Days and Weeks and Months

Q: What has 2 arms, 2 wings, 2 tails, 3 heads, 3 bodies and 8 legs?

I’m not going to answer at the moment. I’d like you to think about the answer while I ramble through this post.

Today, February 9th, is Fat Tuesday. In many Polish communities around the U.S., it is also Paczki Day, although the traditional date is Fat Thursday.

Two days in which to eat to excess.

paczki

From Wikipedia: In Poland, pączki (pronounced PAWNCH-ki) are eaten especially on Fat Thursday, the last Thursday prior to Ash Wednesday and the beginning of Lent. The traditional reason for making pączki was to use up all the lard, sugar, eggs and fruit in the house, because their consumption was forbidden by Catholic fasting practices during Lent.  Although they look like German berliners, North American bismarcks or jelly donuts, pączki are made from especially rich dough containing eggs, fats, sugar, yeast and sometimes milk. They feature a variety of fruit and creme fillings and can be glazed, or covered with granulated or powdered sugar.

At the local bakery in Pulaski, WI, there was a line forming for these well-known donuts. I live too far away from this community to stop on my way to work. I was tempted to stop at the local Kwik-Trip and buy any kind of donut, but I resisted.

Instead, my co-worker shared her not-so-fresh powdered-sugar donut that, in no way, compared to a Paczki.

But I’m not really here to talk about donuts.

The idea for this post came from a free calendar that was sent by a vendor who specializes in employee awards, certificates and items that scream “We are a team! You rock! You won’t get a raise this year, but here’s a coffee mug and a pen!”

The donut-sharing co-worker and I were looking at said calendar this morning. It not only contains the usual holidays like New Year’s Day and Valentine’s Day and Christmas, but it also has the days and weeks you may or may not know about.

For instance, did you know that February 5th was National Weatherperson’s Day?

Or that May 3rd is National Teachers’ Day?

Or that August 13th is International Left-Handers Day?

Or that December 5th is International Volunteer Day?

We hadn’t noticed the special holidays until this month. So, sadly, we missed Fun at Work Day on January 28th. I don’t remember what I was doing that day, but I hope I wasn’t moping around the office or swearing at a spreadsheet calculation. That wouldn’t be much fun, would it? Thankfully, the co-worker and I will be able to make up for the missed fun day by celebrating Laugh at Work Week, which appropriately begins on April 1st and ends April 7th. We enjoy laughing at work (taking our jobs seriously, though), utilizing a children’s joke book on occasion, a “no” button, an “easy” button and our general sense of humor to not take ourselves too seriously.

Speaking of the joke book, do you have an answer yet to the question that led off this post?

I’ll give you an answer soon.

In the meantime, are you looking to celebrate something in February other than an extra day at the end of the month?

How about Random Acts of Kindness Week beginning February 14th? I’m thinking of turning this into Random Acts of Kindness Lent only because the alternative is Stop Looking at Your Smart Phone Every Ten Minutes Lent. (It’s easier for me to perform a kind act on a daily basis than it is to inhibit OCD tendencies.)

National-Engineering-Day_BG.jpgIf you’re the sort to appreciate a person who applies scientific knowledge, mathematics and ingenuity to develop solutions for technical, societal and commercial problems, then take note of National Engineers’ Week beginning February 21st. I do have to congratulate engineers for the way their mind and intellect works. I consider them genius, along with accountants. If it were up to me to plan new roadways or build bridges or work with numbers 24/7, the world would be SOL.

If you happen to wonder with perplexity who comes up with the unending days and weeks and months of celebration, my standard answer has always been, “It’s Hallmark. They want to sell more greeting cards.” However, that no longer holds true. I have yet to see a card for Adopt a Rescued Rabbit Month (February) or Dairy Alternatives Month (June) (banned in Wisconsin – the dairy state) or Banana Pudding Lover’s Month (November).

You don’t believe that last one, do you?

It’s true. I found it on this website.

There are many more “months” to fit in whatever you care to celebrate. If the celebration includes eating sugar-laden donuts or banana pudding, I bet you are in. I know I am.

What you really want is an answer to the question.

Correct?

Well, here you go…

A: A man on a horse holding a chicken.

How many of you got that right? Raise your hand.

Kudos to anyone who did; however, there is no prize for a correct answer.

This is a cheap blog.

How about a pat on the back?

So, my dear readers, in order to end this painfully farcical post, it’s up to you to answer these next questions:

Q: What’s your favorite traditional holiday?

Q: What’s your favorite non-traditional holiday? (mine is Adopt a Shelter Cat Month)

Q: If you could come up with your own holiday, be it a day, week or month, what would it celebrate? Be creative. Think outside the box.

My next holiday?

Mary Takes an Early Retirement and Moves to a Warmer Climate with her Cats and Bicycle Friday.

14 responses to Days and Weeks and Months

  1. joannesisco says:

    hmmmm – you always ask such tough questions. Why?!!! … but here goes …

    #1 – I don’t have one. Ever since I became the primary person responsible for feeding a hungry hoard every special occasion, holidays have lost their glamour for me. BUT … if I was forced to pick one, it would be Labour Day. To me, Labour Day has always been the REAL New Year’s and there is something promising and optimistic about the start of a new year.

    #2 – I don’t have one, and I really don’t want one if it results in me having to prepare food for other people.

    #3 – I really like your proposed holiday and I support it wholeheartedly. In the same spirit, I would like to propose Joanne-Wins-The-Lottery Day. That would be awesome 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I like asking tough question. It makes everyone think. Then again, I hope I didn’t scare anyone away…
      I’m sorry you have lost your love of holidays due to food preparation. Why don’t you have a potluck next time (make everyone bring something) or declare it Pay Your Own Way at the Restaurant Day? You might enjoy that holiday.
      As for your special holiday, I like it very much. I simply ask that you remember me when that day comes 😉

  2. Ally Bean says:

    I did not know the answer to the riddle.

    My favorite traditional holiday is Memorial Day because the weather is lovely and the holiday has the good sense to always fall on a Monday.

    I don’t have a favorite nontraditional holiday, which makes me think I need to get a better calendar.

    Still working on what my own special holiday might be. Good question, but no answer.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Hi Ally! I, too, enjoy Memorial day. It’s the unofficial start of summer and our apartment building always has a cookout, which is a fun time for food and friends.

  3. 1. Easter. It has three public holidays in it and also coincides with school holidays. Now that’s a holiday.
    2. I have three: World Toilet Day, International Talk Like A Pirate Day and Towel Day.
    3. International Eradication of the Clothes Moth Day

    I got the answer to your puzzle right away because I saw one just yesterday. True story. It was when I was out riding my unicorn across the Rainbow Bridge.

  4. LB says:

    All I know, after reading this post, is that I want a Paczki! Yum!
    Your writing just cracks me up. Thanks for the laughs!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome Laurie! There is a bakery two blocks from my home. I don’t believe they make Paczki’s, but they do make the best bakery in town. So whenever I want to cheat and eat a donut or cake, guess where I go?

Leave a Reply

