A Blogger’s Soliloquy

Based very loosely on Hamlet’s soliloquy, Act 3, Scene 1


ElizabethTo blog or not to blog, that is an unending question

Whether tis nobler with thy fingers type

The verbs and pronouns of outrageous silliness,

or to flay arms against written emptiness

And by doing nothing? To sleep with writer’s block

No more, I say, this shall not be an end

The heart aches for words in natural ability

To consummate a worthy post from flesh

Comments to be wished, to be liked, to be followed

To be followed, perchance to be pressed and discovered

Ah, there’s the challenge

For all bloggers sleep and dream dreams of what might come

When thy post is raved by mortal souls

Let us give pause, for this is respect

Gone is the calamity of longing

For those who bear the angst of stats and all-time views

No longer oppressed, proud of good fortune

The pang of a world’s love and an Aussie’s snark

The politeness of peers and the note

woman-writing-a-letterThat Huberman shall merit this worthy post

When he himself of perfect prose make

And of Krista? Cheri? Who would challenge fair

To photograph and sweat words of engaging life

But the dread and joy of living after discovery

The awaiting emails, the mass from the internet bourn

No blogger resists, nor one ever will

And makes us happily bear this curse we have

To write this prose to others known virtually

Thus blogging does make community of us all

And thus the familiar hue of family

Through sickness of winter cold and flu

And moments of absence, damn work and life

With regard, the blogger turns to the fold

And asks the name of action, hear me now

Fair followers, likers, commenters, in my words

To blog or not to blog?

Shall all my posts be remembered?


Thy apologies to Mr. Shakespeare and thy unashamed exploitation of spoken names @BenHuberman @KristaStevens @CheriLucasRowlands

32 responses to A Blogger’s Soliloquy

  1. Mary, Mary, blogging trouble?
    But I hate to burst your bubble
    Were you posted on Discover
    You would find as any other
    That the fame is but short-lived
    Lizard’s leg they will not give
    After a while for what you write
    And you would disappear from sight
    Except from those of us who love
    Your witty words as those above

    (I think I’ve just broken a blogging etiquette rule but my fingers couldn’t help it. Too much fun not to join in. Apologies. 🙂 )

    This is FANTASTIC! It’s really too early for Shakespear, I’ve had four hours sleep and I haven’t even had coffee but I read that through twice it was so much fun. You are one cool and clever blogger who should be read by the millions. DID YOU HEAR THAT BEN??

  2. joannesisco says:

    The pang of a world’s love and an Aussie’s snark …. I think you have both 🙂

    btw – truly brilliant! … and that includes the entire exchange with MOSY. You two are amazing 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Amazing and brilliant?
      No madam, not I
      I think but I am resilient
      Of this cold, 6 degrees high.
      Brrrrrrrr.

  3. Dan Antion says:

    There are so many places in this where I am nodding in agreement. I wonder how Will would have handled blogging.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have to believe that Will would have loved blogging and written more plays given the ease of typing over doing it all with pen and ink. Then again, I imagine he also had his moments oh “What do I write about now?”

  4. Ally Bean says:

    Love this post. Inspired by it I say unto you:

    “The fault, dear Mary, is not in the Stars,
    But in ourselves, for we are Bloggers.”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Tis true my dear Ally. The emotions and angst and joy of blogging belong to us alone. The stars simply act as a muse.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Phil, I’m not exactly the master of Shakespeare. I hack at it. I wonder, though, what it would be like if Will and Alfred had a chance to meet. Hmmmm…

  5. Although, I did study literature I never thought of coming up with such a thought. Very innovative and creative. As a professional content writer I usually come across these experiences of whether to write or not to write. In fact, these days I’m in a not to write mode. I just want to escape, breathe and sleep.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for the positive comment! We all have the periods of not wanting to write..or not having a subject to write about. It’s okay to take a break or escape then as it allows us to free our minds, relax and eventually get back to writing.

  6. BunKaryudo says:

    Woah! This may be the most erudite blog post I have ever read. The answer, by the way, must surely be to blog!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you. I fear Mr. Shakespeare may have rolled over in his grave, but thankfully that’s all he could do.

  7. TanGental says:

    Yay! You won the book at Two on a Rant! Well deserved. Great take on Shakespeare. I’ll share my sonnet 130 rip off with you some time if you like…!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Any time, Tan. Please post a link here and I’ll read it at lunch today. Thanks for your vote and your “Yay!” I appreciate it.

      • TanGental says:

        as promised

        Only skin deep (after Sonnet 130)

        The azure of the wide Pacific seas
        Has depth, unlike your bland insipid eyes.
        A dancer’s legs are shaped by art to please
        But yours are not for show, they need disguise.
        My tongue, whose form can change to suit all tastes,
        From gentle probe to pert, priapic beast,
        Becomes a dry and flaccid thing, all chaste,
        If suffocated by your doggy breath’s release.
        Facial engineers, who can craft Kate Moss
        From Quasimodo, turn and run a mile:
        I’d give my soul to Satan, bear any loss
        If they’d mould Venus from your Cubist smile.
        Let’s face it, love, on me you’ve placed a hex:
        It’s not your looks that bind us, just the sex.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I like it, Tan. It’s an updated take on the sonnet. My favorite line is “If they’d mould Venus from your Cubist smile.” It creates the vision of a Picasso woman!

      • TanGental says:

        Glad you enjoyed Mary. Keep sharing your updating so far the Bard won’t you? Geoff.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks