’t like math, but it’s […]