Cherished: Memories in a Plastic Box

I had plenty of cherished objects to choose from for the subject of this post: A china doll that belonged to my grandmother; a pouting stool painted by my father; an orange bicycle in the garage; jewelry from a friend; a chest of drawers that belonged to a great aunt.

What I eventually chose was this:

Cherished 008

My cherished object is not one thing, it’s a collection.

A collection of photos. In plastic, rectangular boxes.

Memories of childhood, parents, trips, cousins, neighbors, weddings, friends, pets, adulthood and holidays. Secured in plastic boxes from a store with a French name. I drag the boxes out on occasion to look through, only to be surprised by a photo I missed the time before.

Then there was the time when I simply looked surprised…or frightened…as a baby.

MessofStuff 035

That’s me (with scary hair), bottom middle, along with big brother and Great Aunt Kate. A lovely mother of two resides in a photo next door, with cousins Rosemary and Don bringing up the left.

Pieces of the collection assist in telling the story of a father who, I imagine, was proud of his children…even the one with the silly white bonnet. Adorable. Whatever happened to her?

MessofStuff 006

Images within a tattered album are of a mother dressed up for Halloween and her daughter, who is sadly NOT dressed up for Halloween.

MessofStuff 038

My father’s mother was a seamstress and she taught him her craft. Dad sewed what I can only describe as a hippie Aztec outfit that might have been popular in the 70’s as long as everyone was smoking wacky tobacco. (I remember loving that outfit, although I don’t remember if I was in my right mind or not.)

More photos from a life’s novel…

MessofStuff 040

Of a cat named Harley and bangs that have not been that short in a very long time. Dig the hair on the side, the sprouting wings that almost allowed me to fly. 

The collection, the object(s) that I cherish, are a reflection of many days past and of age and aging. The young girl in the family of 13, becomes a wife, then a mother, and finally a woman of 95. A cousin, Judy, is married to Dave circa 1960. A family of four visits the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago. Two children sit with Santa Claus. A handsome man sports an Army uniform. Distant relatives are unnamed. A few cats ARE named.

There is also the plastic box that contains memories of a woman in black. A biker chick. Her backside traveled many miles and the many H-D scarves and photos became a scrapbook piece de resistance.  Those days are gone, but she still has the leather jacket and a black and orange bicycle.

Flowers, Concert, Old Photos 029 Cherished 009

Together, these photos create a highly cherished object. One that I will safeguard and hold close for many years to come. 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

47 responses to Cherished: Memories in a Plastic Box

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for participating in the blogfest Mary. The childhood photos are adorable. It’s easy to see that you couldn’t pick one and that you cherish the collection. It’s also good to see that Biker-Chick visited Wild Wonderful West Virginia. If you traveled from your current location, you likely entered not too far from my childhood home. I spent three years at WVU and I still have a fondness for that state. I have narrowed my choice to one object, but since I’m nt posting until tomorrow, I may change my mind 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are welcome Dan! I don’t remember spending a lot of time in WV and I think the former husband and I mainly passed through the northern portion of the State. We were members of Harley Owners Group and participated in the ABC’s of riding. Every photo that we took of me, the bike, the most current issue of Hog Tales magazine and the sign of a city, county, state, country, rally, etc. earned us a point. At the end of the riding season, we submitted all of the photos and earned prizes such as hats, T-shirts, travel mugs, photo albums and more. It was fun, got us out with a goal every year and probably saw more of the country because of it. I miss that – scouring the countryside for obscure places and signs.

      • Dan Antion says:

        The northern panhandle is very close to where I grew up. When my brother and I moved my mom to Iowa, we drove through that section. I think you’re only in the state for 40 feet, but it counts 🙂

  2. No, no, no, no… I mean, yes, yes, the photos, lovely, a great choice for a cherished object, so much history, so many memories, but no, no, no, I want to know about the pouting stool. What the heck is that??

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Go back to the post with Gibbs and the hanging mouse. The Raggedy Ann doll is sitting on the pouting stool. It is meant for a small child, when they are being naughty, sitting in the corner and pouting because after their 30 minutes are up, they will get no dessert for a month. Waaaahhhh!!!

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Aren’t your boys too old for that? Or do you need it for yourself, when you’re having a bad day? 😉 Dad got interested in rosemaling and decorative painting when he retired…used to go to classes. My brother and I have several of his creations…plates, knickknacks, and a child’s rocker. Also very cherished items.

      • Knickknacks, plates and a child’s rocker I get, but tenderly decorating a chair with which to punish your children? Isn’t that a bit, well, odd?

        They’re all bigger than me now so no pouting chair for them. I need one for me. I have pouting needs.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        A pouting chair wouldn’t necessarily be decorated in such a fancy way. My dad simply found it a suitable target for his craft.

  3. agmoye says:

    Most of my childhood pictures were destroyed when we moved to California. I wish I could have looked back at them like you do and recall all those happy memories growing up of course some are not as happy as we would like but that is life. Great post.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you for your thumbs up! I’m sorry you don’t have your photos, but I hope you still have memories from that time. I have some photos that aren’t marked and I don’t know who the people are, so I wish I would have gotten that info from my parents many years ago.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you and you are welcome! For the well-being of fashionistas everywhere, the Aztec outfit has long been buried.

  4. I had the weirdest feeling when I looked at your image of the first opened album – I felt like I was looking at pages from the one I have from my childhood! Same black & white, same clothes, same glasses, same toys. I cherish my old photos too.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Deja vu! Perhaps we are close to the same age and our parents chose the same clothes. It would have been really weird if you had said you wore the same Aztec outfit. :-p

  5. Damyanti says:

    Mary, so many lovely memories here. Thank you for sharing them, and taking part in the blogfest. It is fascinating how so many of us chose photos, which lead to such myriad emotions. You’ve had a fascinating life, and must have so many interesting tales to tell.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m seeing a lot of photos and keepsake jewelry as I’ve been visiting other blogs. Photos always tell us what we tend to forget or times that have been put off to the side. I love looking through them simply for that reason. I’m not sure how fascinating my life has been, but I can say that it’s been interesting.

  6. Dreamhowl says:

    What an awesome collection! My stepmother has a chest full of photos somewhere, I remember watching her open it up, and feeling awed at how many memories were locked away in there.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Your stepmother must have many wonderful stories to go along with the photos…ones that she can share with you.

  7. joannesisco says:

    Photos are so precious and give us connectivity to our past. They tell a story … our story. It is a priceless collection!

      • joannesisco says:

        Maybe you’ve already started doing it, but when I became custodian of all the family photos when my mom passed away, I started the process of scanning them all.
        This gave me a chance to preserve them and catalog them at the same time.
        In 4 years, I’ve finished maybe 20% of them. I think it will be a lifetime of work 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Oh boy, I have my work cut out for me. This might be a retirement project, when I finally retire. Some of the oldest photos are glued into an album, so not sure what I’m going to do with those. I might have to take a photos of the photos.

      • joannesisco says:

        I had the same problem. I’ve often resorted to scanning the page, and then cutting out and saving each individual picture. It seems to work ok without affecting the quality of the scanned image.

  8. Great post. Childhood memories is something that we all cherish and that most participants are writing about. I loved the pictures that you’ve shared. It sort of reminds me of my own. Thank you for participating. Keep blogging.

  9. Lainey says:

    What a great post, these photos are fab. I could look through them for hours. Even though I don’t know the people in them, they hold quite a fascination. All those lives in one box!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have three boxes of photos actually. Two have childhood and family pics, the other is the biker chick box. I have spent several hours sifting through as that never gets old and gives me a reason to smile.

  10. Your cherished object seems to be remarkably similar to mine. I have a chest rather than a box of memories. You have done a lovely job of showing what is in the box, maybe I might have to do another post to reveal the contents of mine?

  11. Sammy D. says:

    Such a great choice!! I would have spent hours rummaging around for One photo so I like that you went with ‘the whole shebang’ and highlighted a few.

    I always chuckle when I read someone is a biker because my first thought is bicycles (since I’ve been a lifelong avid bicyclist) and then I see – nope, the other kind (which I’m going to be in my next life.). Ahhh but I see you’ve joined our ranks with your orange and black beaury !

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m a biker chick two ways! Spent all day with a girlfriend on the bike (pedal) Trail. After 27 miles of sun and fun, you can stick a fork in me. And I have more photos to add to my collection! Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it.

      • Sammy D. says:

        That’s great. Nothin’ better than being dog-tired after a day on the trail with a biking buddy 😀

  12. For what it’s worth, I still sprout wings on a regular basis…when I start to lift off the ground like the Flying Nun I know it’s time to get a haircut again.

    I haven’t dipped into our bins of old photos in a while, but your post has inspired me to dust off those ghosts of days gone by. Thanks for sharing…

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Glad I could provide inspiration to you. I really do need to get my photos in order and scan them into the computer for eternal preservation. BTW, as short as my hair is right now, it still wants to do wings of some sort. It’s a curse.

  13. LB says:

    So much to love about this post, Mary!
    I believe I had that same short bangs / wings on the side haircut 🙂
    and I love seeing the BikerChick and to know that your bicycle is black and orange.
    Finally, have i ever told you how much I enjoy your writing?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Laurie, I’m blushing a bit. Thank you so much for your kind and positive comments. There are more photos from the biker chick days…a definite future post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] art medium, etc. During the weekend of July 24-25-26, 2015, well over one hundred bloggers, including myself, participated and shared their cherished items and personal stories. It was a great way to meet new […]