The Feline Time Clock

Photo Challenge: “This week, think about TIME and portray it photographically.”

Cat Time

All felines have a time clock.

It tells them when it’s time to sleep and play.

It tells them when the human is expected to arrive home.

It tells them that although the human is sleeping, it’s time to get up and make noise.

And it tells them when it’s time to eat.

Natasha and I had a good laugh the other night. We were sitting mostly in the dark, on the couch, watching a Star Trek episode on Netflix. When the episode ended and it was time to move on to the next adventure with Captain Jean Luc Picard, Natasha asked me to turn on the hall light. It’s right next to the couch.

So, I reached over and flicked the switch to the on position.

Guess who was patiently sitting in the hallway, waiting for their 8:30 p.m. feeding? 

(This is about as patient as it gets.)

The door closest to Ziva (the one in front) is where the cat food resides.

These two are spot on (give or take an hour) with feeding time, especially in the evening. Gibbs and Ziva start circling around 8:00 p.m. Neither will come sit in my lap. They will alternately sit by the couch, staring, shooting “feed me!” darts at whoever will look their way and occasionally sending out a sorrowful meow from the depths of their empty bellies.

It’s pitiful, in a way.

Yet, to avoid any interruption in the space/time continuum of the felines, this human complies at the specified moment (give or take a few minutes). It’s not in my best interest to ignore, avoid or purposefully wait.

They both have claws and sharp teeth.

The feline time clock is real, it works, and cannot be denied.

Make it so, human!

19 responses to The Feline Time Clock

  1. And if you foolishly give them an unscheduled treat, the next day, at T-minus 30 minutes “from the time you gave them said treat” the day before, they will be circling, crying, for said treat to be dispensed again. I know. I’m dealing with it right now.

    Oh, by the way, Ginger says “Merow!”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I believe you! Gibbs and Ziva are easily trained in the same way. Tell Ginger she’s a good kitty 🙂

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Ha! I love the ending. Of course I’m thinking about the episode where Worf has to feed Data’s cat. Your cats have you well trained. One of ours is know for wanting to be scratched, making noise and that little reach out and gently stab you, but then staying just out of reach. At least we have a purpose in life Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I always loved that emotionless Data had a cat. I suppose it would be easier for an emotionless android to deal with the demands of a cat than us humans. He would just calmly say, “No Spot, it’s not 8:30. You have 3.221.5 minutes left before it’s time for food.”

      Yes, a purpose. We were meant to do something worthy of living, Dan.

  3. joannesisco says:

    Yes, there is a schedule and it must be adhered to. I’ve never thought of it as feline time before, but the term is very accurate. We are so well trained 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Those two were circling again last night. In an effort to catch upon on episodes of Downton Abbey, I had to comply or the meowing would have drowned out Maggie Smith.

  4. Ally Bean says:

    I remember how insistent our cats could be when I dawdled re: food time. They are amazing creatures– and darned persistent. Make it so, is every cat’s motto.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      They are extremely persistent. So, now I’m thinking I’ll have to name my next cat Jean Luc or Data 😉

  5. Lottie Nevin says:

    This kitty time clock you mention, is there any way to re-set it? I’m getting mightily fed up with the 4am wake up call. Rudely woken with a sharp clawed swipe across the face, and the sinking of teeth in to bare flesh is cruelty to humans. Never mind The Cats Protection League, something needs to be done to protect their humans.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, I wish I could find a way to re-set that clock, come up with some sort of electronic invention with a “go back to sleep” cat button. Do you suppose I would then be nominated for a Nobel Peace Price 😉

  6. BunKaryudo says:

    I’m impressed by the accuracy of their tummy clocks. I think you’re very wise not to make them wait too long, though. I’ve had cats of my own. Those claws are sharp!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thankfully, neither uses claws at this point. Gibbs beats on the door and pushes papers off the table while Ziva innocently sits and waits. They have a method that not only works, but is equally painful.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      As long as they are fed sometime during the day, you won’t be reported to the ASPCA or social services. And kitty won’t kill you in your sleep 😉

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks