Dinnertime with Schnitzel

“This week, focus on dinnertime: share a meal with us, or shoot during your dinner hour. Bloggerโ€™s choice!”

20150926_165640_1
September, 2015. Natasha and Mary J enjoy their favorite meal at their favorite restaurant.

Stone Cellar is a popular brewpub and restaurant in Appleton. It also has the best Jaeger Schnitzel around. Actually, their schnitzel compares to that which my mom used to make. Mom’s own mother, who came from Germany with her husband and oldest son around the turn of the 20th century, was the master who taught youngest daughter the fine art of making schnitzel. I never learned the craft and yearned for schnitzel quite often after mom stopped cooking. I was overjoyed when I found it at Stone Cellar.

This eatery also has excellent craft beer, my favorite being the Scottish ale. Natasha chose wine over beer this night and had her knife and fork at the ready for the first bite of heaven. As it was a beautiful fall evening, we sat outside on the patio. The main restaurant is down two flights of stairs into the “stone cellar.” There are two main dining areas with stone walls, a bar, a spillover dining area and a long hallway that takes the boys and girls to their respective powder rooms. It’s both a cool and odd place.

The restaurant is in a structure originally built in 1858, the first brewery in the county. It changed a bit in 1858, after a fire, and stood vacant between 1974 and 1989, when Adler Brau and new owners came along. The current owners took over in 2004, began brewing their own beer, and connected with local farmers for organic fruit and vegetables and grass-fed beef. Their pizza, organic chicken and other menu items are delicious, but call ahead if you plan to visit for Friday night fish. It’s wall-to-wall people and a long waiting line.

36 responses to Dinnertime with Schnitzel

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Oh my, that sounds like a wonderful place. I’m not a big fan of schnitzel but my best friend is. We go to a place, up the road in Springfield, MA when he’s in the mood. Knowing restaurants that have “the best” whatever, is an important requirement. Friday night fish, I could be up for that. It’s late, but I’m thinking of raiding the fridge now. Have a great (rest of your) weekend, Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I had fish yesterday for dinner in Green Bay. Natasha and I were there shopping and had a bite to eat at Titletown Brewing Company. That’s another cool place and they have a pretty good stout to go with the fish.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I do too. It’s an old train station that was turned into a restaurant. And now that I’ve type that, I realize that I messed up in taking a photo of the door because I could have done Norm’s doors and your FB train project all in one crack. Ugh!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You bet! I haven’t been there in a while, so I may have to drag my brother to Stone Cellar when he comes for a visit Mother’s Day weeknd. He never turns down food or beer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Lottie! I completely missed your comment…ugh! Did Pete have his birthday yet? Happy Birthday to Pete and let me know how the schnitzel turned out ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. joey says:

    About a hundred years ago, I had the opportunity to eat authentic German food cooked by a German woman. She made schnitzel and mashed potatoes and some mixed vegetables and I wanted to eat thirds, I swear. Not only am I not a big fan of meat, but I had never liked any German food I had ever tried. Not at restaurants, not at festivals — just NO on the German food, thanks. But she was a marvelous cook and I have tried a few since, but hers was on a different level.
    Good for you, finding a place that brings you back to the taste. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I completely understand. Mom’s schnitzel was always on a different level. I tried a few other restaurants in the area for schnitzel and came away disappointed. This is all about authenticity in the cook and technique.

    • My mum in law was German she came over to England after the war when she married. The word Schnitzel was never mentioned but she did make them her cooking was delicious but butter and cream went into everything. We always came away feeling bloated. DH always came home and said “we are going on a diet!”

      • bikerchick57 says:

        My mom and dad loved their gravy, which I believe came from their German roots. Even their chop suey was in a thickened sauce!

  3. That’s not a schnitzel, that’s half a cow! Wow!

    I don’t think I’ve had Jaeger Schnitzel but I once had Wiener Schnitzel in Wien. Can you get Jaeger Schnitzel in Jaeg?

  4. LB says:

    I’ve never had schnitzel before! The Stone Cellar sounds like my kind of place. Good food, beer, and sitting outside. What’s not to love!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m pretty positive you would love the schnitzel…can’t go wrong with a tender piece of pork! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks