Midwestern Frame

Weekly Photo Challenge: Frame

Uffda
The frame of a trellis that peers into the sky, holds hop vines and leads down a questionable path.

From Wikipedia:

Uff da is often used in the Upper Midwest as a term for sensory overload. It can be used as an expression of surprise, astonishment, exhaustion, relief and sometimes dismay. For many, Uff da is an all-purpose expression with a variety of nuances, and covering a variety of situations. The expression has lost its original connotation, and it is increasingly difficult to specify in exact terms what it means in any given usage. Within Scandinavian-American culture, Uff da frequently translates into: “I am overwhelmed.” It has become a mark of Scandinavian roots, particularly for people from Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin northern Illinois, Minnesota and Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Uff da can often be used as an alternative for many common obscenities.


With beer in hand, there was absolutely no stress involved in walking this %$#*&$# path in New Glarus, WI. Thought you should know.

25 responses to Midwestern Frame

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Cindy. I’ve heard uff-da often in my Midwestern existence. I probably take it for granted that it’s part of the English language…but it’s not really.

      • Well, safe and normal is okay at times (like when there’s a blizzard outside and I’m on my comfy chair in front of the fireplace..). But other times, the beaten path is where “it’s at.” 🙂

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I like the photo a lot. I’m working on a project that has some similar construction elements. I’m trying to write about that for tomorrow without leaving my readers say uff da. I’m happy to hear that your Friday is stress free

  2. I grew up in the Midwest (Nebraska) but evidently too far south for “uff da.” However, we love New Glarus and its beer, so we’ll have to go uff da beaten path up there again soon.

    janet

  3. joey says:

    Haha, yes, I hear some Uff das from friends at times. My friend Orb, especially. He’s from Milwaukee, but he lives nearer the twin cities now.
    I’ll hear a coupla Uff das from my beer connoisseur friend soon, too 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Typical Midwesterners I suppose. I’m wondering if either says “yah hey,” although you might need to live farther north for that one.

      • joey says:

        Nope, can’t say I’ve heard that — but yah on their own, oh yes. Jah, jah?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know, drinking at work could be lots of fun, except nothing would get done due to the many naps and carefree attitude. (That sounds like retirement.)

  4. LB says:

    Love that sign! and your photo is excellent, too.
    Like others here, I have learned something new. I love it and will use it!

Leave a Reply

