The Dawn of a New Melange

The thoughts of yesterday forgotten
I like the way this new skin feels
Bring me splinters of tomorrow
Collect the parts where I win

~from the song Dawn of a New Day~


BinderyIt went without fanfare, without neon lights or trumpets sounding.

March 17th was the third anniversary of Mary J Melange on WordPress.

I actually hadn’t thought about it until today. It was an “oh yeah” moment, followed by a cough or two from this dang cold. I’m home on Monday, sparing the co-workers from hearing the hacks of a germ-laden cat lady. Instead, the cats are the only witness to illness and the sight of their human prone on the couch – alternately watching daytime TV and scouring the internet for recipes she’ll never make, cat memes that will annoy Facebook followers, and new Windows wallpaper. Oh, and I can’t forget the many trips to the little girls’ room due to hydration practices and the addage, “Feed a cold!”

But I digress.

As I was sitting on the couch, remembering an anniversary, I realized not much had changed in three years in regard to the landscape of this blog. It’s been the same old, gray Mary J Melange that appeared on March 17, 2013. I had been good with the format for the first two years of the blog, simply due to laziness and not wanting to spend extra money on a very special theme. But, at some point, it wasn’t good enough anymore. Frequenting other blog spots, one comes to realize that there are so many options for creating a cool space to call your own, with text and headings and photos and nifty widgets. Β I have been yearning for that, for change, for coolness, for a font that didn’t require reading glasses from the pharmacy.

So, in my snotty, Mucinex-induced haze, I give you “Bindery.” This was the top theme pick, the one that allowed tightly-clasped fingers to let go of a $5 dollar bill or two or three or…I’m still not shelling out money for MaryJMelange.com, but perhaps at my six-year anniversary, I’ll have another cold and make another drug-induced choice for all of eternity.

After looking through the numerous free and paid themes at WordPress, Bindery was the only one that truly set me on fire (no, I don’t have a fever). Second and third choices were Puzzle and Healthy Living. They were close, but didn’t quite set me over the edge of theme love. I kept going back to Bindery. I think I can have fun and do good things to foment peace in the world with a title that is cohesive and attaches itself to the readers.

I believe it a good choice, but…

What say you, dear Melange peeps? Do you miss the grey tones of Greyzed? Are you bedazzled and amazed at the new look? Are you as indifferent over the change as I am over the US presidential candidates? What’s your standard plan for fighting off a cold? Were you expecting more from this post?

I need to know, people. I also need to thank all of the readers, likers, commenters and followers of this blog. I appreciate your presence each and every day! Thank you!


PS: With this new look, you will have to scroll to the bottom of the main page to follow via email, search for stuff on this site, check out the archives, etc. I will be “tweaking” the site as the OCD side of me dictates, so watch for minor changes in the days ahead.

32 responses to The Dawn of a New Melange

  1. Ally Bean says:

    I like this new look. Snazzy! Congrats on your anniversary. Here’s to many more years of blogging fun for you.

  2. joannesisco says:

    Spring time is a great time to implement changes. Combine it with an anniversary and BINGO! … change is in the air.

    It’s a great new look and I’m just a wee bit jealous. I want change too … but I’m too lazy and indecisive.

    Congrats on 3 years of blogging and I wish you many, many more. In my opinion, you have THE BEST profile picture on WP πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the cough and cold. It’s a clichΓ©, but I like chicken soup.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Joanne! The deciding part can be a challenge. So much to choose from and I had to preview everything I thought would be appropriate. I almost gave myself a headache with that decision, but I’m glad I finally made the change.

      I love my profile pic, don’t think I’ll ever change that one.

      In regard to the chicken soup, I’m about to force myself to drive to Panera for same. It’s less effort than making my own and better than the canned junk. I’ll need a nap by the time I get back.

      • joannesisco says:

        This might sound a bit odd, but when I’m sick I’ll take Lipton’s chicken noodle soup and add spinach, frozen peas, and frozen corn. It’s easy, fast, and looks pretty. Yum.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        That doesn’t sound odd at all. I used to eat Lipton’s chicken noodle cup-a-soup all the time and I like the ingredients you add. Sounds delish.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Well, I made it to Panera and had chicken noodle soup and mac & cheese. Comfort food…

      • joannesisco says:

        I think many of the world’s problems can be solved with comfort food πŸ™‚

        … well, except for perhaps my weight problem πŸ˜‰

  3. kirizar says:

    It is a brave new world here. I will say, there is a freshness to the header. If you were going for a youth-movement in the 60’s vibe, congrats you nailed it. (It was the peace bangle. It just reminds me of the era of hippies and bell bottom pants.) Also, the font is very readable.

    I have been looking to change my site and I keep running into the problem of not understanding exactly what they are offering. That, and I am picky. Congrats on making it three years without losing your cool.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m not sure what I’m going for at this point with the header. That’s the one I picked and it works for now. Then again, I grew up in the bell bottom and peace sign era, so perhaps it’s appropriate. I understand about being picky. That’s why it took me awhile to change.

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I’m viewing on my phone but I’m impressed with the mobile view. Nice clear text and things resize and scroll like they should. I’ll check later for the full effect.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yeah, sometimes the mobile view of blogs doesn’t translate, so I’m glad it looks good to you. I’ll be working on the tweaking, so let me know if you have any valuable suggestions.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Lois. I was going for something clean and easy to read. I’ve always been a fan of neatness.

  5. Congrats, and I like the new look especially the part about not needing magnifying glasses to read the print. We use a lot of wipes and spray when we’re fighting colds, and I put away the regular towels and get out the paper towels while running an air purifier. Hope you are feeling better. πŸ™‚

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Judy. It’s not good when I start having a hard time reading my own posts. It was time for a change. As for the cold, it’s still with me, but I’ll keep fighting!

  6. Excellent. A change is as good as a holiday. Are we going to have banana daiquiris now?

    Can’t help you with a cold plan because I don’t get sick. It’s called Motherhood Immunity. I don’t have time to be sick.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’ve never had a banana daiquris. Is it as good as a chocolate martini? I’d be willing to try it as soon as I feel better.

      A co-worker was sick four days last week. She was kind enough to give her illness to three of us. She owes us chocolate or drugs.

      • I’ve never had one either. I just like saying ‘banana daiquiri’. Or mostly ‘bananananana daiquiri’.

        I think she owes you both. And not the cheap stuff either.

  7. LB says:

    Oh, wow, I’m so glad that in catching up on your blog, I am seeing the unveiling of the new look! Congratulations on 3 years of blogging, and yes, I do indeed, like your new look.
    I hope you are feeling better by now, Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks, Laurie. I am feeling better, just need to get another day’s rest and rid myself of the last remains of congestion. This is the dawn of a new week! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

