Home of the Sun Worshipper

Weekly Photo Challenge: This week, show us where your heart is.

img_20161014_105446735

It’s very interesting that The Daily Post chose the topic of “local” this week and especially today. I took Friday off from work and have spent most of it in my hometown of Waupaca – reliving my youth, finding roots and doing a little local shopping.

The picture for this challenge was taken at the beach on Shadow Lake, where I spent the majority of Wisconsin summers growing up, over forty years ago. The sand is still there, the two trees are still there and I swear that’s the same dock and slide that I used as a child…before I was old enough to swim out to the “big dock” and jump off the “high dive.” These were the days before 30+ SPF suntan lotion and the worry over skin cancer. I used lotion regularly, but tended to look like the highly tanned Coppertone missy with the demarcation lines. I was a sun worshipper.

img_20161014_105421539

The railing was not there forty years ago. I’m not sure of the sense of this since the sand comes right up to the concrete walkway. It’s not like someone is going to fall and break an ankle or a hip. It didn’t seem to go with the rest of the decor. The old, ramshackle smells-like-wet-sand-and-swimsuit shower facility has been replaced by a modern brick building, although I imagine some of the odors remain.

Even though it’s autumn and the beach is closed for about seven months, it felt good to stand at the edge of the sand and bring forth memories of a carefree youth on summer break. Those memories and a bright yellow sun warmed the soul.

I’ll have another post soon to share the rest of the photographs and story of going “home.” Stay tuned.

19 responses to Home of the Sun Worshipper

  1. joey says:

    This is beautifully timed for me, because today I made my annual pilgrimage to the lake where I spent most of my childhood summers, and I, too, stood at the edge of the beach. ❤

    I more enjoy the colors in the trees and the marvelous smell of leaf mold 🙂

    I like to see how things change, usually. Mostly I like to see how things are still cared for. I look forward to the rest of your stories and photos.

  2. I visited with a grade school friend this past week as she was here leaf peeping. I dug through photos and we talked about the ‘old’ days. Lots of smiles to visit the days of our youth. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      We were fortunate and blessed, Judy, to have good childhood friendships and the memories to go with. Glad you could reconnect with your friend.

  3. I’ve always found it really interesting, as someone who lives in a country where most of us live on the coast, to read about so many summers spent by a lake. Looks like a lovely trip back home, M-J. Can’t wait to see and read more.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      When one lives in the middle of a very large continent, lakes and rivers are all we have. I’m lucky to live close to the biggest lake in the state and within driving distance of Lake Michigan and the Mississippi River. There will be more “home” stuff this week! 😃

  4. Dan Antion says:

    It’s funny how this photo supports all of those memories. I think a photo with lots of people and activity, wouldn’t have worked as well. I found myself caught up in those scenes from your youth (although I could have lived without the memory of the shower facility). I went back to the place where we used to vacation on Lake Erie. The crummy little cabins have been replaced by expensive condos. Suffice it to say, the feeling was gone. I’m glad this place remains an anchor for you. Thanks for sharing your day off with us.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I realized, as I was standing there, that summer beach season might not have been a good time to visit…unless I planned on swimming. I would have felt weird taking photos with parents and their children milling about. Being alone on the beach allowed me time to soak it all in and think about the times spent there. It was perfect.

  5. M-R says:

    This is up to your best standard, Mary-Jean ! Not, mind you, that your lesser standard is very much … erhmm … lesser. :-}
    But home, they do say, is where the heart is.
    I wish I could lay claim to knowing mine.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I could probably pick out a few posts that you might call “lesser,” but glad you give this one your seal of approval.

      I must have missed something along the way. Do you not know where you were born? Or is it some place you aren’t able to visit?

      • M-R says:

        When my beloved father died, home ceased to exist. Our actual home had been sold and razed to the ground well prior; and Perth is now a buzzing hive of a city that I simply wouldn’t recognize. Haven’t been there since a few days in 1986 – and even then it was totally strange.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I’m sorry to hear that, M-R, but you still have your memories and perhaps a few photos?

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks