A Time of Change

And so it goes this time of year, when September rolls around.

IMG_20160902_110316749

Plant life doesn’t look quite as good as it did in July.

Vegetation and humans are marching toward a new season, a new time.

It’s a time for dark red leaves and white berries and wondering how many days are left for a spin on the trail.

It’s time for the last vestiges of trail-side flowering,

IMG_20160829_121357646

and for the sun to sink a little deeper than it did at the same time last month, hurrying shadows across concrete and tar.

It’s time for Queen Anne’s Lace and milkweed to dry up,

IMG_20160829_120857787

while goldenrod hangs onto the background.

IMG_20160829_121057354

It’s the time of year when leaves of green begin to change,

when football is on the minds of fans,

and school is the existence for children and teachers.

It’s the time when summer temps can’t make up their mind,

when autumn deftly encourages heat’s looser grasp,

and I think about wearing shoes and socks.

It’s the time of change.

IMG_20160902_110312935

Happy Labor Day to my fellow working peeps.

Happy Change-of-Seasons to everyone.

35 responses to A Time of Change

  1. How fascinating – and I just went on my first post-summer bike spin yesterday. I was too hot until now. And socks start with November 1st and humidity.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve wanted to go for a bike ride all weekend, but haven’t had the opportunity. We’ve had almost perfect weather…not too hot, not too cold. I’d like to bottle this up and keep it for sock days!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Happy Labor Day Mary. Our forecast is showing a return to sky-high temps, as the hurricane drifted out to sea without leaving us any rain and summer makes a grand last stand. You’re right, change is coming. The snow shovel I never put away is suddenly, in the right place, early for a change 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You may need that shovel. The early prediction is for above normal snowfall this winter. Or maybe that’s only here and you will have a mild winter. In any case, I’m going to enjoy the remaining days of summer. Off for my own walk, sans cats…

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    No question that change is in the air – you can see it, smell it, and feel it.
    This week brings us back to hot daytime temperatures again, but the nights tell a different story 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve been loving the nights, sleeping with the windows open, feeling coolness on my face in the morning. I’d like it to stay this way for another couple months 😉

  4. loisajay says:

    Happy Labor Day, Mary! I love the photos–especially the milkweed and Queen Anne’s Lace. It is still hot here in sunny FL, but the mornings feel cooler. I am ready for autumn. Bring it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Autumn is just around the corner. Within a month, all of the leaves will change color or start dropping to the ground. In two months, the leaves will be gone and I will be wearing sweaters again.

  5. I loved this post. Gave me a completely different perspective. I suppose I would have eventually arrived at my version of your gracious acceptance of the inevitable changes but I was dragging my feet for sure. You’ve inspired me so I’m heading out with my camera right now…oh wait, it’s f-ing freezing out there!!

    In the Northwest, we went from sweating in the shade to heavy sweaters and rain gear over night!!

    But I will persevere! Thanks.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, I’m sorry about your weather, but photos of rain and puddles can also be very beautiful. I say put on your heavy sweater and boots and get out there. When you get back, have a hot cup of tea, a cookie, and revel in your accomplishment.

      Thanks for visiting and for your comments. I will be gracious until the first of winter’s cold arrives. Then maybe not so much… 😉

      • yeah and I need to complain for the first few days after the big weather switch. Then I will love it!! Headed out now. Thanks.

  6. Although I love the bright colors of spring, summer takes a toll on me, so for now I’ve had enough and I look forward to the reds and yellows of fall. ☺

    I now know why I havent been seeing your work. I accidentally unfollowed you. Sorry!!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s okay. Are you sure you unfollowed me? It may have been the WordPress gremlins at work. One of my fave bloggers stopped showing up in my email and her comments were going to spam. Sometimes it’s like Twilight Zone around here 😉

      • Leonas Lines says:

        I love the warm days of Summer but this Summer was excessively hot. I am looking forward to the colors of Fall though.

  7. Great pictures. I love the nature around and I wish to bicycle around like I used to. Seems like autumn is knocking the door early.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The coolness of late summer is holding off. We hit 80F today, which is above normal. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for pleasant temps this fall.

  8. joey says:

    Lovely photos and even lovelier words. It’s a good post for me. I think you know we went north this last weekend, and it was fall-er there than here. I love it though, can’t wait. Favoriteness coming soon! 😀

  9. Def feeling the seasons change and while the plants have started shedding, fall gives us so much to look forward to!
    We started biking here again since the weather is much more tolerable than it was all summer long.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Enjoy your bike rides and nicer weather, and take advantage of all that fall has to offer. Thanks for stopping by, Naimah!

  10. I was really enjoying this until you mentioned football. We’re currently into the finals season and the local team just beat their archrival by two points last night in a nailbiter finish. (Since the opposition had the ball in the last 4 seconds with a chance to win with a goal and only kicked a point so lost, I’d argue that our team didn’t win the game, the other one lost.) Consequently, my Facebook feed this morning was 90% “Go Cats!” posts. Sigh.

    On the bright side, the weather is warming up and my veggie garden is going gangbusters! Happy Belated Labour Day to you, M-J and enjoy your Autumn. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sorry about the football. I really love football, you know. The regular season starts on Sunday and I’m so excited…but not excited about the shorter days and cooler weather. The mornings are darker, which makes is difficult for me to ride my bike to work (I need to buy lights) and to be bright and cheery at 5:30 a.m. It’s been fairly warm, though, summer is hanging on a little while longer.

      Happy Spring to you, H. May your veggie garden bring you innumerable baskets of yumminess!

Leave a Reply

