Seasons: The Music of Impending Spring

Weekly Photo Challenge: Share an image evocative of the weather…

20160219_120219

Spring is singing a new song today, called “I’m coming soon!”

Through early afternoon, the skies were blue and the stiff wind was warm. Since then, the clouds have taken over, rain is falling and winds are predicted to gust up to 45 m.p.h. Temperatures today and Saturday will be in the 40’s, which is warm for this neck of the woods in February. I was considered overdressed today with the fur-lined hood attached to my jacket.

20160219_120335

The snow pack is melting, ice is saying its last goodbyes on Little Lake Butte des Morts.

I went for a drive at lunch time…to get something to eat and drive through Fritse Park, which is on the edge of the lake. You may recognize this park from previous posts last spring and summer. It’s where people gather for picnics, walk and bike the trail, or try their hand at fishing. There is a boat launch here, captured in the second photo.

The music of impending spring held a concert at said boat launch, this blogger the only soul in attendance. The sound soothed me, and I could have stayed for more of the show had it not been for time and that stiff wind. So, quickly, I pressed the video icon on my phone and captured the music for posterity and all of you.

18 responses to Seasons: The Music of Impending Spring

  1. Galen says:

    Nice photographs…

    I can remember in my earlier years looking forward to those days when it would finally reach into the 40s. But where I live now… in Southern Arizona… we’ve already had an 89 degree day and it’s been in the mid 80s all week… and I love it!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That’s curiously soothing. Great photos. I love being near the water. The CT River just barely froze last week, then a high of 55 on Tuesday and about an inch of rain wiped it out. It’s been cold since then, but the ice is slow to form again. I’m not sure which way it’s going here.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I wasn’t sure I wanted to use the word “tinkling” for fear of its possible alternative meaning; however, I couldn’t think of any other to describe the sound.

  3. joannesisco says:

    That band of warm air is supposed to hit us tonight. We are hoping to be out on our bikes tomorrow although the winds might be a bit too much for me. It’s a little too premature to declare spring around the corner in these parts though. I’ve seen too many snow storms in April, but this is nice 🙂

    Love the sound of tinkling ice in the waves as it crashes on the shore.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Be careful on the bike, if you go. I sure hope we don’t have snow in April. I plan to be actively riding by then.

      I just loved how the ice sounded in the waves. It reminded me of wind chimes, lots of tiny little wind chimes.

  4. LB says:

    Thank you for taking us all to your world, Mary. I loved hearing and seeing the water!

  5. I love the sounds and movements of water, Mary, so thanks for sharing these. I’m ready to enjoy spring and to see the new growth break through the earth. It may be a while yet, though.

    janet

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I am happy to share, Janet. We will have to wait a bit for spring…another month by the calendar. At least March brings the hope of warmer weather.

      • We had several lovely days these last two days, so I’m not complaining. I’m fine with it getting colder again and even some snow. Spring will come.

  6. I love it when the snow starts to melt and the flower bulbs start to poke their first green shoots out of the dirt. There’s never much snow where I live near Boise though.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It will be a couple more months before anything pokes through the ground here. But I can wait…maybe 😉

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks