One-Liner Wednesday: Breakage

Broken_Plate_Black_Background“Save the pieces!”

It’s a phrase I use when something breaks:

I rarely use it on myself. When I am the culprit, it’s most likely “damnitall” or “sh*t” “shoot.”

Anyhow, if the term sounds familiar, you may be reliving the 2006 release of “Leave the Pieces,” by The Wreckers. That was a #1 song on Billboard and successful album from the duo of Michelle Branch and Jessica Harp. Unfortunately, even with the success of this album, they went back to being solo artists soon after.

But that’s not the one-liner.

Have you ever been in a restaurant and heard the distant breakage of dishes that a waiter or waitress dropped? Have you ever been in a grocery store when junior dropped the pickle jar in an attempt to help mom load the cart? Have you ever been in a gift shop and witnessed a fumble-fingered attempt at putting a piece of china back on the shelf? Have you ever heard the tinkle tinkle of a broken martini glass because the bartender was moving too fast?

Uh-oh. Save the pieces, people.

I doubt there would ever be a reason to do that unless it’s someone’s treasured item only super glue and steady hands can save.

I don’t have recollection of who originally quoted this phrase. It may have been my father, or my ex-husband, or some guy on TV, or the lady behind me in the checkout line when the cashier dropped little Susie’s teacup set.

Don’t cry Susie. We’ll leave the pieces on the floor for the clean-up crew and call for a new teacup set. I promise I won’t drop it again.


One-Liner Wednesday is brought to you by Linda G. Hill. Make sure you go HERE to catch the links to all of the one-liner posts.

1linerwedsbadgewes

19 responses to One-Liner Wednesday: Breakage

  1. LindaGHill says:

    I remember hearing my mother say it when a piece of china with sentimental value was dropped. The pieces were large, fortunately. It’s funny how some things break well enough to be glued back together and yet some smash into a gazillion pieces. It seems the older, the more durable. Go figure. 😛
    Thanks for this, Mary. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Linda. I’m glad your mom was able to save the pieces of her china to put back together. I have some delicate pieces from my parents that I keep safe in the hopes I never have to use the super glue.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That is very strange! Thanks for sharing the graph, although I’m not sure what all of those statistics mean. What pieces are they saving?

  2. Dan Antion says:

    A friend’s grandfather used to save the pieces, glue things back together and then write on the bottom “Broken by Mary on 9/7/16” or some such… – We were cleaning his house after he passed away and it was truly comical. Great one-liner 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s awesome, Dan. I wonder if he wrote this down as a reminder…as in “you’re on my list for breaking my stuff,” or if that was his sense of humor. Either way, it made a mundane and sad task pretty funny.

      • Dan Antion says:

        He seemed to have a mean streak. I think he tallied it all up and adjusted his will 😉

  3. joey says:

    I’ve never heard that phrase. I kinda like that song, though.

    I have a friend who makes things from broken dishware and I love that about her. 🙂

  4. Not sure about the phrase but I have glued my share of broken blue glass back together (Gorilla Glue).

    And the SONG! First country one I have liked in a while. I’m generationally wired to be pretty hard core Rock or Blues, but this song was great. What a shame they split up.

    Thanks for including it!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are welcome and it was a shame The Wreckers broke up after one album. They were one of the few country groups or artists that I have liked. I’m usually a rock and blues chick too. The one-liner reminded me of the song and now I have to go find the CD. Haven’t listened to it in a long time.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        Hopefully I never get a chance to 😉

        In restaurants when a server breaks glass, mostly I hear people clapping. Maybe I need to frequent better places 😉

  5. I’ve not heard that phrase but I answered yes to all those questions (as long as you exchange “martini” for “wine”). Oh, except that usually it’s not Junior who drops the pickle jar but yours truly. And I think it was pasta sauce. And juice. And yoghurt. 🙄

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You buy yogurt in a glass jar? Hmmm…very interesting. I tend to drop and break things at home rather than at the grocery store. It’s less embarrassing that way.

      • Okay, that one didn’t actually fit the theme, now you mention it. It didn’t break, as in broken glass, but it did break open and spill yoghurt all over the floor.

Leave a Reply

