Directly From the Heart

The presents have been unwrapped.

The non-stop Christmas music has stopped.

Mom has gone to Christmas mass and out for dinner.

The brother and his significant other have come and gone.

The amount of pasta and cookies eaten this past week has exceeded expectations.

I’ve determined that I love Kentucky bourbon barrel beer.

And both Gibbs and Ziva have been immortalized.

20151225_095240

This was an unexpected gift. From a young woman who cunningly asked me for photos of Gibbs and Ziva because, “Oh, they are so cute!” And from a local artist, with two cats of her own, who captured the essence of these two in a perfect manner. Natasha’s daughter visits often and adores Gibbs, while she laughs at Ziva’s goat-like caterwauling. She honored me with this painting that brought me to verklempt status. This was not only an unexpected gift, but also a very special one.

I received many awesome gifts this year, including a new laptop, mittens from Norway, a selfie stick, a gift card to my favorite restaurant, and a new cat tree for the felines. I feel very blessed.

But I can’t stop looking at the painting. It’s the wallpaper on the new laptop. I smile every time I look at those faces. I admire the artist’s abilities and a young lady’s super sweet intentions.

There is nothing better than receiving that one remarkable gift that stands out among the rest. The one that will be hard to forget.

The one that comes directly from the heart.

13 responses to Directly From the Heart

  1. loisajay says:

    I loved the mittens from Norway and then the gift card to your favorite restaurant, but this–this is awesome! I cannot stop smiling. Sounds like a great Christmas, Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It was an exceptional Christmas, Lois. I hope the same was true for you. What was your cool gift this year?

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That is such a wonderful gift Mary. It sounds like you had a great holiday. I hope you have a wonderful New Year as well.

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    What a wonderful gift. I think it worked out well because a real artist was involved in the process. If I’d tried to give a friend a similar gift, I’m afraid they’d have received two ambiguous stick figures drawn in crayon.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Hey, that’s why we keep our day job. I’m a stick figure faux artist myself, who loves gift cards and stores with shiny things. 😉

  4. Judy L. Brekke says:

    Ziva and Gibbs have been captured so well in this painting!

  5. It’s gorgeous and really captures their personalities. It takes a talented artist to do that. What a blessing.

    A local artist with whom the boys were taking art classes many years ago asked one day if she could paint the boys for an exhibition she was doing. We were under no obligation to buy it. Of course we said yes and when we went along to the exhibition and saw the painting there was no question we were going to buy it. Like your artist, she was able to capture the personalities of each of the boys. It is one of our most prized possessions. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, that’s awesome Heather. Even though my “kids” are felines, you understand how much that touched my heart. I only have to decide now where to hang it…work or home.

Leave a Reply

