Gray Paw Yoga

This week, Gibbs and Ziva are helping with a post by presenting Gray Paw Yoga poses. You may not have heard of this yoga as it’s fairly new and limited to the confines of the apartment. Nevertheless, these two felines have been working hard at their yoga practice and they hope you enjoy each and every one of the poses. Take a deep breathe (in through the nose), let it go (out through the nose), relax, and let’s begin.

IMG_20160812_182709582 (2)

Catatonic Pose (a/k/a Blankstareanasana)

Gibbs has been working hard at this pose. He thinks Corpse Pose (Shavasana) is lame and wanted to add difficulty to the end of his gray paw yoga practice. Makes no sense, but whatever. Note the twist of this hind torso, the perfect “L” shape of his paws and the blank, catatonic stare of his green eyes. He has something perfected here, but I might have called it HavenoideawhatI’mdoing Pose.

Meanwhile, Ziva is content to roll on her side and wait until I tell her to sit up and cross her paws.

IMG_20160812_182643623 (2)

Two Paws Up Pose (a/k/a Awesomeasana)

Gibbs has always wanted to give two thumbs to his human for taking such good care of him. Since the big gray hunter does not have opposable thumbs, he has chosen to create this two paws up pose in order to salute all humans who spoil their felines. He also gives two paws up to humans of pampered dogs – although somewhat begrudgingly since dogs already have their own yoga pose (Downward Facing Dog).

IMG_20160812_181427203 (2)

I’ll Just Lay Here Forever Pose (a/k/a Lazyassana)

Due to Ziva being a little “big-boned” (*cough, cough*), she was unable to sit up and cross her paws during practice. Therefore, the Queen had to be creative and come up with her very own pose. She does this laying pose very well…all day long.

IMG_20160811_185647I

Kill The Blue Straw Pose (a/k/a Hunterasana)

I tried to tell Gibbs this was not really a yoga pose, but he kept giving me that look. You know…”if looks could kill.” So, I’ll give him this one. I suppose it takes steely concentration to sit still longer than five seconds when there is a blue straw a mere quarter of an inch away from the right paw. Good job, buddy.

Ziva Forlorn

Poor Cat Pose (a/k/a Forlornanasana)

This is a tough one. It’s not easy to let one’s head fall over the side of the bed and give that special look of “poor me.” It takes a lot of work to stretch those neck muscles and stare off into space as if your world is the worst of the worst. Poor, poor Ziva. She either needs a new human or more time to sleep.

IMG_20160811_184437178

Lick the Blue Straw Pose (a/k/a Tasteslikechickenasana)

No, Gibbs, that is not even close to a yoga pose. Let’s try again.

IMG_20160812_182701898 (2)

I’m Getting Bored Pose (a/k/a Yawnasana)

Gibbs is making fun of his practice. Yoga is about mind, body and breathe. Although it appears he isย using all three, Gibbs simply came out of the Catatonic Pose because he was bored and didn’t know what to do next. I told him to practice the I’ll Just Lay Here Forever Pose since he has yet to perfect that one.

IMG_20160812_181141664 (2)

Mom? Help me! Pose (a/k/a Cryuncleasana)

Tragically, the yoga practice did not end well for Ziva. After getting past the I’m Getting Bored Pose, Gibbs took it upon himself to create a new pose for couples (or housemates). Ziva wanted no part of it, but Gibbs wouldn’t take no for an answer. A struggle ensued, the Queen cried the cry of death, the human separated them, and the yoga practice suddenly and abruptly ended.

Namaste and Meow!

31 responses to Gray Paw Yoga

  1. joannesisco says:

    The Catatonic pose is one of my personal favourites. It’s guaranteed to get a giggle from me each time … although it’s probably counter-productive to the exercise ๐Ÿ˜‰

    … and Zita likely doesn’t need to practice other poses because she’s already attained inner peace and enlightenment ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LOVE Gibbs colouring!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Gibbs thanks you for loving his fur and the catatonic pose. It’s his favorite too, although he’s been very intrigued by Bird of Paradise pose. As for the Queen, I can only hope to attain her inner peace one day…without the extra pounds.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I think you might be overlooking the times when they are obviously deep in meditation. Becoming one with the energy of the universe and all like that. Ziva seems to be particularly focused on attaining that cosmic connection. Sometimes, movement is not the answer. Sometimes, it’s better to be still and let the answers come to you. Ziva would say “you have much to learn.”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh brother…okay, perhaps I should walk across rice paper and call myself Grasshopper. Those two are currently meditating their paws off, trying to be one with the bed, in total acceptance of doing nothing. I may achieve that one day, after I retire…

      • Dan Antion says:

        My opinion is influenced by my cat-sitting duties of the two lazy-bones male cats my daughter serves. I’m not normally this engaged ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Ohhhhh…so they know the Ziva pose. Good for them that they find it easy to rest. This should probably be an Olympic sport.

      • Dan Antion says:

        They just demonstrated their prowess in the “extended pizza grab” and the “fork flip and lick”

  3. Herman says:

    Thank you for this instruction post. I’m into a yoga mood…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, Herman. Perhaps Mr. Bowie can come up with a few moves of his own. Icecreamanasana?

  4. joey says:

    Haha! Excellent yoga post, Namaste ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love when my big boy kitty sprawls out on the floor, tummy up, paws slightly curled. He looks so contented. I want to feel whatever he feels when he does that. Next time, instead of lying down with him and rubbing his tummy, I think I’ll try to imitate him.

  5. I just read this to my felines. One is now screaming, running around the room as if he is on fire. Another hasn’t moved. Wait let me check him. Yep, still breathing and the third, the kitten (or the princess as her “brothers” call her) has her head tilted sideways, at an impossible angle, listening to my every word…

    Thanks for your post! Delightful!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome, but I hate that I made one of your felines screamed. Perhaps he needs to breathe and chant….ohhhhhhmmmmm.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      They ARE a hysterical pair. Never a dull moment with those two.

      In my former life as a biker chick, I had a 2000 Harley Dyna Convertible before it was traded in for a trike. Nowadays, I pedal a Kona mountain bike around on the trails, which is proving to be a much healthier option.

Leave a Reply

