It is Near

The smells, the color, the coolness of fall is near. I don’t feel it today because it is well into the 80’s and humid. It’s been this way since Monday and not expected to let up until Sunday or Monday. Summer is keeping a tight grip, refusing to let go. I welcome it, although it’s meant that the windows are closed and the A/C runs 24/7.

But that doesn’t keep mother nature’s fall from turning Queen Ann’s Lace into dried-up appendages of brown and green.

Fall on Walking Trail 006

Nor does it keep her from wilting the coneflowers and casting one lone bloom into death.

Fall on Walking Trail 012

The kids are back in school and this is the last week of pre-season football. The summer shoes and sandals are on the sales rack and tank tops are 70% off, if you can find one in your size. The community pools are closed for the season and the community itself prepares for a long Labor Day weekend.

The goldenrod stands bright as a summer sun, yet knowingly flags on September 23, 2015.

Fall on Walking Trail 001 Fall on Walking Trail 009

Blackish berries on the tree remind us that a black cocoon borne from milkweed has already unleashed its orange and black Monarch. Frank is undoubtedly on his way south, heading toward his fall and winter home.

Fall on Walking Trail 011 Fall on Walking Trail 004

Fall. The season that many people love for the bright reds of an oak and hate because of what comes after. It’s a season of homecoming, bonfires, Halloween costumes, carved pumpkins and pumpkin pie. A season of sweaters and Lands’ End jackets. Of frost on the windshield and the grand opening of a Costco. Seasonal decorations and early holiday shopping. A welcome coolness from the heat and humidity of summer’s scorch.

A time when wildflowers and green grass wave hello to a new season.

Fall on Walking Trail 014

It is near.

31 responses to It is Near

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Dan! The greens of the trees have taken on that starting-to-dull fall hue, but as long as it stays warm, i’m not complaining.

  1. joannesisco says:

    I see it and feel it too … in spite of the stifling heat this week. It is a bittersweet feeling. I love the farmers’ markets brimming with produce, apples freshly picked, and the little extra burst of energy that comes from more moderate temperatures.
    If only this season lasted soooo much longer than the one that follows it!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      One of my favorite memories from fall of 2014 was riding bike with Natasha for two days, down the tunnel trails. Between the colors and the fabulous fall temps, it gave me the calmest, peaceful feeling. I would have accepted those kind of days well into November if only Mother Nature allowed. It would make winter more tolerable.

      • joannesisco says:

        I have made a special request to Mother Nature for an extended fall into the end of November. I’m hoping she is finally over whatever snit she’s been in the past 2 years and will show us some love.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I agree. We need plenty of motherly love this fall and winter. I’m holding out hope I don’t have to put the bike away until early November.

      • joannesisco says:

        I’m going to have my bike on the indoor trainer all winter prepping for Thailand next year, so the longer I can ride outside, the happier I’ll be.
        My bike is currently in the shop getting a much needed tune-up so I’m expecting to get in many happy hours of fall riding 🙂

  2. Beautiful pics! Everything’s just got that little bit colder here, and beginning to turn. I put the heating on for the first time in ages yesterday!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s too early for heat, Suzie! I hope it warms up for you so that you can turn it off for a while. No heat until October…

  3. Sammy D. says:

    Well done, Mary. It’s as if you are here walking my trails with me – same temps, stage of plant life, and feelings of change all ’round. Your lyrucal words added grace to your photis.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you so much for your positive comments, Sammy. I’m glad that I could share the change of seasons.

  4. Ally Bean says:

    Our temps are still high with humidity to match, but I have seen one little leaf with some fall color on it so I know my favorite time of year is almost here. Your photos confirm my high hopes. Thx.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I saw red leaves three weeks ago, but I think it was due to stress. We had an awfully dry summer this year, which means the colors may not be too bright. I guess I’ll wait and see…

  5. Gorgeous photos. We don’t get much of a fall over here in Southern California, have to travel to really see colors. We’re just deliriously happy when we get a little rain. 🙂

  6. It’s now spring where I live (in Australia). However the winter chill is still around. I dislike the humidity as well. Hope the humidity vanishes. How was your holiday?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Enjoy your spring, it’s a wonderful time of renewal. I’m starting a 3-day holiday weekend as I write this…hope to relax and get together with friends.

  7. LB says:

    Hi Mary!
    It’s so good to be visiting your blog 🙂 I do love fall for all of the reasons that you listed (and the images that you shared) and thankfully, I like winter, too!
    Hope you’re in the middle of enjoying your 3 day weekend!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I am enjoying the weekend, Laurie! Just got home from a house party and settling in for Netflix. I know…exciting, right?

  8. We had the most glorious warm Spring weather last week and then Mother Nature decided she wasn’t quite ready and brought Winter back this week. She can be a mean old thing.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That’s typical of our springs…55 degrees one day, back to 35 the next. I suppose both of those temps are cold for Australia, right?

      • I love that you give 55 degrees as the warm Spring weather example. That’s what it’s turned into this week and we’re all complaining. Fortunately it’s warming up and we’ll have 20 degrees by Saturday (that’s Celsius fyi). Still cool but better than the sub-10 degrees we had yesterday.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I thought you’d have something to say about 55 degrees. If that’s the temp in early March, we’re running around in shorts and flip-flops. It’s a heat wave!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Mad? Perhaps. But we’re a hardy stock here in the frozen tundra. We whine when it’s -20 in the winter. THAT’S madness!

Leave a Reply

