Under the Sunset

SunsetWIave

“Never waste any amount of time doing anything important when there is a sunset outside that you should be sitting under!”  ~C. Joybell C.~

Exactly.

This particular evening, I was in my car, facing west while stopped at a light on Wisconsin Avenue. I’ve witnessed many beautiful sunsets on this avenue before dusk, but there are few chances to snap a photo during busy traffic times. One has to be at the correct intersection, at the right time, waiting for a red light to change. Late last week, I had such an opportunity.

This is a sunset that I thoroughly enjoyed sitting under, albeit in the car. There is nothing better than the colors of red, orange and yellow against a darkening sky to say goodbye to the day’s light and events.

Enjoy your sunset tonight or any night. Don’t waste your time with important frivolities. Take your folding chair outside and sit.

24 responses to Under the Sunset

  1. How about a sunrise? Today I found myself reading a book while the sky was turning reddish. I went out on the terrace to investigate but my decision was that the scene does not merit me going downstairs to grab a camera, and instead I returned to my book. I guess I should make up for it with a sunset. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      No need for the sunrise photo. I’m glad you decided to sit and read and enjoy the beginning of the day. What book are you reading? Something to keep you engaged?

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I love it when the timing is right and the lights are in my favor and I get a glimpse of a beautiful sunset. This one is a true winner, Mary. How many lights did you sit through ?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t remember the number of lights, Dan. There are many on this avenue and I’m always grateful when I get a majority of green lights…except in this case.

  3. Joanne Sisco says:

    “Don’t waste your time with important frivolities”. I might need to embrace this as my new motto. It has a nice ring to it 🙂

    I think sunrises and sunsets are glorious events in the day and should be treated with the respect they deserve. Any and all arguments and disagreements should come to grinding halt to savour the beauty while it lasts.
    This would guarantee peace and goodwill twice a day … not a bad start 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I like your idea! Perhaps we should start a sunrise/sunset peace & goodwill campaign with buttons and banners and a Facebook page.

      I’m going to embrace my own motto the next few weeks. Work is going to be crazy busy, so I have to remember not to take the important stuff too seriously.

      • Joanne Sisco says:

        ooo – buttons and banners! This is sounding better and better 🙂

        I’m retired so it’s fairly easy for me to let go of the important frivolities 😉

  4. M-R says:

    You and Pirkko both, then, M-J. 🙂
    But please, not facebook …?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Pirkko? Who is this woman? Yes, Facebook. How can I post photos of what I ate for dinner without Facebook?

      • M-R says:

        Pirkko is Pike. 🙂
        You post pics of your meals ?
        Jesus christ on a piece of toast …

      • bikerchick57 says:

        LOL! I’m going to be chuckling this morning as I eat my breakfast. Once in a blue moon I post a pic of a special meal, but mostly it’s pics of cats, my bike, the outdoors, links to blog posts, etc. Never JC on toast. LOL!

  5. joey says:

    I do enjoy the occasional sunset. Now and again there’s one worth watching. I must say, we had more brilliant ones in Georgia and I may have been spoiled. Lots of orange and pink and purple there. Girly sunsets we call them. Here, I think there’s a quality to the light we didn’t have there, maybe all that green, rays through the trees…
    Where my parents live, on the coast, people gather every day to watch the sun go down. I don’t enjoy it so much, but I go along.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think I might enjoy the girly sunsets…pretty colors. As for those on the coast, I would be more interested in a beach during daylight. Yes, beach, sand between my toes, and a refreshment in hand.

Leave a Reply

