The Bare Truth

TRUTH 1: “I am a firm believer in the people. If given the truth, they can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts, and beer.”

~Abraham Lincoln~


Bones1

TRUTH 2: Some doors don’t give away what’s really inside.

TRUTH 3: Some doors are just not exciting enough for Norm’s Thursday Doors.

Bones4

TRUTH 4: A sign always tells it like it is.

TRUTH 5: Very few can resist beer and a dog with floppy ears.

Bones2

TRUTH 6: No two or three or six beers are the same.

TRUTH 7: Coffee stout should never taste like an ashtray.

Bones3

TRUTH  8: Strawberry jalapeno beer is actually quite good…if you’re not opposed to the heat.

TRUTH 9: The beverage coaster is only crude if your mind goes there.


TRUTH 10:  “Beer, if drunk in moderation, softens the temper, cheers the spirit and promotes health.”

~Thomas Jefferson~

22 responses to The Bare Truth

  1. loisajay says:

    I don’t drink beer. I do like coffee. My husband is an ex-smoker (2 years smoke-free next month), so #7 made me chuckle. Yeah…..and #9….

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I was soooo disappointed in the coffee stout. That’s normally something I would like, but not theirs. Perhaps the beer meister is a smoker.

  2. joey says:

    Oh my. I know a guy who loves one? some? of that beer. He’s a beer connoisseur, first I ever knew. I hear all kinds of names from him. I had no idea beer was such a big deal to so many people.
    I laughed at the ashtray bit. I wonder if it’s popular with former smokers? 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It could be, or with people trying to quit smoking? My brother turned me into a bit of a beer snob. He probably knows all of the same names as your friend. Actually, he and a couple of his buddies have been doing their own home brews. It does make a difference…the craft beer…I can no longer stomach Miller lite or any of the similar brand names.

      • joey says:

        It’s been so long since I’ve had a basic domestic beer, I don’t know if I could either. I rarely drink beer anymore, but when I do it’s usually Matilda or Guinness. Anymore, a beer will fill me up. :/

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I knew I liked Thomas Jefferson. I don’t drift between too many beers, but I enjoy the ones I have on the list. I also own a floppy-eared dog and I’ve spend some time on a few afternoons with a beer and Maddie, sitting outside.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      See? You know truth! I like to try different beers when I go into these places. They aren’t always to my liking, but I don’t know that until I drink them. It can be like a quest for the perfect beer.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        With a slightly intoxicated Pokemon weaving across the screen of your smart phone!

      • Dan Antion says:

        And me breaking into bars after they are closed (in keeping with the antics, I’ve been reading about).

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Your comment is hilarious given they just had a blurb on the radio about breaking into private businesses. Why would people give themselves a misdemeanor or felony conviction over a silly game? That’s just insane.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s a very fine way. My neighbor and I just finished a Sunday afternoon bike ride and we thought we’d replenish the calories that were burned. Between the pizza and beer, mission accomplished.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It was actually the best of all the brews. Besides the ashtray beer, the other ones were a bit flat, in my opinion. The brewery needs to work more on their flavors.

  4. If I ever make it to Wisconsin, you are taking me there. Craft beer is all the rage here too. Breweries popping up all over the shop. One of the large companies took over an old woollen mill in our town and turned it into a brewery. They’ve recently created a new beer in honour of our town and called it the Furphy. 🙂

    Why would coffee stout taste like an ashtray?? Oh, the lost opportunity…..

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t know if I would take you to Bare Bones, it’s not my favorite microbrewery. There’s a better one in Green Bay and here in my town. And they both have very yummy food. I think you should consider coming here some day…we do have to take the bikes into the old train tunnels.

      • Yes, we do. I will try and make it there one day. Probably not for our mutual significant birthday year (timing isn’t right family-wise) but it’s always on the radar for a chance opportunity.

Leave a Reply

