Future Football

Weekly Photo Challenge: This week, share an image that represents the potential of things to come.

Packer2

The NFL draft for 2016 is April 28-30 at Chicago’s Auditorium Theatre. Coaches, general managers and others within each football team are in preparation. They have attended the scouting combine, spent hours and hours pouring over college football film, and had numerous meetings and discussions about their intended top picks. Those picks attempt to fill “holes” in the offense, defense or special teams with the intention of having a winning team and season.

The Green Bay Packers are no different. They have already filled a Tight End position with free agent Jared Cook. With the 27th draft pick in the first round, I suspect they have their eyes on defensive players and the possibility of a stand-out wide receiver (to complement Jordy Nelson). The decisions that each team makes on draft day will impact the future of their team. It may be a good impact, a so-so impact, or a total bust of an impact. One never knows the outcome…sometimes the 6th round pick turns out to be the star rookie while the 1st round pick can’t fight his way out of a paper bag.

Packer1

At this time of year, I am always hopeful for the future of the Green Bay Packers, which includes a winning season and trip to the Super Bowl. This team always has been and always will be MY TEAM. Forever and ever. Diehard fan here.

The pre-season for the Packers begins at the Hall of Fame game in Canton, Ohio, on August 7, 2016. This game will not immediately speak to the future of the team and its season, but will begin the road for each player’s future. It’s up to them if they can rise to the task and avoid player cuts.

What does the future hold for your NFL team? Or your rugby/baseball/soccer/other team of choice? Will they have a winning season?

21 responses to Future Football

  1. Dan Antion says:

    The future of my team, well the future I tend to imagine, is a Super Bowl rematch with Green Bay in which we (Steelers) are victorious. Be careful in that Hall of Fame game. The field is horrible. That’s how we lost our kicker for the entire season last year 😦

    You did snag me by putting ‘football’ in the title, but after a 3-game sweep of the StL Cardinals, I am solidly in baseball mode.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have a friend who is probably not happy about that 3-game sweep. She’s a Cardinal fan. I have never been much of a baseball fan. I root for the home team and that’s about it.

      Thanks for the warning about the field. I’ll call Mike McCarthy when I get home from work and warn him. Perhaps they need to keep Mason Crosby out of that game. Finally, yes, there needs to be a rematch except that I don’t agree with your outcome. I guess we shall see when the time comes.

      • Dan Antion says:

        So is the home team for you the Brewers? I know a lot of folks in the midwest that float all over the place calling something home.

        Somebody should warn Mike.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, the Brewers. I have three Brewer fans in my office, so I decided it was safest to cheer for Milwaukee.

      • Dan Antion says:

        I’m surrounded by Yankees and Red Sox fans. It’s jeans day (Friday) and I’m wearing a Pirates shirt under a pullover.

  2. slfinnell says:

    Well, we won’t go into too much detail about the bets on my KC Royals….. maybe they’ll surprise everyone for the 3rd year in a row with an awesome season. And maybe the opposing teams won’t throw balls at them all year.
    Now Green Bay is always exceptional and we Chiefs fans often cringe when we play there in the snow. Just my take on their ‘Love’ for the cold. Not normal. 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s funny because I cringe on the occasions when the Packers play in KC simply because of your boisterous fans. You have one of the loudest stadiums in the NFL. Good luck to your Royals this season.

  3. As I’ve been a Packer fan since the days of the Ice Bowl, Bart Starr, and Vince Lombardi, we are as one in hoping to see them win the next Super Bowl. Living now in the suburbs of Chicago, I’m happily a Blackhawks fan for hockey, although my first love was the Montreal Canadians. Married to a former rugby player, we enjoy watching the game whenever possible and love the All Blacks.

    janet

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Go Pack Go!

      I always wanted someone to explain rugby to me, since it’s a cousin to American football. I could probably get into it if I knew the rules.

  4. It’s a post about football and I still read it. I think I deserve bonus follower points for that. Especially because I didn’t understand a word of it. Doesn’t matter the code, it’s all just blah blah ball blah blah players blah blah blah to me. Although, as a mother of boys, I do understand about playing with balls.

  5. joannesisco says:

    MOSY said it for me. I should get a million bonus points too AND I’ve had to put up with 3 – count them, THREE – snow storms this week. Today’s high will be a balmy -2C / 28F. Brrrrr!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You get 5 trillion bonus points and an “I feel your pain, sister!” It’s supposed to warm up by next weekend, so get out your pompoms and cheer for spring. It needs encouragement.

      • joannesisco says:

        It looks like the same here. By Friday we should start seeing some seasonal temperatures and hopefully some time outdoors on the bike. Woohoo 🙂

  6. LB says:

    I love to know other devoted football fans! As you know, I’ll always pull for your Packers (after Washington 🙂 )
    What a strange thing to be reading about football while watching The Masters.
    I transition from football (college and pro) to basketball (college) to The Masters.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Hey, whatever works for you Laurie. I watched golf for a while, when I had clubs and was trying to learn the game. Unfortunately, I had to give it up for various reasons. I wasn’t very good at it, but every so often I sent a ball flying high and straight and that kept me wanting to play again. Perhaps when I’m retired and have more time on my hands, I’ll give it a go again.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks