Truth or No?

20160110_155247_2

I came across this sign at the local pub where Natasha, her daughter and I were watching the Green Bay Packer football game this past Sunday.

They won.

Go Pack Go!

Anyhow…

Truth or no?

Do you have a great story from ordering a beer? Or another adult refreshment?

Can you debunk this supposition with an awesome soda story?

Relative to moi, I have a memorable soda story, but it’s not a great story. Several years ago, I had walking pneumonia and there was a critical desire to go to the local Walgreen’s for a liter of 7-Up. I was miserable, but made myself get in the car and go. Back at home, upon opening said soda, it turned into a volcano of fizz that landed all over the kitchen counter, the kitchen floor and on me. I had been fighting illness for nine days, with no end in sight. The volcano soda put me over the edge. I threw myself on the floor in a childlike fit and wailed, “Really God? What did I do to p*ss you off?” Then I called my co-worker and wailed (again) to her about how awful I felt. Then I called the then husband and told him to come home and take me to the ER.

Nope, not a great story. Rather, it is pitiful. A pitiful soda story.

On the other hand, I have fond memories and great stories of ย beer and brandy old fashioned’s and wine and chocolate martinis. (You can read about chocolate martini therapy HERE.)

Not that I’m a big drinker or need intervention or hide bottles in the underwear drawer.ย Oh no, I’m very much a weenie when it comes to alcohol. My 96 year old mom could drink me under the table. Yet, I could tell a story or two of great times with a glass of adult refreshment in hand…

Celebrating freedom from a bad marriage

Celebrating a football win

Celebrating a holiday with family

Celebrating a mother’s birthday

Celebrating a co-worker’s retirement

Celebrating the ability to talk stupid and laugh lots with a friend

But this is not about me. It’s about you, the sudsy and fizzy readers of this post.

What is your beer or soda story? I want to know. Your fellow bloggers and connoisseurs of comments want to know. The world wants to know.

We’re waiting…

20 responses to Truth or No?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        If I had been smart, I might have made this into a Blogfest challenge with all twitter party and fancy meme for everyone’s side bar. I messed up.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I would if I had the time. I want to be retired so I can sit at the computer every morning, in pajamas, coffee in hand, and participate more fully in this blogging thing. Lately I feel as though I have been performing at a half-a**ed level, not writing as much and not having time to read and comment on other blogs save for yours and a few others. This job thing is for the birds ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • joannesisco says:

        The irony is that after almost 5 years of not working, I have the itch to find a job and go back to work again.

        Truth is, I miss the paycheque ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I understand the paycheck thing. It helps to pay for the adult refreshments and the thousand memories you’re going to make this year.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I had to look up Bilious as it didn’t occur to me she was the child of Bile. Thanks for that word-of-the-day ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I believe you need to join Joanne in formulating a story about you and Bacchus. Perhaps one that doesn’t end with you face first into Throne, the God of Porcelainity.

      • I’ll confess I stole Bilious from Terry Pratchett and his book ‘Hogfather’. Every time Bibulous, the God of Wine and Things on Sticks, gets drunk, Bilious gets the hangover. Until he gets hold of a hangover cure and fires the hangover back at Bibulous.
        Sigh. What a brain that man had. He’ll be missed.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Things on Sticks? Did Bibulous frequent Wisconsin state fairs? Well, I have not read Mr. Pratchett (*gasp*), but me thinks I must give his books a go.

  1. Ally Bean says:

    The only drinking story that comes to mind is when my friend, who is all about Martha Stewart entertaining, had a dinner party. She made a fancy blender cocktail, that involved champagne, as that evening’s signature drink. I can’t stand champagne so I didn’t have any of the drink, sticking to a bottle of beer instead. But everyone else chugged the cocktails, getting wasted in the process. Only thing was that in her haste, friend had forgotten to add the champagne… so there was no alcohol in the drinks. God bless the power of suggestion!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That is hysterically funny – suggested inebriation. It’s like being hypnotized! Martha would laugh.

      I understand your dislike of champagne. Some of it can be extremely nasty. The only champagne I truly enjoy is an expensive brand of French champagne, which I can’t afford. So I stick with my favorite sparkling Moscato and craft beer. Cheers!

  2. LB says:

    That champagne but no champagne story is a hoot!
    Too many stories to tell I’m afraid. Favorites include leading an entire bar crowd in a rousing rendition of Sweet Caroline (and other songs, too, on other nights). I have women friends who gather for wine and singing, beer and dancing, scotch and story telling.
    It’s all in good fun!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I want to hang with you and meet your friends. I can sing bad karaoke with the best of them and I dance better than Elaine. And I like wine and beer.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks