Bright Copper Kettles

DSCN1676

I messed up on Friday’s photo challenge.

I forgot to add an important piece to the gallery: Julia Child’s bright copper kettles, now housed in a display at the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, D.C.

Do you see the colored circles around the kettles? That is Julia’s handiwork. She drew them around the copper pots so that when visitors (e.g., Jacques Pepin) cooked in her kitchen and subsequently took care of the dishes, they knew where to hang the pot on the pegboard. Such a simple, yet ingenious, idea made me smile.

This was a small part of the big picture. Julia’s entire kitchen is on display at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History, as are the muppets, Fonzie’s leather jacket, and several of the First Lady’s dresses worn on inauguration night.

I plan to make a return visit to the kitchen and Smithsonian in early October…if there’s time. I’m headed out to Virginia to visit the brother for seven days, which means that I will not get to check off everything on my list. There is so much to see and do around Washington, that one has to make several trips to the area to take it all in. (East coast readers are currently nodding their heads in agreement.) In my two trips to D.C., I’ve been to the Smithsonian twice; visited all the monuments and walked the National Mall; stood among the markers at Arlington Cemetery; took in the National Zoo and the United States Botanic Garden; engaged in road trips to Monticello in Charlottesville, VA, and a private residence close to Chesapeake Bay. I’ve witnessed the beautiful, pink cherry blossoms in April and bought tickets for theater and the Barns at Wolftrap. (This, of course, does not count the numerous times that we went out for dinner and I walked the girlfriend’s dog.)

This trip, the brother, girlfriend and I will be creating a weekend adventure in Nelson County with the varied wineries and breweries. Girlfriend calls it “the County of Debauchery.” I say, “Oh boy, I can’t wait!”

On the serious side, I have full intentions to visit the Holocaust Museum. Several people have told me to go. I imagine that will be an incredibly somber experience.

As the weather starts to turn toward fall (feels like it today), I’m getting excited for this trip. There’s been little vacation taken during summer, other than long weekends, so this will be a much-needed respite for me. I’m stressing a bit over projects at work that have to be accomplished before then, but determined not to let them get in the way. It will be fall in the nation’s capitol and Virginia, and I want to take in every wonderful sight, sound, smell and glass of copper-colored beer that comes my way.


PS: If you’ve gone to my last post, to the Friday photo challenge, you may be wondering why there’s no photo of warm woolen mittens.

You can continue to wonder.

I’m not there yet.

 

23 responses to Bright Copper Kettles

  1. And Radar’s teddy bear… I loved the Smithsonian (all of them).

    No mittens, huh? So no snowflakes either I suppose. How about a white dress with a blue satin sash?

    Trip sounds fab! Bring on the debauchery!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    DC is one of the most interesting places to visit in this country. You’re right about the panning, and you have to limit your goals. I hope you have a great time and I look forward to the posts and pictures of places I have yet to see there.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I will certainly do my best to take lots of photos and have a beer in your name. PS: Congrats to your Steelers on the win. Thankfully, it doesn’t count. 😉

      • Dan Antion says:

        Thanks. It doesn’t count but it was nice to see Landry Jones do something right for a change. Unfortunately, we lost a few key players and you guys lost a big one. Makes me wonder why we play preseason games at all.

  3. M-R says:

    LOVE this, M-J ! A pegboard in the kitchen ! – makes me fink, I can tell you …
    Have a wonderful time with your bro and his lady – although I’m sure you mean to do that regardless of whether or not I adjure you to. [grin]

    • bikerchick57 says:

      As soon as I step on the plane, it will be have-a-good-time vacation mode. Rest assured. And send me a photo when you have your pegboard up 😉

  4. Sammy D. says:

    Great Julia Child anecdote!

    I love DC – everything except the politicians 😀. You’ve covered a lot of territory there. The Holocaust Museum is unlike anything I’ve visited. I combined that somber experience with some outdoor time – the canal walk in Georgetown is one of my favorites.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I may have to walk the tidal basin when I’m done at the museum. I do not know about the canal walk in Georgetown, but I will ask. Can I get there via metro?

      • Sammy D. says:

        Arghhh, I don’t remember if we took metro or cab to Georgetown!! I can’t imagine metro route isn’t available, and DC’s ‘zone’ cab system is the wackiest I’ve experienced!

        Tidal Basin is a good choice – anywhere outdoors that feels alive. We did not try to cover the entire Holocaust Museum in one visit – it is too much to absorb the enormity of the atrocities.

        Enjoy your visit with your brother 😊

  5. joannesisco says:

    It’s been a very, very long time since I visited Washington. Looking forward to a refresher through your eyes 🙂

      • joannesisco says:

        Excellent! I’m not a museum person at all, but the Smithsonian is a remarkable place.

        I wish I knew someone on the inside who could give a tour of the *bowels* of the Smithsonian to see the stuff that isn’t on display. THAT would be a cool tour!!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I’m not big into art, but to be as close as I was to a Picasso or Rembrandt painting…it gave me goosebumps.

Leave a Reply

