Half and Half Bike Ride

In response to this week’s photo challenge, Half and Half, I present photos from a Wednesday afternoon bike ride on the Wiouwash trail. Blue skies, temps around 75F, and split images made it a perfect 14-mile adventure.

Half3
The blue of the sky outweighs the green of the grass, but two wanna-be Joshua trees split the vertical landscape.
Half2
The diagonal split of a railroad track, half of the here & now and half of what was to come.
Half1
Trees to the left, trail to the right. Staying on track makes this adventure most gnarly and bright.

Click on the Half and Half link at the beginning of this post to peruse the bevy of talented photographers and their interpretation of this challenge.

25 responses to Half and Half Bike Ride

  1. Ally Bean says:

    Your photos are interesting, both because they qualify as half and half– and because your bike path is green + pretty. And flat. Gotta love a flat bike path.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you, Ally! Flat is my preference for a bike path (I’m not a hill climber). Thankfully, many of our state trails are flat – some have gradual inclines, but nothing serious.

      • joannesisco says:

        I think I would enjoy riding with you very much. I’m not a fan of hills either … at least the upwards part, but I do love the speed of descents 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I wouldn’t enjoy biking if I had to continually pedal uphill, but I understand the speed thing…similar to the downhill on skis or giving a little gas to the motorcycle through a curve.

  2. Where’s this trail? My husband (or husband and a friend of his) have ridden a number of trails in the Chicago/Illinois area, but also just finished the Kady Trail in Missouri. I often go along as the driver of the support vehicle. 🙂

    janet

      • joannesisco says:

        Looking forward to it!

        I’m really enjoying this new version of bike riding I’m doing now. Since I’m not training for a race, it’s nice to stop and look at stuff I find interesting. What a novelty 🙂

  3. LB says:

    Helloooooo Mary! After spending the last 10 minutes perusing through several of your recent blog posts, I am commenting here. Frankly, I love that you got up from the computer and sat outside with friends and brats, that you fussed at the neighbors, shot some photos of the patio, spent some good time on the bike, and reminded us to enjoy pleasant moments (and if those aren’t to be found, to eat cookies!). Glad you took Mom her brandy!
    I’ve missed your voice and have enjoyed finding some moments to catch up with blogging pals these past two days. Enjoy your weekend!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks, Laurie, for spending your very valuable 10 minutes catching up here. I miss your voice as well…you know I live a bit of the biker chick life with your posts. I am enjoying the weekend…starting with a yoga class and blueberry pancakes. 🙂

  4. Some lovely photography there, and a keen mountain biker and occasional road cyclist, I know just how enjoyable a simple bike ride can be watever your cycling preferences

Leave a Reply

