What if?

I see the smiles of familiar faces on Sunday morning, I feel their hugs and I ask…

00-whatifWhy do we wait for an hour on Sunday to show kindness and love?

What if we hugged our neighbors and strangers and those in pain instead of pushing them away?

What if we said a cheery “hello” to everyone we met instead of a passing nod and mumbled “harumpfff?”

What if we live to serve others rather than serving our own vested interests?

What if we always smiled at everyone who crossed our path?

What if we followed our faith as it was meant to be instead of how we want to mold it to our ideals?


I witness angry people, yelling at their spouses, families and complete strangers, and I ask…

00-whatif3Why are you having a bad day? Is your life that bad?

What if you treated others as you want to be treated rather than what you’ve learned from life’s circumstances?

What if you were patient, instead of grumbling that you are going to be ten minutes late to the televised start of a football game?

What if you would stop honking your horn and making gestures at the driver in front of you instead of being in a big hurry to go nowhere?

What if you spoke with kindness rather than vulgarity?


I witness our current political season and I ask…

00-whatif4How did we get here?

What if we value our ethics rather than the “stuff” that fills our home and the “wants” that fill our hearts?

What if we treated all humans with respect and dignity, rather than treating them as objects of hate?

What if we were always honest with one another rather than being deceitful?

What if we only spoke kind words about others rather than those of slander?

What if government was truly by the people and for the people rather than by and for the greed of special interests?

What if we insisted our politicians behave above reproach rather than following them blindly?


There are days when I see this world as getting darker, its people becoming hateful, and I ask…

00-whatif2What can I…no, what can we do to turn the tide?

What if we stop being self-centered and self-righteous and lend a hand to our neighbors?

What if our heart and spirit were always positive instead of negative?

What if we chose our words carefully rather than blurting them out in a hurtful manner?

What if we made acceptance and tolerance a priority rather than bigoted rejection?

What if we never tagged the word “hate” onto another person instead of subscribing to name-calling?

What if we never bullied one another instead of succumbing to our own inadequacies?

What if we treated the human race as community, one family deserving our favor and honor rather than being mired in our selfishness and fear?


I see wonderful, faithful, good-hearted, loving people and I ask…

00-whatif5Why can’t we all live like this?

As one?

In this climate of unrest, war, hate, animosity, greed, bigotry, narcissism and other reprehensible behavior, how can we be the voice of change?

What if we always loved, accepted, tolerated, smiled and hugged our fellow humans?

What if you would be willing to help?

38 responses to What if?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for jumping in and joining the club, Judy. Changing the political climate is going to be a tough one, both for the politicians and voters. There’s so much animosity and division. Where do we start?

  1. Joanne Sisco says:

    “What if”, indeed!

    Great post, Mary. I too recoil with dismay at all the horrible behaviour I see on the news. Why is it that the egotistical, self-serving, sociopaths seem to bubble up to the top of government and corporations?

    We used to have an expression at work that tone comes from the top. People take their cues from the leadership – whether it’s our parents and teachers when we’re young, or our bosses and political leaders when we’re adults.
    That’s why I look at your leadership campaign with such deep concern. This cannot end well.
    Sorry I’m so pessimistic. It’s almost like it has to get REALLY bad, before it can get better again.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I totally understand, Joanne. People may have to hit rock bottom and lay in the gutter for a while before change occurs. What scares me is when that might happen. I fear for our country, the world and the human race and I wonder why good is not triumphing over evil in a profound way. Or at least why good doesn’t get most of the media attention. Why isn’t that news?

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Mary, you hit it right on the head. Gilles and I are constantly having this argument about the role of media in making a bad situation worse.

        It’s probably a subject that deserves a blog post on its own. Why do *we* give bad news so much attention? Can we focus more on what’s going right? Isn’t there a saying that we get more of what we’re focusing on?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I agree with you. If anyone started up a “positive news” TV channel, I’d tune in.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I really like the Ingersoll quote and I marvel at the fact that it came from an industrialist super-star. So many of today’s business leaders don’t lead anything but the line to the bank. Even the ones that get caught try to shift the blame and then walk away, not in disgrace, but with a pocket full of money.

    I do try to live as you suggest. I’m gonna try harder. Maybe we can’t influence up the chain, but we can make a local difference. Maybe enough of that will be enough.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are correct. So many of today’s big business leaders are concerned with the almighty dollar and how many luxuries they can buy, while they pay employees minimum wage or cut their wage because “times are tough.” You know…they had to sell their beach house in Florida. I admire any company that operates on ethics and takes care of their employees first and foremost. There are companies like that, right?

      The what if’s can only be answered by us as individuals. We have to be the example to our children, friends and anyone else we meet. And hope it somehow influences them to do the same. Perhaps that can be the start of a snowball rolling downhill…

      • Dan Antion says:

        I think there are companies like that. I know Costco has been written about on numerous occasions for being employee friendly. The company I work for is employee friendly, but we’re fairly small.

        I don’t think many people think nearly enough about the example they are setting.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Costco may be on my list of possible part time employers when I retire. After having worked with an ethical and great example of a boss, it would be difficult to deal with the opposite.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, that sounds like a wonderful project, one that could spread to other schools throughout the U.S. I hope it does, that it’s very successful. What an awesome curriculum!

    • Ari Cowan says:

      You post was forwarded to me by choosingmyperspective. Your words are wonderful and reflect a growing awareness of the importance of civility, kindness, understanding, empathy, and compassion. By way of correction, I’m at the International Center for Compassionate Organizations (https://compassionate.center) which is located at and independent of the University of Louisville. We have a video — “Compassion – An Introduction” — that you can view on YouTube (see https://youtu.be/bKrCq3trml8). It’s supportive of the beautiful words in your post.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Thank you for your very kind words, Ari. It’s my hope that the “growing awareness” keeps getting bigger every day. It’s a much happier place.

        Thanks for the link to the video. I will check it out later at home.

  3. joey says:

    I love that you’re so compassionate and kind, I suppose that goes without saying. I don’t know about hugging everyone, or saying something kind of everyone, but I do go out like a beacon of light and I kill people with kindness and I spread positivity because I feel better for doing it. I know if I make bright just a bit of something in my power, there’s a ripple effect.

    But I do intend to rant about politics soon…Sorry 😛

    • bikerchick57 says:

      LOL…you can rant all you want about politics, only because there’s so much material this year. With regard to the hugging, I’m okay with most people unless you have a cold or flu or you were just in the barn shoveling cow poo. Then please stay away. Otherwise, I love to hug people and children that know me and puppies and cats. It’s my nature! 🙂

      • joey says:

        But would you hug people you know you don’t like?
        I’d rather hug strangers than some people, tyvm.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, that would be my ex-husband and Donald Trump. I suppose in that case, I wouldn’t be very compassionate…

      • joey says:

        Uh huh. We all have our huggable limits.

        I for one am sorry your ex fits in a small group with the orange man. 😦

  4. M-R says:

    I am paranoid, now: intolerance and impatience are my two worst faults.
    :-{

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, don’t be paranoid. You know this about yourself, but I highly doubt it’s the type of intolerance and impatience I wrote about. You have a good heart, M-R. I don’t expect you or anyone else to be perfect. In fact, I’m still working on myself…being tolerant of pokey drivers!

  5. Excellent. I’m in. Mitchell and I have a couple of “rules” for our marriage. One is owning our anger/frustrations so that we don’t just spill them onto the other. Another is quickly apologizing whenever we are turkeys. Both help so much when this world gets to be overwhelmingly horrid (and it is these days as I am walking through medicare and taxes.) I also make it a point, when angry at being transferred for the tenth time on the endless miles of phone waiting for the right person, to tell the person that I finally end with, tht my frustration is not with them. And I think them when they help. All these things are pretty easy but go a long way, and now, with people working in our studio, I’ve made it a “rule” of the morning. A check in to moods. Odd, perhaps, but it works. Finally, I am a work in progress but tonglen goes a long way to this practice you are describing. Breathing in the horrid, sending out the sweetness to everyone, even those who you want to hit over the head!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I love the idea of checking in with the people working in your studio…their moods, how they’re feeling. That’s so much better than tiptoeing lightly around someone in grumpy spirits, no one saying a word.

      You and Mitchell have a special connection that you’re able to make rules of civility and forgiveness. Shouldn’t every relationship have these rules?

  6. artmusedog says:

    You pose questions that I have reflected on and no longer belong to any organize religion ~ I follow Taoism ~ thanks for a very thoughtful post.

  7. JoAnna says:

    What if news media reversed it’s percentage of good and bad news and focused more on good things people do, heroic efforts in challenging situations and how people help each other? I believe we would be less stressed, more positive, and better as a society. This blog post is a start.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s an excellent thought and idea. We need more of the good news, less of the bad. It would help to change our perspective of life and the world. Not to bury our hand in the sand about the problems of society, but to give us a better attitude to deal with those problems.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Okay, you’re signed up. The Army of Peace needs your help! Thanks for visiting and your kind words, and thanks for the follow. I appreciate all!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks