Sweet Community State of Mind

Photo Challenge:  This week let your inner world and the outside one converge in a photo.

Donuts

At the end of January, Mission Church invited all of its volunteers to a gathering called “One Accord.” It was an event for the church’s volunteers to gather for worship, discussion and planning. I am humbly honored to be part of this cheery, supportive group and its charge.

In taking a photo of sugary sweet carbs, I remember this fluctuating state of mind:

  • I want one of the pecan whatever-it-is…because nuts are protein and protein is good for the body.
  • Who am I kidding?
  • Why am I taking a photo instead of eating?
  • I love my church. I love it with all my heart.
  • No, not because of donuts and muffins. Rather, due to fellowship and of a group of people that reach out to community and take care of its people.
  • I still want one of the pecan whatever-it-is
  • Protein is good for me.
22 responses to Sweet Community State of Mind

  1. loisajay says:

    Your state of mind was on your good health–that is a wonderful thing. Question: did you eat it?Answer: Please say yes!!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, I ate it. Funny thing, though, I thought it was a bit too sweet. My sugar taste buds are not the same as when I was younger and ate all sorts of stuff filled with sugar and corn syrup. But in the interest of science, I did have to eat another delectible in order to determine if my taste buds were okay with it.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Don forget – by eating that one, you’re leaving the things that don’t have nuts for the people who are allergic to nuts. You’re taking one for the team Mary! What a good girl are you 🙂

    By the way, when something is too sweet, put whipped cream on it. Seriously, it works.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I never thought of it that way, Dan. Next time, I will positively eat whatever donut has nuts in or on top of it. And I’ll ask for the whipped cream.

      Thanks for enabling.

  3. joannesisco says:

    Ok – here’s the thing. DON’T listen to Dan!! Listen to my voice (ok, try to imagine my voice) Step away from the pastries … Whipped cream is nasty. Really, really nasty …. Broccoli is good. Very, very good.

  4. We are as one on the pecans.

    Except I didn’t think about protein. I just thought about how much I wanted that cake with the pecans on it. There were other cakes? What other cakes? Look! That one has pecans!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There was a donut underneath the pecans. Or do Aussies call donuts cake? Either way, it was sugar and white flour and a few other ingredients. They may have added the pecans and sugar glaze on top as the final cement to hold it all together.

  5. dawnkinster says:

    Love it. And I want one of those too. I’m going to link to your post so my readers can enjoyit as well.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks so much for linking back to this post. I appreciate your share and hope you find a pecan-covered donut in your area.

  6. LB says:

    My first thought when I saw the photo, was (I kid you not) “I want one of those pecan things”. So, I’m right there with you!
    Mary, this post is a good one … enjoyed reading about your happiness.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Laurie! It appears the donut is a winner in the I-Want-That-Pecan-Thing category. Where’s the Oscar?

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks