Ornate: Basilica

Daily Post Photo Challenge: Ornate

Basilica

Inside the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. (This is one of those times that I wish I had a “real” camera that took stunning photos..or I had taken the time to make adjustments to the phone’s camera settings.)

The Basilica is the largest Catholic church in the United States and North America, one of the ten largest churches in the world, and the tallest inhabitable building in Washington, D.C.

For a few extra photos from inside and outside the Basilica, click here. The main church is filled with ornate paintings and statutes at every turn; however, my inner Catholic-raised decorum and the sanctity of church held me back from snapping a plethora of pictures inside. If you love to explore churches and are ever in the D.C. area, this is a must-see. I hope to go back again, take a tour, and spend more time exploring.

10 responses to Ornate: Basilica

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That is an amazing image Mary. You can feel the presence just looking at it. I can only imagine what it was like to be standing under that.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      In person, this is breathtaking. As you walk up and down the sides of the main church, there are many alcoves that have statutes and stories and all manner of ornate. I did not give myself enough time to stop at each station to read and reflect, so this is a definite return trip.

  2. joannesisco says:

    Like you, I always feel a little inhibited taking photos inside churches but there’s usually one breathtaking work of art after another. This is a prime example! As Dan said before me, standing under it must have been quite spectacular.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, it was. I stood under it for a few seconds, neck cranked, mouth hanging open…until I finally whispered, “Wow!”

      • joannesisco says:

        … and your eyes keep bouncing back to it no matter where you are in the church – like you’re compelled to look at it.

  3. Ally Bean says:

    That image is amazing. It helps me understand how in earlier times the images and atmosphere in a church contributed to belief. Now, around here at least, when new Catholic churches are built, they’re about as bland on the inside and outside as a strip center cafeteria. Adding the Basilica to my list of must see places next time I’m in D.C.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It could be that the Catholic Church no longer abides by the cost of building an ornate church, although a little personality wouldn’t hurt the coffers too much.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Absolutely. I also wanted to visit the National Cathedral, but ran out of time. I’ll save it for the next visit.

Leave a Reply

