Gray Masterpiece

“The smallest feline is a masterpiece.”

~Leonardo da Vinci~

img_20160924_154331760

And so is a big one.

A big, gray whiskered one.

He is cat, through and through.

A work of art too.

Two hundred and forty bones.

Eighteen claws that are honed.

A motor that purrs.

A swishy tail that whirls.

Two bright green eyes fixed on prey.

Bristling soft fur of gray.

He hears a high-pitched squeal.

Oh boy! It’s time for his next meal.

23 responses to Gray Masterpiece

  1. Dan Antion says:

    “Um, while you were working on this post, I was getting hungrier and I’m still kind of itchy, nd it’s almost time for my nap – so…” – Gibbs

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Dear Gibbs, I worked on this post last Sunday. You’ve had several opportunities to eat since then. I suggest you cool your little kitty jets and go take a nap. I’ll be home in a few hours. You will not die before then.

      Love, Mom

  2. Joanne Sisco says:

    A motor that purrs.
    A swishy tail that whirls.

    … that pretty well sums it up 🙂

    Oh, … and the meow, chirp, squeak, meow that starts when he realizes food is coming 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s probably a good thing the felines don’t speak our language. The meows and squeaks are far less annoying than, “Feed me! Feed me! Feed me!”

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Theo has been particularly vocal this week. He’s been on an absolute rant. I can’t figure out if he’s happy or annoyed.

        Yeah – you’re right. It’s better not to know 🙂

  3. M-R says:

    My tummy is a-ching
    Though I be Grey King.
    Do not be cru-el:
    Don’t feed me gru-el !
    Love them absurdies,
    Wee little birdies …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I do not feed you hash
      Your diet costs me cash
      Lots of cash
      From my stash
      So leave the birdies alone
      Go chew on a bone
      or something…

  4. LB says:

    Your poem is wonderful! Seriously, I envy that you can write poetry.
    The image is super, too

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you, Lori, for such a positive comment. I can’t take all of the credit…Gibbs is always a great muse for poetry and photos.

Leave a Reply

