Cross the Bridge

Blazing, sapphire blue skies.

Warmer-than-normal November days.

Crispy, crunchy fall air.

Gold and yellow and brown leaves that land upon the earth.

October 2015 038

October 2015 039

The path reaches for two feet and grabs hold.

It pleads a midday walk.

October 2015 033

October 2015 035

There is little resistance. The feet say “yes!”

The senses feel, hear, as the eyes shut for a moment.

Then…

Travelling geese sound their alert and jar the feet awake.

Bicyclists, joggers and fellow pedestrians pass by.

The smallish breeze whispers gently upon a woman’s face.

October 2015 041 October 2015 042

The sunlight of forgotten daylight savings lowers.

The shadows are deeper, darker.

It’s time to turn around, to cross the bridge,

to welcome shorter days, cooler weather, and Christmas trees at Costco.

October 2015 044

 

7 responses to Cross the Bridge

  1. loisajay says:

    Oh, that last line! Santa arrived at our local mall this past Friday. What is wrong with this picture??!!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I saw (still can’t get the image out of my head) Christmas in September at a local store. I ran away…

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I love that bridge. It looks like such a nice place to walk. Will you bw able to cross once the snow falls? BTW, I stopped into a Sears near Boston in early October and they had Christmas trees for sale 😦

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m not sure if they keep snow off the bridge. I know they do for the walking path, but I will need a pair of winter walking/hiking boots to keep going in the snow.

  3. LB says:

    Hi Mary! It’s so good to be here, to read your words, and see those lovely shadows in your images. Your writing is excellent; I was almost there with you!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you so much, Laurie! I’m bummed you didn’t win the election, but glad that you have time to come visit and ride that lovely bike of yours.

      • LB says:

        Yeah, I wish I’d won … to be able to stand for healthcare and for women and so many other things …but I definitely recognize the benefits of having some of my life back 🙂

Leave a Reply

